We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten days in Cape Town.”
Review of Sugar Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sugar Hotel & Spa
Ranked #57 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ten days in Cape Town.”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Good location for people who enjoy Waterkant or Greenpoint area. Very safe Even at Night. Big living room and bathroom. We stayed in room 1 facing the big street and the Stadion.The bed and pillows was super. Comfortable and quiet hotel. Good service and very helpful staff. Even the hotel is close to the Main Road it was quiet inside the room.
Wonderful breakfast.
Free Internet wireless connection.
Small pool outside the breakfast room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steinaroslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    67
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
45
185
38
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Agree with all the positive comments made previously - very helpful staff, great room and decor, and brill breakfasts. Very convenient for the V & A Waterfront and the old city centre. It is not dangerous to walk around Cape Town (maybe don’t rush to Cape Flats area). Would certainly go again to this hotel. I said I would when I left to which they replied “certainly, this is your home now”. It felt like it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAllinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Sugar Hotel at the end of October. I can't say enough about it. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and close to the city center and the V&A waterfront. Travelling alone I was a bit afraid of the size of the room. That fear is uncalled for at the Sugar, I had a huge room with an equally fully equipped and well sized bathroom.

The service you receive at the Sugar is nothing short of five stars. Nkosi and Oncemore are always helpful in providing advice, checking availability or opening hours and basically anything you wish. I had forgotten to make a reservation at La Mouette (another must when you are visiting Cape Town), and miracaly Nkosi got me the reservation in, called the taxi and gave me enought time for a quick freshen up. Also, when contemplating where to go, they are honest as to what is a do but also what is a don't which is greatly appreciated.

The breakfast is fab. I am generally not a breakfast person, but now I am a believer. The breakfast starts with fresh fruit salad and yoghurt with honey and muesli. There is a choice of a number of hot breakfasts to follow. The french toast is great as is the omlets with filling of your choice but the eggs benedict is the best I have had, that hollandaise is bang on the money.

The spa at the hotel is a treat. Crystal will make sure you are relaxed and looking your absolute best. My headache that was bugging me for ages, was gone after my session with Crystal who is just a joy to have a chat with.

In short, when visting Cape Town all you need is Sugar.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I stayed four wonderful nights at this smaller boutique hotel. The staff was simply excellent! They made us feel very welcome. Fantastic service to all our needs, questions, with great recommendations. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious. We were up and off enjoying the Cape Town area sights every day. Great location, an excellent base for exploring and walking to V&A waterfront. Everything was perfect for us.

Tom & Lisa
Carmel Valley, California
USA

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjneu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this small and cosy hotel i CT, Location is good and nice with secure parking and walking distance to many things. Staff was great and breakfast super!
I will for sure consider to stay at this place again on my next visit to CT

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My partner and I just returned from an amazing tour of South Africa. For our time in Cape Town we stayed 6 nights at the Sugar Hotel. This is a small boutique hotel, and the hotel itself, as well as the room, was absolutely beautiful. The decor in the lobby is very African chic and definitely easy on the eyes. The rooms are very large and perfectly appointed. The bathroom is HUGE. I have to say the bed at Sugar Hotel is one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept in. I don't know if I was just exhausted by the daily tours but as soon as my body hit the bed I was out like a light. Oncemore was excellent from check-in to check-out. The rest of the staff was also amazing. The kitchen staff was very friendly and we actually looked forward to the wonderful breakfasts each morning (the granola and yogurt was to die for). The only complaint I would have doesn't really have much to do with the hotel itself, but the area it was located in. During the day it was a 15 minute walk to the Waterfront, but other then that there really isn't much around the De Waterkant area. And in the evening the area seems somewhat unsafe to walk around. We were actually accosted quite frequently for money, at one point rather forcefully. Once we figured this out it wasn't anything common sense and a quick taxi ride didn't fix, however if you want to walk around in the evening and feel safe this location probably isn't for you. But again, I don't fault the hotel for their location and if you don't want the hustle and bustle of a Waterfront hotel we would definitely recommend a stay at the beautiful Sugar Hotel! Thanks Mark, Oncemore and all the staff; we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Room 5 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvrjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aire-la-Ville, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I've been going to this hotel for a few years now on business and I've always been very pleased with my stays. The hotel staff is warm and welcoming, always happy to help. The location is good (despite being "on the road") as it's close to the V&A Waterfront, it is close to the new stadium and fairly close to the ocean (good for runners). The rooms are very nice and spacious with a very nice bathroom with separate bath and shower. Breakfasts are nice too. They can prepare lunch and/or dinner but you need to warn them in advance as there's not a permanent chef. The massage therapists are usually good. There is free parking (limited space though). The downside would be due to the fact that it is a small boutique hotel so some services that you find in large hotels (business center, gym, ...) may not be there but I still recommend this hotel, it is good value.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 or 7 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#55 of 109 in Cape Town Central
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 109 in Cape Town Central
719 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hotel & Spa

Property: Sugar Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Main Road, Corner Main & Boundary Roads | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#52 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated mix of raw brick, woods, stainless steel, porcelain tiles and glass sets us apart in style. Minutes from the Cape Quarter, V&A Waterfront, World Cup Stadium, Convention Centre, and a refreshing range of restaurants and night life. Enjoy our perfect position in the heart of the mother city. Retreat to a cocoon of comfort with natural fabrics and earth tones in our luxury en suite rooms. Enjoy spacious bathrooms with large showers for your private indulgence. Twin basins. Heated towel rails. We believe in the detail. Choose a view: Pool, Waterfront or Mountain? The quiet hillside suites, each with their private plunge pool, look onto Signal Hill - the "rump" of fabled Lion's Head mountain. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll be well looked after. Pamper yourself with one of our Wellness treatments or relax, sipping sundowners, on the pool deck. Marc's Table, our in-house restaurant offers hearty breakfasts, light à la carte lunches and romantic dinners. Sip cognacs, after dark, in our cosy library. Sugar, for food requirements, provides a unique and specialized menu that suits any palette. We will prepare food to your request on instruction. Our daily menu is never the same, and warm hearty meals are prepared just for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Sugar Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Hotel And Spa
Sugar Hotel Cape Town Central
Sugar Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing