We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Take your ear plugs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel
Ranked #74 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Dubai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Take your ear plugs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2008

We have just returned from Cape Town where we spent our final two nights in Daddy Long Legs. The hotel itself was very cool – I loved the room (You Are Here) and the general atmosphere which was very much like a backpackers place. The loos in reception were also brilliant – I loved having a wee and seeing what was going on in the main reception area!

However … our stay was not without issues. The position of our room was not ideal. We did choose this room after looking at the hotel website but did not realise where it was in relation to the main road – and was in fact just above busy and very noisy Long Street. During our first night I probably got 30 minutes sleep altogether – there was the constant noise from people entering and exiting the hotel – seemingly throughout the night – the ridiculously brightly illuminated ‘Daddy Long Legs’ sign directly outside our window, a whirring sound which I assumed was from the coffee machine outside our room, which repeated every 3 minutes throughout the night, and at one point, a woman shouting at the top of her voice, banging out of her room which seemed to be next door to ours, continuing to shout in the corridor and then slamming out into the street where the noise continued. I was not at all happy.

The following night I tried to put the previous events behind me and was very tired. When we got into bed however, there was a constant new noise which I eventually located to the fountain near reception but which was audible from our room. I went and asked the guy on reception if he could possibly turn this off as it would keep me awake. I was shocked that he refused, saying that the management would tell him off if he turned this off as this had happened before. I explained that this sounded ridiculous and it really would help if he could turn it off but he just messed around with it and told me to close the fire door upstairs. Bizarre.

Most staff were very helpful apart from one very tired looking lady (maybe she had stayed in our room previously) who was blunt and unwelcoming every time we approached reception with a question (which wasn’t very often).

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boofy_verity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefan72, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2008
Hi there boofy_verity,

Stefan here, I'm the General Manager at Daddy Long Legs, Cape Town. Firstly let me apologise for any inconvenience you might have experienced while staying at Daddy Long Legs. Secondly, thank you for your constructive criticism - Daddy Long Legs, and our guests are our passion - we want our guests to experience our beautiful city, and whilst doing so, get a good nights rest! So please believe me I will do everything I can do to rectify these problems (some we probably don't even know of, because we've never heard the coffee machine, fountain etc - so THANKS, for letting us know) Boofy, if you’re ever on your way Cape Town again, please contact me, and I’ll give you a night on the house, and you can let me know if I did a good job at fixing these problems. Have an awesome day!

Many thanks, Stefan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    92
    45
    22
    7
See reviews for
10
115
39
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granollers, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2008

I enjoyed our stay at the Daddy Long Legs. All the rooms are very different, so it is worth it to visit their website and chose the room you prefer yourself. We stayed in the "open" one. The walls are filled with pictures of sunsets and the roof has a mosaic of mirrors (which was the main reason for what we chose that room, of course :-D).

A funny thing is that the toilet door is transparent, and the toilet is just in front of the door, so you don't have really much intimacy in those moments when you need to be sitting there by yourself. :-) We found it funny anyway.

The staff is nice and helpful, and we even had a full bottle of wine as a welcome drink, which is not something you are really used in a budget hotel. They can also help with booking anything, and they have heaps of information.

The location, just in the middle of the lively Long St, is perfect. Our room didn't face the street, which is probably nice at night time, when the street can get pretty noisy.

We were very happy with the hotel, and it helped to make our stay in the already gorgeous city of Cape Town memorable.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank ultrabert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
387 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2008

We stayed in the emergency room for one night. The theme is a hospital room with red being the main colour of the room. Hospital equipment in the room! Plus a nurses outfit! Bed was not that great - could do with replacing.

Bathroom floor could have been cleaner.

Not sure I would want to stay in this room more than one night - the colour is a bit much.

The place has a backpacker feel to it. Depends what your looking for I would not call this a botique hotel.

Smoking is permitted in the building in a seperate area, not good you can smell smoke in the rest of the building.

The internet did not work - too slow

Liked the complimentary drink. and the great location on Long Street. Plenty of bars and places to eat.

Yes I would recommend this place if you dont want to pay for the Metz hotel on long st .which looks very nice. Had breakfast and lunch here very good. This is a good location to stay in Cape town. We went out at night and felt safe.

  • Liked — Location (The hotel is different and worth a one night visit if in CT)
  • Disliked — smoking in the hotel
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsPoynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaddyCapeTown, Owner at Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2008
Dear Emmalucy

Thank you for review. As I always say these reviews are so important to us as it gives us the opportunity to continually improve our hotel and meet the expectations of our guests. In answer to your review:
The Emergency Room is quite intense on the senses – an incredibly funky and popular room and full of bright colours with out of the ordinary décor. Should you stay with us again I would be most happy to show you some of the other rooms. At Daddy Long Legs each room is designed and decorated by a different artist so it’s like sleeping in an interactive art exhibition. Some of the rooms are more toned down than the rest and we suggest visitors look through the web site and choose a room that resonates with them before arrival.

With respect to the bed – thanks for the comment – the beds are just over a year old but I will look into replacing them. Our suppliers tell us they have a 3 year lifespan, but the hotel is very popular and has been busy.

On the bathrooms – your point was well noted and we have just completed a deep steam clean. They are now looking lovely.

With respect to the internet – no sure why it was slow, but will look into it – we have free internet at the hotel and we are on Broadband.

Thanks again for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2008

This place is great, particularly if you're under 23 and on your gap year. We're a little older (nearly 30), and we felt it a bit!

The staff are lovely and very helpful, the atmosphere is fun and welcoming and the rooms are fantastic. It's also very cheap.

However....there are a few things that stop me recommending it.

Firstly the area. You'd be mad to stay in the centre of Cape Town, when the city is surrounded by beaches. I'd recommend Camps Bay.

Secondly, when we came back from dinner on the one night we stayed there, there was a big cockroach in our bathroom. We murdered him and dropped him in the loo, but it spoilt the stay for me completely. We should have complained, but we're too English for that!

However, I guess if you're young and backpacking, the presence of the odd cockroach doesn't really matter....and this is a very cool place to stay.

  • Liked — The room decor
  • Disliked — The whiskery 'friend'
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyHoliday28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaddyCapeTown, Manager at Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2008
Dear HappyHoliday

Thank you for the review and feedback. We appreciate the feedback and take your comments and recommendation seriously. In answer to your review:

I think it's important to visitors to Cape Town to not just stay on the beachfront, in a resort type environment. The city is fun, funky, and full of energy and a great place to spend a few days. It's also approximately 300 % cheaper than the resort hotels on the beachfront. As a South African I believe your comment will mislead visitors. As South Africans we spend out time in the City and really go to the “tourist traps” on the beachfront. To get a true reflection of our beautiful emerging culture we defiantly recommend staying in the City.

As to the cockroach incident we sincerely apologise. We take the cleanliness of our hotel very seriously and regularly professionally fumigate the rooms. I guess the only saving grace is a large cockroach would have flown in. Still this is not acceptable – our rooms are cleaned twice daily and if I was a visitor I would expect utmost cleanliness. I will address this first thing in the morning to ensure this type of incident does not happen again. Again – sincerest apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ams
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2007

We stayed for 12 days at the Daddy Long Legs apartments and were quite pleased with the experience.

The pros: affordable, modern, trendy, comfortable, clean, secure, friendly staff

The cons: noisy (depending on the flat)

We were looking for an affordable apartment in the city centre, which is exactly what we got. After reading other visitors' reviews on Trip Advisor concerning the noise levels, we asked to be put in a quiet room when we booked. We ended up with Flat 5 which had no windows facing onto Long Street, which meant that the bedroom was quiet. Our friends sleeping on the futon in our living room however did have a terrible time with the noise at night. After speaking with other friends/guests staying in the apartments, we learned that all of the other flats had problems with noise levels, ranging from bad to horrendous. We visited a few of the apartments looking out onto Long Street and witnessed the noise firsthand. Street noise at night - from cars, people and clubs - is pretty awful from about Wednesday to Sunday. The apartments are in the heart of the party section of Long Street, so this really is to be expected.

We did spot a few small cockroaches in the apartment, but this was nothing as horrendous as the other reviews. The apartments itself was very clean: it was cleaned everyday - the cleaning crew do a great job, and even wash up your dirty dishes. The kitchen and bathrooms are stylish and modern. The cockroaches likely originate from the restaurants below the apartments, which, incidentally, contributed to our bedroom smelling like roasted kudu in the evening: not necessarily a bad thing, and easily taken care of by running the nice modern air-conditioning unit.

If you are on a budget, then these apartments are fantastic value: you get a lot of bang for your buck. If you are a young party-goer up until 4 in the morning anyway, then the noise will likely not be an issue. However, if you do not stay up that late, have a hard time sleeping with earplugs (which are issued at check-in), or get any flat other than Flat 5, then the noise is going to be a problem. The managers are aware of the noise issue and are taking steps to add well insulated windows, which might help. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the Travel Centre (located just under the apartments) is a very useful service.

The take-home message is: excellent value for money, but if you have a problem with noise, stick with Flat 5!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank philology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaddyCapeTown, Manager at Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2008
Dear Philology

Thank you for the review and kind words about our establishment and travel centre. We appreciate your comments and feedback. These are important to us to ensure we always provide an excellent level of service and stay for our guests. Following on from your review we have enagaged the services of an architect and soundproofed our apartments. The soundproofing has made a big difference to ensuring a good night's rest and we are confident our guests will have a comfortable nights stay, in a quiet environment.

Thank you again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2007

For central location this is the place to be! We had 2 nights here in the Protea room and loved it - you have to see the rooms to believe them.

We watched the Springboks Rugby team Bus Tour from the balcony here - Long St rocked! The hotel itself was not noisy by night (our room was at the back).

Easy to grab a cab from here to all of the typical touristy places - Rikkis cabs r20 within central area per journey.

  • Liked — The designs.
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hudson58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2007

Having just returned from a 3 week trip around South Africa we decided to treat ourselves and stay at Daddy Long Legs. What a treat. The hotel is excellent value for money, in a superb location and very funky. Each room is completely different and designed by a different artist. Sergio was a great host and we really enjoyed ourselves. The rooms were spotless and the cafe downstairs serves great cuppacinos and breakfasts. The only problem we had was deciding which room to stay in. We can highly recommend the hotel.

  • Liked — Funky Rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sexytanyashaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
#88 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#70 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#80 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#42 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#48 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Hotel
Tudor Hotel
#97 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel

Property: Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel
Address: 134 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying in the Daddy Long Legs Independent Travellers Hotel is like being part of an interactive art exhibition. Each room is uniquely decorated by an artist, poet, photographer, designer or musician, creating different themes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Daddy Long Legs Boutique
Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing