We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for the World Cup”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel
Ranked #73 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for the World Cup”
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Stayed for four days with a friend at the beginning of the World Cup. Perfect fit for our needs. Great location, great staff, free Internet connection, affordable, and clean. Would highly recommend for similar trips.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Double_D_Down_Under
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    111
    50
    24
    8
See reviews for
16
131
46
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Excellent spot for a few nights right in the heart of things for great access to Waterfront, Long Street, Constantia, Table Mtn, beaches etc. Clean spot, good ammenities, very safe area.and wonderful staff. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bryankinkade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Stayed in the second week of the world cup at the apartments for one nite only.They are nicely set out and would suit a longer self catering stay.The price of 1300 a nite was on the extreme end but it was the world cup!Very pleasant girl on the desk but the "down the lane entry" and rickety stairway didn't look five star.There is considerably better value in Long street at the top end of accommodation for less Rand.
eg The Hippo in Park street was far superior in facilities.Desk top computer permanenlty on the net was a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dinnymick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois32, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2010
Hi There!


Thank you for the response. We value all feedback we get.
We are currently in the progress of painting the lane next to our apartments. Just a small correction, we are not a 5 star property but a 3 star property. We do however feel that our service levels is of a very high standard.
Understandably the price is higher during the world cup, but you will see that our price just after the world cup is much more competitive.

Thank you for the feedback and we will always keep on trying our best to have our guests have a memorable stay.

Regards
Francois van Binsbergen
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

In this hotel one pays the price in order to have an experience, which is its main purpose.
There´s no elevator, no breakfast, no bathroom facilities(hair dryer, shampoos and others amenities), and only two rooms with TV; Despite this caracteristics we loved our time there.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois32, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2010
Hi there!

Thank you so much for the nice review and compliments on our rooms. This is what makes us different from the rest. Just a small note, we do serve breakfast at the caffe down stair from us and we do provide shampoo and body wash to all our guests. We also have hairdryers available on request from reception. :)
You will be glad to know that we know provide our own customized shampoo, conditioner, body wash and body lotion to our guests.
Please let me know next time you visit us again and I will ensure that all amenities are explained and provided to you.

Looking forward to welcome you again!
Warm Regards

Francois van Binsbergen
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I am confused by some of the other reviews stating: 'this hotel is just a like a backpackers property, nothing special'. I completely disagree! Not sure what 'backpacker properties' others have been staying at, but Daddy Long Legs is WAY above any 'backpackers hotel' that I've ever stayed at!
We were greeted by friendly/helpful staff and the cool, unique rooms were very clean and well maintained w/ crisp white sheets and comfy duvets. We ended up staying 4 nights here b/c: the hotel is in a great location, the staff was consistently helpful giving good advice on restaurants, directions, city safety, and we were impressed w/ the complimentary [fast and available!] Internet, coffee or tea. We also rented a car through the agency they have a partnership w/, and after checking out other various other company's rates, their partner agency was confirmed to be the best rate. We had laundry picked up and dropped off to us for a very reasonable cost. A great stay in Cape Town!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikstarTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Here are my feedback after a 3 night stay at Daddy Long Leg:
1- The main attraction of this exciting boutique hotel is its room design; it was my first stay in an art hotel, not sure where else I can find such an opportunity again. The flavor of designs is modern and pop art. It helps that you can preview the rooms online and book the room you do like most.
2- Location-wise, the hotel is in the middle of Long St. with walking access to most central cape town. I even used to walk to V&A waterfront from hotel in 20 min.
3- The staff are super-friendly and are happy to offer advice on your plans. They kindly agreed to show me several unoccupied rooms.

Overall, I classify my experience at Daddy Long Legs as "unique". I guess the hotel is still trying to establish its character somewhere along the lines of young, hip, cool and chic. It is certainly not a luxurious hotel, in the sense of a 5-star chain hotel, if that's what you are looking for (rooms do not have phone, it is a 3 floor building but no elevators). But, it icertainly worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Different
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2010

I would just take the opportunity to thank Francois and his team for a brilliant experience at the hotel. I arrived not knowing what to expect but was welcomed as if I have been there many times before. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, right from the time i made the booking to the unfortunate but inevitable check out. I opted to stay in as many of the unique and inspired rooms as I could (Do not Disturb, Fresh, Far from Home & Open) and loved every room for its own personality and style.

The hotel is very well priced and loacted and is a definite must for all travelling to Cape Town and planning to take in the city and everything it has to offer!

I have recommended this hotel to all of my friends and collegues and will be sure to stay there on my next trip to Cape Town.

Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louis040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois32, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2010
Hi Louis

Thanks so much for the review. We keep on trying to ensure that Daddy Long Legs is an experience like no other hotel.

I will let my staff know!

Kind Regards
Francois van Binsbergen
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Spring Tide Inn
Spring Tide Inn
#57 of 109 in Cape Town Central
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 109 in Cape Town Central
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#36 of 109 in Cape Town Central
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 109 in Cape Town Central
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#37 of 109 in Cape Town Central
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel

Property: Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel
Address: 134 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying in the Daddy Long Legs Independent Travellers Hotel is like being part of an interactive art exhibition. Each room is uniquely decorated by an artist, poet, photographer, designer or musician, creating different themes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Daddy Long Legs Boutique
Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing