We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean and good location”
Review of Cape Diamond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Diamond Hotel
Ranked #76 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 25 March 2011

A good clean hotel right near greenmarket square and several museums etc. About a 30 minute walk from waterfront. You get what you pay for, the Room is cleaned daily and is very comfortable although slightly small. As others have said there is no a/c however a cool breeze comes through on the upper floors. I would stay again for the price I paid however I would stay in more budget accom if the stay was mid trip rather than stepping off the plane.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickmoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2011

Good price but there are a few things to improve on.
Please have ice available any time and dont say you dont have.
Please try to install AC as the fans do not work.
Breakfast should have variety - fruits should be included as there arent much option for vegans.
Other than that I was treated like a queen by the receptionist on Saturday and had a lovely spacious room.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank INSAUF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

The hotel is situated in an excellent position, the very best for visiting Cape Town!
I spent 1 week with my wife, always found the room cleaned. Some fornitures are not new. Unpleasently there is no air conditioning, there is only a fan. There is'nt any free-parking, you have to pay for it. Breafast is good but not the best I ate in SA. We never ate at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f_carbonchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We stayed at the Cape Diamond recently during our visit to Cape Town. The hotel is centrally located and convenient to many attractions. We had a relatively spacious corner room on the second floor. The only drawback was poor lighting in the bathroom - a light over the sink would have helped. The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly. The hotel restaurant isn't much to speak of - they seem to serve only buffet meals which are overpriced. However, there is a wonderful Mid-East Food Bazaar just across the street with great food and very reasonable prices. If your taste runs to other cuisine, there are quite a few restaurants within several blocks of the hotel. The hotel internet rate is exorbitant but just half a block away is an internet "cafe" where you can access the web for just 5 rand an hour - a real bargain (the hotel charges ten rand for ten minutes!). The Cape Diamond is good value for the money. Be warned that there is no air conditioning in the rooms although there are ceiling fans - which don't always do enough in the hot summer days. We would rate this as a two to two and a half star properly

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RotaryRoamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We had no idea about the hotel scene in Cape Town before booking and when confronted by a plethora of choices we were a bit impulsive in suddenly opting for the Cape Diamond. As it turned out it wasn't a bad choice always bearing in mind it has few pretensions and certainly no aspirations to luxury status.

The hotel is situated in a bustling area of central Cape Town within easy walking distance of street markets, bars, restaurants and vaguely trendy, slightly hippyish shopping. It isn't near the relatively up-market Waterfront or the ritzy shoreline at Seapoint but from the upper floors and the roof terrace you can sit in a hot tub and look up at Table Mountain [though I never did]. We went out at night to eat and there were no signs of security issues although the hotel staff did indicate that some localities were safer than others.

The building appears to be a conversion of an art deco commerrcial structure and its stylistic origins have been preserved in the interiors leaving it with a plausible claim to be 'boutique'. The downside of this is that the tall narrow building has a cramped quality manifest in bedrooms without much spare space and very small shower units. In partial compensation there was a balcony which extended the full width of the floor. Given the temperatures whilst we were there the air conditioning was a must. There was a smallish cafe/restaurant on the ground floor which served a perfectly respectable anglicised breakfast and a limited menu at other times. The hotel had access to secured parking in an adjacent multi-story; very convenient if like us you were stopping a couple of nights before driving off.

I cannot speak highly enough about the amiable and helpful service at the hotel. The staff were not flunkeys or a highly trained and uniformed cadre; they were simply basically professional young people who seemed to take a genuine interest in what we wanted and offered all the support and advice we needed. The hotel was popular with what seemed to be gangs of Antipodean backpackers and to a degree the ambience of the hotel reflected that. It had an easy-going bustle which occasionally irritated but generated an overall impression of amiability. The only other slight gripe I would offer is, as in other South African hotels and guesthouses, I noticed a tendency for cooking smells to linger as though the ventilation systems didn't quite cope with the demands made on them.

Overall though this was a nice introduction to South Africa and South Africans. I must stress that by local standards this was not expensive; we paid about £70 a night for the room and breakfast so my comments should be read in that context. If you want extensive services, a great location, lots of space then this isn't the hotel but be prepared to put a hand considerably more deeply into your pocket. So I would certainly recommend but with qualifications.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lancashireexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We were on a tour and Cape Town was our last stop. After spending weeks living in a tent, staying at The Cape Diamond Hotel was perfect. The hotel surpassed our expectations!

The hotel was very nice. Our room on the fourth floor was very nice. Looked very modern, wood floors and comfortable beds. The hotel is located within the central hub of the city, close to shops and walking distance to markets etc. The Waterfront, a definite must to visit was a 20 minutes or so walk. There is a great internet place nearby that was so cheap!

The staff were superb! One of the staff members saved us from a huge error. We mistakenly got our departure date wrong and she pointed this out and saved us embarrassment. The staff also were very polite and surprisingly remembered who were and when we made enquiries, they instantly knew our room number and who we were. The staff in the restaurant were very nice. We only ate the buffet breakfast there and it was plentiful. The usual eggs, bacon, cereal, sausages, juice etc.

The only bad thing about this place was the slow lifts.

On the roof top is a jacuzzi. We found it too windy to actually use it.

Best places to eat was definitely Long Street! Loved Longmarket Cafe, Royale Eatery for the best burgers, and there was a chic sandwich place on that street too!

There are great markets. Loved the markets called Green Market Square, located in Shortmarket Street. They are amazing and we managed to buy many bargains there. I suggest starting at the lowest price and negotiate from there.

The streets of Cape Town were also very safe, there is security everywhere!

In summary, great place to visit!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank advocate_of_truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

nice place to stay
in the cape not easy to find a room on the high season
but this one is good , rooms are not too big but ok for a few days

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabrinajacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#75 of 110 in Cape Town Central
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
596 reviews
0.2 mi away
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#89 of 110 in Cape Town Central
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#40 of 110 in Cape Town Central
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#47 of 110 in Cape Town Central
811 reviews
0.3 mi away
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
#91 of 110 in Cape Town Central
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Diamond Hotel

Address: Corner of Longmarket And Parliament Street | in the East City near Parliament, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £52 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Diamond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cape Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing