We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweetie Paradise”
Review of Sugar Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sugar Hotel & Spa
Ranked #64 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed in Sugar Hotel during Easter 2013 and was bowled over! The staff, rooms, breakfast, easy access to the city was absolutely amazing! Would highly recommend anyone that needs to recharge and break away to enjoy the Sugar Hotel's luxury and home away from home feeling!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013

Lovely hotel with HUGE rooms and gorgeous bathrooms. Every amenity you could imagine or need. Delicious breakfast. After returning in the late afternoon, we were told the bar was "not actually open" and the we would need to "use the mini bar". We were disappointed as we wished to sip our wine outside, but on check out the charge was removed due to staff's inability to provide us with bar service. Nice to see the right thing was done for the guest. We would love to return!

Room Tip: Main Road rooms noisy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo58-46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Any concerns of travelling to a boutique 5 star Hotel with young children were immediately dispelled upon arrival by the friendly nature of the staff. This friendliness and interest in me and my family continued throughout our stay and nothing was too much trouble for them, even the cuddly toys were tucked in.The Hotel achieves the perfect balance of luxury and discreetness without being pretentious and over bearing. Rooms are large particularly the bathroom and the facilities are perfect given the size of the hotel. During our stay there was a cosmopolitan mix of nationalities and ages.The V&A is a leisurely 10min walk. We will defintiely be back for another relaxing break.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IHR1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I recently spent 5 wonderful nights at the Sugar Hotel and Spa in Cape Town. The hotel is a small boutique hotel; recently very tastefully renovated. My room was spacious as was the bath, and I had a private patio with a great view of Table Mountain. Location was excellent- within walking distance of the waterfront and the convention center which was important to me. Staff catered to my every need; I had no idea there were other travelers in the hotel, though the hotel was full. I will definitely stay there on my next trip to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Each room is unique so tell them what you want?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrinhotlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I had a pleasant stay and was made right at home by helpful staff. The room was perfect as was the comfort. If I had a criticism it would be the bouquet of channels on the TV was limited but even that was not enough to deter from what was a pleasurable and very satisfying stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This was the best get away experience I have had in a very long time. From the moment you step into the Hotel, the staff was friendly and very help full, booking restuarants and giving directions. What a wonderful and stunning Hotel, the bedrooms are beautifully done with white percale linnen and the bathrooms are perfect! We had the most wonderful massages in the Spa and the breakfast was wodnerful and delicious. Thank you we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back next year!!!!! Well rested mommy!

Room Tip: Any room in perfect, we had road facing room, but is was quiet not 'n sound of the traffic,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elzahn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We were greeted at the door by the most unfriendly hostess who refused to let us check in 1hour before 2pm. We had to pay the full cost of the room upfront before we even set foot into the room.

Although the room was huge and smelled lovely, the carpet, furniture and walls were stained and in need of a serious clean. The pool on our balcony was drained and under maintenance, a fact the 'friendly' hostess failed to tell us and when confronted about her lack of mentioning this to us said 'it is not my job to know what maintenance that is going on at the hotel'.

There is no turn down service even though this is a 5 star establishment and we had to carry our own luggage down to the car after miss friendly failed to answer the phone to send us a porter.

All in all the service at this hotel is worst I have ever experienced and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 112 in Cape Town Central
119 reviews
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#18 of 112 in Cape Town Central
441 reviews
The One 8 Hotel
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#38 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,085 reviews
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#39 of 112 in Cape Town Central
509 reviews
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
#37 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Main Road, Corner Main & Boundary Roads | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#57 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £94 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated mix of raw brick, woods, stainless steel, porcelain tiles and glass sets us apart in style. Minutes from the Cape Quarter, V&A Waterfront, World Cup Stadium, Convention Centre, and a refreshing range of restaurants and night life. Enjoy our perfect position in the heart of the mother city. Retreat to a cocoon of comfort with natural fabrics and earth tones in our luxury en suite rooms. Enjoy spacious bathrooms with large showers for your private indulgence. Twin basins. Heated towel rails. We believe in the detail. Choose a view: Pool, Waterfront or Mountain? The quiet hillside suites, each with their private plunge pool, look onto Signal Hill - the "rump" of fabled Lion's Head mountain. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll be well looked after. Pamper yourself with one of our Wellness treatments or relax, sipping sundowners, on the pool deck. Marc's Table, our in-house restaurant offers hearty breakfasts, light à la carte lunches and romantic dinners. Sip cognacs, after dark, in our cosy library. Sugar, for food requirements, provides a unique and specialized menu that suits any palette. We will prepare food to your request on instruction. Our daily menu is never the same, and warm hearty meals are prepared just for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sugar Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Hotel Cape Town Central
Sugar Hotel And Spa
Sugar Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing