We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten out of ten for service”
Review of Cape Diamond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Diamond Hotel
Ranked #76 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This hotel is a gem in the centre of Cape Town. Great for travellers on a budget that want to be close to everything. The reception and bar are funky and the rooms are bright and clean. The breakfast is good and the bar is open for a drink and quick bite until quite late if you don't want to go out to any of the nearby eateries. The hotel has safes in most rooms or will look after valuables. There is 24 hour reception. What was most memorable about our stay was the great staff. They were genuinely friendly and very helpful - definitely would stay here again - thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

The room on the 7th floor was clean and the decor pleasant enough, though the open plan bedroom/bath/toilet was a tad disconcerting! The lack of burglar bars on the street-facing windows means the rooms are not toddler friendly. I was irritated that I was not asked if I was ok with using the same white bedding for the whole week, and the empty bottle of body lotion was not replaced the whole time. There were dust bunnies under the bed when I went to retrieve an errant pen, and the laundry service was unpredictable. A welcome plus was the tea station in the room, but it lacked non-nutritive sweetener.
There was an unpleasant smell in the passage all week, but luckily not in the rooms. One of the two lifts only goes up to the 6th floor, which was at times inconvenient.
The restaurant served a good Continental and English breakfast, but the a la carte menu was limited. The staff was pleasant but untrained.
The central location of the hotel meant that Parliament and the major retailers were within easy walking distance, and all attractions in easy reach. Given the convenience and cost, I would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner suites are more spacious than adjoining ones. The street-facing rooms can get noisy at times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roni28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

First time in South Africa, hotel location was central to many restaurants, markets and historical landmarks. Clean and comfortable, extremely friendly staff that made me feel right at home. Availability to assist with concern or recommendations. Definitely worth the price if you are on a budget and won't to use your money for tours, food and other things.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tappling65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Our stay at Cape Diamond was short but sweet. The rooms were fairly Big, Clean and Comfortable.staff were willing to go the extra mile and to make sure that our stay was great. The receptionist Nicole was beyond amazing, always smiling and made us forget that we were even away from home.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

look if your after hilton then dont book
if your after a clean, fairly central, and budget you cant go wrong,
the staff are friendly and willing to spend time with you
even got me to eat pap ,breakfast are good few mins walk to greenmarket

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markciccone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Had a great ten day stay in this hotel, the receptionist was so friendly nd always smiling and helpful, breakfast was good, and my room was clean and very comfortable. Manager was always visible and helpful. Will stay at this hotel anytime

Room Tip: The higher the room the better, I was on the 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank izzymohh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed the friendly atmosphere of this hotel. All the staff went out of their way to be helpful and make our stay pleasant. The location is great-all city attractions are within walking distance or a hop on-hop-off bus ride away. The breakfast buffet was superb and the room basic, but stylish and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Come here if you are used to the hustle and bustle of a city centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lemon49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#75 of 110 in Cape Town Central
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
596 reviews
0.2 mi away
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#89 of 110 in Cape Town Central
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#47 of 110 in Cape Town Central
811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#40 of 110 in Cape Town Central
214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
#80 of 110 in Cape Town Central
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Diamond Hotel

Address: Corner of Longmarket And Parliament Street | in the East City near Parliament, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £53 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Diamond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cape Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing