We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sugar? Simply Superb!!”
Review of Sugar Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Hotel & Spa
Ranked #56 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
MALAGA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sugar? Simply Superb!!”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Our only regret regarding our stay at the Sugar Hotel, was that we hadn't discovered it sooner!

This boutique hotel is stunning, every detail has been carefully thought through and attended to...We stayed on more than one occasion during our recent trip, first in room 'six' which is located at the front of the hotel, & upon our return Nkosi & his team, welcomed us back to room five, this having its own private decked roof terrace & plunge pool, over looked by Table Mountain!
Both rooms were luxurious & spacious, the bathrooms having large walk in showers, a bath, twin sinks, & separate wc. Main bedrooms having flat screen tvs and 'heavenly large beds'...The decor is fresh, crisp and trendy...which is echoed from the minute you're warmly greeted at main entrance, by Nkosi, Oncemore or Serenity...

We spent many hours trawling hundreds of reviews for our stay in the Mother City... Honestly there's no need, if you require personal unrivalled excellence, save yourself the time...And say Hi to Nkosi, from us...He & his team will ensure your experience will be second to none....

Room Tip: Room five occupies the side and back of the hotel, has a private terrace & plunge pool...some tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RICHARD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    68
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
45
187
38
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Amazing hotel and amazing staff. Great decor, spacious rooms, location within walking distance to main attractions, or just a short cab ride away. Special thanks to Riaan, Oncemore, Nkosi and Serenity for making sure our stay was as pleasant as possible. Will definitely return next time we come to the Mother City. Regards, Fabricio.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FGD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My boyfriend and I won a stay at the Sugar Hotel.

Our room was absolutely gorgeous, with a stunning plunge pool for our private use. The hotel is situated in a beautiful part of Cape Town, close to the soccer stadium and Waterfront. The bathroom is spacious and has all the necessities, including a twin basin which is awesome when you go as a couple.

The staff members are extremely helpful and friendly.

We had breakfast every morning at the in-house restaurant and that was an absolute treat. The food was divine, and we especially enjoyed the muesli and fruit salad served as a breakfast starter.

This hotel is an absolute jewel and I will recommend this to all.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the soccer stadium
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pau
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Staying at Sugar Hotel was a real pleasure. Great location (near several restaurants, Cape Mall and just 15-20 min walking distance from Waterfront area). Charming, beautifully decorated and peaceful . Staff was truly friendly and helpful at all times.
I do recomend it to everyone that besides enjoying Cape Town also values the time spent in the hotel. I repeat: it was, truly, a pleasure!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dilmalima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Having had dissapointing previous accomodations in the Mother City, Sugar Hotel & Spa set a standard that was well above expectations for this beautiful boutique hotel. A home away from home, Room # 5 was stunning with its own pool deck overlooking Signal Hill. Staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble for them no matter how difficult our requests were!
Its a Botique Hotel that I would recommend always if you are looking for something special, yet extremely comfortable and yes, I we will be back on our next visit.

Room Tip: Room 4 or 5 - own outside pools facing mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bondibsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papendrecht
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2011

After a long drive a friend directed me to a B&B but that was full, they send me to the sugar hotel. The moment I came in I felt soo welcome, they were ever so friendly and I stayed in room 5 which has his own private roofplace with a mini pool. Spectacules. Every member was ever so helpfull even did things for me they didnt have to do. Great service. Even the breakfast was a feast. And very near to the V&A Waterfront, for a walk or go by taxi, the staff will phone for a taxi, excellent. I felt like a princess and when i go back to Cape Town this will be the only place to stay for me. Words are not enough. You have to experience it yourself.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We found the Sugar Hotel & Spa while searching the internet and from the first photos we were sure we had found some thing special. We needed a hotel for one night as the five star convention hotel we were going to was full and we were arriving a day early. From the owner that picked us up at the airport to the housekeeper, everyone gave us the Royal treatment ! Breakfast was a feast for the taste buds. We also tried the restaurant for lunch were the chef really went all out to create wonderful dishes made to order. The service in the restaurant and bar was second to none. To get rid of the jetlag we tried the Spa for various treatments and again we were surprised by the high standard and skill of their work. Everyone at the Sugar Hotel was ready to go above and beyond to make our stay as pleasant as possible. After the convention we wanted to extend our stay in Cape Town and we found ourselves drawn back to the Sugar Hotel as we missed the beautiful surroundings that the owners of Sugar Hotel have created with love and care ! We also revisited the Spa !

When we return to Cape Town there is only one place to stay at - The Sugar Hotel & Spa

Thank you for making our visit to Cape Town so memorable. Hope to see you soon!

Greetings from Iceland

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but Sugar has two rooms with a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigfus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
416 reviews
0.4 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
737 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
#29 of 109 in Cape Town Central
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Diem Lodge
Cape Diem Lodge
#37 of 155 in Cape Town Central
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hotel & Spa

Property: Sugar Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Main Road, Corner Main & Boundary Roads | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#51 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated mix of raw brick, woods, stainless steel, porcelain tiles and glass sets us apart in style. Minutes from the Cape Quarter, V&A Waterfront, World Cup Stadium, Convention Centre, and a refreshing range of restaurants and night life. Enjoy our perfect position in the heart of the mother city. Retreat to a cocoon of comfort with natural fabrics and earth tones in our luxury en suite rooms. Enjoy spacious bathrooms with large showers for your private indulgence. Twin basins. Heated towel rails. We believe in the detail. Choose a view: Pool, Waterfront or Mountain? The quiet hillside suites, each with their private plunge pool, look onto Signal Hill - the "rump" of fabled Lion's Head mountain. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll be well looked after. Pamper yourself with one of our Wellness treatments or relax, sipping sundowners, on the pool deck. Marc's Table, our in-house restaurant offers hearty breakfasts, light à la carte lunches and romantic dinners. Sip cognacs, after dark, in our cosy library. Sugar, for food requirements, provides a unique and specialized menu that suits any palette. We will prepare food to your request on instruction. Our daily menu is never the same, and warm hearty meals are prepared just for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sugar Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Hotel And Spa
Sugar Hotel Cape Town Central
Sugar Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing