We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will NOT go back there”
Review of Cape Diamond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Diamond Hotel
Ranked #76 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 9 September 2011

THE ROOM: The rooms are very very small, no air-conditioning, the kettle didn't work, hot water in shower/bath takes FOREVER. The bathroom has no toilet brush. I had a view of a parking lot.

BREAKFAST: The breakfast was standard - nothing fancy

HOTEL: The hotel is situated in a BAD area of Cape Town. Not safe at all. The hotel has no shuttle. The hotel has no parking. The lifts are old and the rooms have no insulation - you hear the lift every time it gets used....

PRICE: The price is not worth the area....

STAFF: The staff were friendly and helpful

Room Tip: I won't recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KleinKaroo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here at the end of a camping tour so I thought it would be nice not to have to pitch our tent. Unfortunately the bed was so hard I actually wished I had.
It is very central in the heart of town and the staff helpful and polite but I think it is very over priced for what it offers. We moved to the Rouge on Rose and it was much nicer, had better beds, rooms with cooking facilities and a living room for much less.
Nothing really wrong with this place but think there is a lot better places you can get for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesertDweller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed in the room pictured on the thumbnail above and were confronted with quite a few problems from the start.
Firstly the key was extremely faulty and we struggled to lock and open the room. I also found showering awkward due to the bath slanting in, I say this because I have a bad knee. The duvet covers clips wouldnt close and its two singles. In short I found the room a little tacky, except for the floor. Its a gem made with antique wood. The location is safe as theres security officers marked at every corner it seems.
Dont be fooled. We noticed many to be a little tipsy if u know what I mean.
But very handy location. The staff are very friendly but the shine wears off after u stay there for as long as we did. (5 nights)
Id avoid ordering a dom pedro from the bar.. Lol. calamity :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikePow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This is a city centre hotel, located in a former jewelry factory (hence the name). The hotel has clearly had some fairly comprehensive renovation quite recently - the rooms were fresh and light with an almost 'boutique' feel, the furniture all seemed new, and the reception and bar were quite stylish. There are a few restored traces of the building's former occupation included as part of the decor, including a large diamond safe in one of the corridors, and some classic looking electrical equipment displayed in the stairwells.

Given this is an original building, it's not surprising that the rooms aren't huge for the most part, and neither are the bathrooms - but they were elegantly and thoughtfully laid out and ours (as well as those of others we were travelling with) seemed to work well. We were on the first floor right above the entrance (the one with the curved windows in the photo) but still had a quiet couple of nights. The location is really convenient - it's a couple of streets from the main shopping thoroughfare, a block from the castle, and about four blocks from the main nightlife area, we walked to most of the attractions directly from the hotel.

The staff were without exception very helpful - storing luggage, calling taxis, offering welcome drinks, and all; adding a third night to our stay on a very crackly telephone line from London also worked perfectly. Breakfast was pretty much what you would expect and perfectly decent; we also had a late night dessert in the bar one evening.

The area around the hotel - which is essentially the Government / political district of Cape Town (Parliament is a stone's throw away) - felt safe even late at night (I noticed there was security outside the hotel all night in any case, not that it really seemed necessary). A possible drawback for some is the lack of parking, though there is an entrance to a large multistorey right opposite the hotel. It's worth a short detour to the scarily high roof terrace, with views of Table Mountain - though it was far too windy to use the jacuzzi when we visited!

All in all, a good mid-range hotel, with some character and individuality, in a convenient location - I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone staying in Cape Town.

Room Tip: The brightest rooms with the best views are the ones that run round the corner (which seem to be mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Good value hotel in very central location. There was a bit of street noise but nothing more than you would expect from a city centre hotel and certainly not too intrusive. Very friendly and helpful staff. Secure safe parking across road at a good price. Just what we wanted for a start in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank dslittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

A good clean hotel right near greenmarket square and several museums etc. About a 30 minute walk from waterfront. You get what you pay for, the Room is cleaned daily and is very comfortable although slightly small. As others have said there is no a/c however a cool breeze comes through on the upper floors. I would stay again for the price I paid however I would stay in more budget accom if the stay was mid trip rather than stepping off the plane.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickmoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Good price but there are a few things to improve on.
Please have ice available any time and dont say you dont have.
Please try to install AC as the fans do not work.
Breakfast should have variety - fruits should be included as there arent much option for vegans.
Other than that I was treated like a queen by the receptionist on Saturday and had a lovely spacious room.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank INSAUF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
606 reviews
0.2 mi away
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#87 of 110 in Cape Town Central
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#75 of 110 in Cape Town Central
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#49 of 110 in Cape Town Central
833 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
#106 of 110 in Cape Town Central
89 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
#78 of 110 in Cape Town Central
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Diamond Hotel

Address: Corner of Longmarket And Parliament Street | in the East City near Parliament, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £43 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Diamond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cape Diamond Boutique Hotel is a 3-star corporate hotel, within the heart of the Cape Town’s Central Business District. The hotel is conveniently situated just 1.2 km from the Cape Town International Convention Centre and is just around the corner from Parliament and the Green Market Square. The roof has excellent views of Table Mountain and the City Bowl. So if you are a corporate traveller or just visiting Cape Town to relax, it’s the perfect way to end your day in this popular Central Business District Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cape Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing