We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky but not that cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel
Ranked #73 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The hotel is well restored and is funky. Super cool elevator.
However the room we got had windows facing some weird tiny square shaft in the building, so all the noise from the rooftop bar that was hosting a party went straight down. Into our room.
The food in the restaurant was just meh. The food generally even in the simplest places or cheaper place was great in Cape Town. But the restaurant here definitely did not match the hotel.
Some mould in the shower cabin. The very promising rooftop bar had too few lounge areas.
I think over all there are better and cheaper options just 2 blocks up the street.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a very unique and interesting property...it is definitely a boutique art hotel. They are not going for modern..they are going for artsy... The rooms a large and can accommodate large groups of people...it has a kitchen with a large fridge to store food and beer.
One thing to keep in mind is that it is located on Long Street...meaning, in the middle of bars and clubs...This is awesome if you are looking to party all night...literally, all night. Sleep quality is not that as the garbage truck and cleaning crews start fairly early in order to clean the party off the streets, and prepare Long Street for the day scene...
If you are traveling with a group of friends and you are looking to party all night...this a great place...I do not believe it works out well for couples or for people looking to relax.
Service is just right..on par with the persona of the hotel...very laid back. Your evaluation of the .service will vary based on your cultural profile

Room Tip: Try to pick some of the rooms that off Long Street...easier access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bensorj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason R, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Greetings

Thank you for sharing your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. I think however there seems to be a little bit of confusion between our properties as what you have described, is our Self Catering Apartments, which is very different to our Boutique/Art Hotel.

The Self Catering apartments are indeed located further up towards the top of Long street and is in amongst all the night life that Long Street is famous for.

Our Hotel however is located further below Long Street and is alot less noisey, cmared the top of long street as there is no clubs or restaurants located under or around the property. However we are perfectly located within walking distance of all the restaurants and retail outlets the Cape Town city centre has to offer.

We wish you all the best from Daddy Long Legs and looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Come and try out he Art Hotel next time and i'm sure you'll get that well deserved nights sleep you are after.

Kind Regards
Jason Rodwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The design is great, local and modern, but maybe the rooms need some renovation. Good location, good price, easy to walk to the major spots in Cape Town. Staff was very kind. But the Wi-fi barely worked...

Room Tip: Choose a room in the backyard to avoid the noise of the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ln1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Quite disappointed right from the reception as when you walk in, the staff are disinterested, place looks unclean and never once engaged to see how the stay was.
The rooms are basic, bathrooms have loads of grout on the tiles and the bed linen and towels look almost yellow from usage and washing - not pleasant.
The noise from Long Street is unbearable and luckily we stayed in a room further from the road.
Definately not worth the name 'Boutique Hotel' as everyone wants to call themselves today.
Reception area is grubby and looks unsafe with the people hanging around the computers.
The rooms are bare and the themes are okay but looking worn and tired.
The housekeeping was poor - no dustbin so I left some old tags and pieces of paper on the side of the floor and for three days no one cleaned this up!
No breakfast served, not even water is provided, showers are hot and strong at least.
Would I stay there again? Never...would I recommend the place...absolutely not!!
After the first night walked to the Grand Daddy ( sister hotel I think) to move there but it looked grubby as well - next time I will stay clear of the CBD and the once hip Long Street which unfortunately is fast becoming run down and dingy with drunk teens screaming at the top of their voices.

Room Tip: Dont be decieved by the themed rooms - rooms are tiny ( maybe okay for a night alone)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aritho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason R, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hi Aritho

Thanks for sharing your stay with us, we rely on all the constructive criticism and guests personal experiences to better ourselves and our Hotel, to offer guests a better experience when staying with us. I do apologize however for what seems to have been an unsatisfactory stay you had with us and would love to offer you the opportunity to stay with us in the future that we may show you a better experience, like what most of our guests do have when staying with us.

We constantly en-devour to have pristine clean linen in all our rooms, which get checked on a daily basis. Generally, the area on Long Street our Hotel is situated is relatively quite as there are no clubs or restaurants situated near our hotel, also all our street facing rooms have double glazing on the windows to eliminate any noise from the street.

We do not "throw" the Boutique Hotel name around, we are indeed a real boutique hotel and have been for the past 8 years of doing business, we have different designed rooms offering guests an unforgettably new experience when staying with us, not like your average run of the mill default hotel rooms. We pride ourselves on the fact that we are truly a Boutique Hotel and offer guests a unique experience when staying with us.

We have guest computers in our reception area for guests to make use of anytime during their stay with us, with regards to safety i assure you our Hotel is very safe and is staffed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to address any guest concerns or to simply assist a guest wherever needs be.

We unfortunately do not have a restaurant or cafe on our property, we do advertise this throughout and upon arrival we inform guests this aswell, luckily we are situated on Long Street where there is an assortment of cafes and restaurants for guests to choose from. We do sell bottled water from our reception area aside from the tap water in Cape Town being safe to drink, which we inform all guests upon arrival.

Thanks again for the feedback.

All the best.

Kind Regards
Jason Rodwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in the "Emergency Room". I enjoyed the theme and it always put a smile on my face when I entered. As others have stated, the rooms are pretty bare, no fridge or tv, etc, but I found my room to be comfortable enough for the price paid (although I did book during a promotion special). Towels and pillows need an upgrade. Hotel staff was friendly enough, and helped booked hotel transfers and other taxis. The location is good, I walked around quite a bit and also took the Hop on Hop off bus just a few blocks away. I'd stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bziolek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

what a dissapointment, the reception was cold and unwelcoming, the rooms were unexpectedly small and did not feel very clean. this is a boutique hotel that is past its prime and in desperate need of a revamp. i would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanvaderwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Very average. The rooms are NO WHERE near as nice as they look in the photos. It wasn't that clean in the bathroom, our towels were threadbare in places the bed wasn't great and the sheets felt like they were made from paper.

However, saying this it was in a good location. Very easy to get around on Long Street, Greenmarket Square and central CT.

I wouldn't say it was worth spending the money to go here. If you can afford few more bucks go somewhere that will deliver a proper hotel experience.

This had a very "hostel" like feel.

We won't be going back in a hurry!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GinnyL90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Cape Town Lodge
Cape Town Lodge
#77 of 110 in Cape Town Central
709 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
595 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#75 of 110 in Cape Town Central
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#36 of 110 in Cape Town Central
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#51 of 110 in Cape Town Central
369 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
#106 of 110 in Cape Town Central
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel

Address: 134 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £39 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying in the Daddy Long Legs Independent Travellers Hotel is like being part of an interactive art exhibition. Each room is uniquely decorated by an artist, poet, photographer, designer or musician, creating different themes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Daddy Long Legs Boutique
Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing