We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Cape Diamond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Diamond Hotel
Ranked #77 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    107
    58
    23
    16
See reviews for
23
96
41
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
muenchen
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

We had decided to stay in the centre of town in Capetown and not out at the Marina. The location of the hotel was really good, it was only a few minutes walk to the castle and to the other downtown attractions. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and made our stay very pleasant. The highlight of our stay was each evening we would go up to the roof and watch the sun glow on table mountain whilst we relaxed in the rooftop Jacuzi.
The breakfast was also very good with a good selection of food. The only thing that dissapointed us was that the bath did not have a shower attachment ,so it was not so convenient to wash your hair.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesweetiesMuenchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2008

Not the best visit unfortunately; things got off to a bad start with an officious door man being unhelpful, and got quickly worse when we saw our room. The room was pretty shabby and in need of a lot of TLC. There was no air-con or fridge and it was generally quite miserable. There was night-filming going on in the street and we had been put in a room on the first floor which would have been very noisy. We asked to move rooms and were quickly accommodated in a far nicer room on a higher floor; even so the blind was broken so we were permanently in the dark.

The general areas were smart; and the breakfast was good. All staff were helpful except for the door man. We were a bit disappointed to be asked to pay for parking; there is metered street parking in the area so options were limited, but this is the only hotel we've stayed at in South Africa where you had to pay to park.

I definitely wouldn't return!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

rogeralways
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2008

I loved my stay here and I found it on the internet a few days before I left. the food was great. I had laundry done perfectly and quickly and so afforbably. the room was super clean. The staff was nice but not overly nice. It looks kind of funky-rustic-boutique in the rooms and modern. Only down side was the location but it was not super sketchy just not central and a bit dark. The hotel restaurant was especially great! And the room prices are so affordable.

  • Liked — clean, food, moden/renovated
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rogeralways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2008

We stayed here to be in the centre of cape town, this was good to do the lonely planet walk, at of the end of which is a wine bar, all in walking distance of this hotel. what i didn't like was not having air con this meant poor sleep in sweaty conditions. By the way, the room we had, had the bath in the bedroom - very boutiquey.

  • Liked — centre
  • Disliked — no air con
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank besidec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2008

The location was great. The hotel is less than 5km from all tourist destinations. The rooms are nice and clean. We had booked a stay there for 10 days. After a late dinner my girlfriend and I headed back to the hotel. It was about 11:30pm. We where attacked by our cab driver (who was a white male), as we ran to the door the night staff would not open the door. The next morning we complained to a lady working at the front desk. She told the manager, who then told us that it was our fault. The manager said “cab drivers do not attack tourists”. He did not take responsibility for his staff members not taking action by not opening the doors to the hotel. I felt discriminated for being a woman. I would not recommend this hotel to ANY woman staying by herself or with her girlfriends, or anyone who may be staying out late at anytime during your stay..

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank AnastasiaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 109 in Cape Town Central
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#87 of 109 in Cape Town Central
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#39 of 109 in Cape Town Central
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The New Tulbagh Hotel
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#98 of 109 in Cape Town Central
240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
#81 of 109 in Cape Town Central
324 reviews
1.6 mi away
The One 8 Hotel
The One 8 Hotel
#36 of 109 in Cape Town Central
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Diamond Hotel

Property: Cape Diamond Hotel
Address: Corner of Longmarket And Parliament Street | in the East City near Parliament, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Diamond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing