We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome stay, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sugar Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sugar Hotel & Spa
Ranked #55 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome stay, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed here for four nights. The great thing about this hotel is the small size; meaning that the hotel is pretty quiet and the staff get to know you by name and offer great service. The room I stayed in was perfect size, very modern and had a sweet little balcony with small pool (too cold for swimming this time of year though). The breakfast served in the downstairs cafe was awesome, freshly cooked and much better than the usual crusty hotel buffet. The hotel is only a 5-10 minute walk from the waterfront (or a cheap taxi ride). Very well priced as well. Would stay here again if I get the chance to return to CT

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrapha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    66
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
44
184
38
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

You can tell that great thought went into every detail of this boutique hotel. The rooms are modern and high-end, yet extremely comfortable. The hot breakfasts to order were a delicious way to start the day. The owners and staff are by far the biggest plus of this hotel! They went out of their way to make sure that our stay at the hotel and in Cape Town was fantastic. Overall, beautiful hotel in a great location with fantastic service. I will definitely return next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We were 4 friends staying at Sugar hotel for 2 nights 5/6 July 2013 What an experience from the time we arrived the staff treated us as if we were the only guest around they helped with our luggage and made us feel welcome. Nkosi was great and the breakfast was wonderful.

I would have loved to enjoy dinner at the hotel. The spa was great I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I will recommend the Sugar hotel to all my friends, and I will be back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at the Sugar Hotel for 2 nights. We got there really late on the Thursday night, it was pleasant to see that they were expecting us, and the "porter" went to the extent of carrying our luggage up the stairs at 11pm! The room was great, loved the balcony and the bathroom/shower. The towels didnt smell freshly laundered though (that's the only downside throughout our stay at the hotel).

Breakfast is definitely something to look forward to at the Sugar Hotel. Loved it.

Location is very convenient.

Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TafiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foz do Iguacu, PR
Level Contributor
189 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed at the Sugar Hotel for 5 nights as a hub for business meetings around Cape Town / Western Cape.

The hotel is in an ideal location in Green Point, very easy to find as it is located on the corner of main road / boundary road if driving. Cab drivers not always aware of it by name but they do know the larger Castle Hotel next door (not as nice as the Sugar Hotel though).

The rooms are large / clean and well appointed. There was nothing I could think of that had not already been provided, the bathrooms are also large with twin sinks and good shower room.

Free Wifi supplied and was better than most i've experience.

The staff are friendly and very approachable and answered all questions / advice etc.

Breakfast between 7-11am was excellent and greatly appreciated, service was very good.

We used the secure car park (room for 4 cars, so ensure you book a space if driving). The location means it is easy to walk / drive / cab to Waterfront, Table Mountain, Camps Bay, Hout Bay etc.

There are plenty of restaurants / bars in walking distance and the area (main road) is pretty safe and well lit.

There were some negatives:-
- We arrived in the evening and were not offered any welcome drink and I carried my own bags up two flights of stairs to my room. I am sure I could of raised this at the time and it would of been resolved (if I'd known about it), but tired from a flight I just wanted to check into the room as fast as possible.
- The website suggests that lunch / dinner / drinks by the pool are available - You need to advise the staff that you want lunch / dinner in the morning! It is a shame that staff do not service during the day and this differs from similar Boutique hotels which do generally service food /drink during the day. The rooms do have a well stocked minibar though and nibbles are also supplied. For this reason I have only marked the hotel as "very good" and not excellent.

The above are not enough to prevent me from highly recommending the hotel or potentially rebooking on my regular visits to Cape Town.

Room Tip: The hotel does face "main road" and hence rooms facing the road are noisier than those fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneWayorReturnPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights 24/25 June 2013 and everything about this hotel was excellent. Service, friendliness of staff, breakfast and our room was all superlative. Location of the hotel close to the Waterfront was also very convenient - a inexpensive taxi ride away. Cant wait to return when we are next in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Our corner suite was large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

There aren't enough superlatives to describe our experience at this hotel. The staff was super attentive, the breakfasts divine, the custom-offered tours and private car beyond belief, and the location simply perfect. This was my first time in Cape Town, and I was worried about booking a boutique experience, but the Sugar Hotel was the absolute right decision. Great value for the quality of service. Absolutely nothing negative in any aspect.

Room Tip: There are only seven rooms and I've read that one has a private jacuzzi...sounds like a good pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.4 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#43 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#82 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
#22 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oxford House
Oxford House
#10 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hotel & Spa

Property: Sugar Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Main Road, Corner Main & Boundary Roads | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#50 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated mix of raw brick, woods, stainless steel, porcelain tiles and glass sets us apart in style. Minutes from the Cape Quarter, V&A Waterfront, World Cup Stadium, Convention Centre, and a refreshing range of restaurants and night life. Enjoy our perfect position in the heart of the mother city. Retreat to a cocoon of comfort with natural fabrics and earth tones in our luxury en suite rooms. Enjoy spacious bathrooms with large showers for your private indulgence. Twin basins. Heated towel rails. We believe in the detail. Choose a view: Pool, Waterfront or Mountain? The quiet hillside suites, each with their private plunge pool, look onto Signal Hill - the "rump" of fabled Lion's Head mountain. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll be well looked after. Pamper yourself with one of our Wellness treatments or relax, sipping sundowners, on the pool deck. Marc's Table, our in-house restaurant offers hearty breakfasts, light à la carte lunches and romantic dinners. Sip cognacs, after dark, in our cosy library. Sugar, for food requirements, provides a unique and specialized menu that suits any palette. We will prepare food to your request on instruction. Our daily menu is never the same, and warm hearty meals are prepared just for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sugar Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Hotel And Spa
Sugar Hotel Cape Town Central
Sugar Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing