We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy retreat in Cape Town hillside”
Review of Villa Lutzi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Lutzi
Ranked #86 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cozy retreat in Cape Town hillside”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Villa Lutzi appears to be an old manor convertet to a cozy little guest house in the hillside towards Table Mountain. I took a weekend there on a business trip to South Africa, so I was alone. I felt more like staying at a friend's house than at a hotel. The husband and wife owners were also very helpful in organizing excursions and local transport.
There is a small lush garden and a small pool, ideal for cooling down. There is a great view to Lion's Head and Signal, and you can just see Table Mountain looming above the trees behind the villa.
If you, like me, prefer a small cozy B&B instead of a large hotel, you will love it too.
Villa Lutzi is in a residential area, so there are no restaurant and shops in the immediate vicinity. Unless you are comfortable to walk the dark streets, expect to take a taxi to go anywhere in the evening. You will be served an excellent breakfast, but no other meals are served. The room was keot in old style, but with a modern en-suite bath and the bed was great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cato A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    16
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
36
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pruhonice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed at Villa Lutzi in April with our two kids for six nights. We were given the family room which is on the first floor and is actually two rooms with a connecting sitting area. We loved staying at Villa Lutzi because we were so well looked after, from Eric and his wife to the staff who work there, particularly Patience, Aisha and Alfred. Such lovely people, going out of their way to help out! Eric even booked the tickets for Table Mountain online for us so we could avoid the queues. The house is very close to Table Mountain, in fact you can see the Lions Head while sitting by the pool.

The rooms were very clean and nicely furnished and having a shared space with the kids was a bonus. We were able to get a take away on a couple of nights and eat it at the Guesthouse. We rented a car so we drove everywhere but there are buses that go to the Waterfront and all popular destinations.

Breakfast every morning was delicious and the poached eggs perfect!! Having the laundry done and ironed for a small fee was such a relief!!

We will definitely be staying at Villa Lutzi again when we go back to Cape Town, I am already planning my next trip.

Room Tip: If you are after the family room, ask for 11 and 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilmoreAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Wonderful charming lodge in excellent position. Many restaurants within walking distance. Eric and Dagmar will go out of their way to point you in the right direction. Super breakfast and very, very clean. Extremely helpful staff. Wifi is free. Nice an dwell-appointed rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
127 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed here five nights (and spent three days at the Sanbona Wildlife Preserve as well.) Villa Lutzi is clean and comfortable. We requested a room with a king-sized bed. Good view of the city. Good, reasonably priced restaurants within a four-block walk. We particularly liked Toni's on Kloof. Walking around in this neighborhood is safe. Eric, who manages Villa Lutzi, can set up your tours, for example to Robben Island. Excellent breakfasts come with the room, and there is free sherry in the afternoons. All in all, a nice accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikefromKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The house was lovely, the location pretty perfect for a quiet stay.
However, the service was very much provincial Germany and the breakfast was really quite poor. Toast was cold, there was no cooked English, which is really to be expected, given that all of the B&Bs offer it. Apart from this one.
It was, however, very clean and the pool area is lovely, if you're looking to relax. Just don't expect the culinary perfection offered by other B&Bs for the same price in and around Cape Town.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Pre, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Villa Lutzi is stratgically located close to the Kloof Street restaurant district, in a quiet residential district. The house is set in a beautiful fragrant garden, where one can find little nooks to sit quietly and enjoy the surroundings. The pool is surrounded by trees and plants, and in hot weather is a welcome sight indeed. Table Mountain looms above the property, seemingly at the end of the street, and incidently provides a welcome signpost to find your way home if you are confused. The B&B is a short drive away from the downtown and the V&A Wharf, though sadly, everyone drives on the wrong side of the road.

The house itself is older, and full of charm, furnished with an eye to comfort as well as appearance. We stayed two weeks in the main floor suite as our adult daughter was intermittantly able to join us. This is a very nice room with a comfortable queen sized bed and a sitting area, connected to a smaller room with two double beds by a large and very clean bathroom. The smaller room opened directly onto an outdoor sitting area.

The breakfasts offered at Villa Lutzi were much appreciated; a good variety of breads and rolls, cheeses, cold meats, cereals, yoghurts and several kinds of fresh fruit are available as well as bacon and eggs which are cooked to order. The tables are set with white linen and fresh flowers, in a breakfast room which opens to the garden, and the serving staff are very pleasant and attentive.

The owners of the Villa, Eric and Dagmar, are helpful, ready to offer advice or information on a variety of topics to help the tourist maximize their enjoyment of Cape Town. The housekeeping staff are unobtrusive, slipping in to make up the room while you go to breakfast then coming back through the day to do a thorough cleaning, then returning in the evening to turn down the bed.

The Villa Lutzi is by far the best B&B experience we have had, and I have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmartel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2011

If you want state of the art modernism from your place of repose this is not for you - if you are seeking unobtrusive good service, tranquility and elegant old world charm then stay here. This is a well located Victorian guest house below table mountain. Interior of villa elegant with tall ceilings and orginal features. Bedrooms are not air conditainoed but are large, well funished, and cool.with fans provided. Beds was extremely comfortable - forgining but with support for back.. Bathroom - small but everthing worked well (including good shower) and spotlessly clean. Swimming pool excellent with pretty garden around same and excellent views of both Table Mountain and Lion's Head.

Breakfasts good quality - if were to improve anything then might add a little more variety - but eggs and bacon beautifully cooked to order. No formal bar but large honesty fridge well stocked with water, beer, coke, and wine (large bottles of excellent Sauvignon) as well as fridges in bedrooms for outside purchases.

Owners very helpful in recommending things to see/do. Location good - used taxis but also walked to and back from the V&A and from the town centre on a number of occasions.

Internet access - limited but sufficient to log in for flight confirmation etc. One tip - if visiting SA for first time - the electic plug sockets are round three pinned variety - special adapter needed from Europe/UK - the general all prupose adapters don't include this (or at least the two versons I took didn't)

A lot of German visitors and a lot of repeat business it appeared.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay - recommended without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timtraveller35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
989 reviews
City Bowl
Rosedene Guest House
Rosedene Guest House
#27 of 155 in Cape Town Central
208 reviews
City Bowl
Liberty Lodge
Liberty Lodge
#20 of 155 in Cape Town Central
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Grenadine
#4 of 155 in Cape Town Central
238 reviews
City Bowl
12 Hofmeyr
12 Hofmeyr
#62 of 155 in Cape Town Central
39 reviews
Villa Zeezicht
#71 of 155 in Cape Town Central
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lutzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lutzi

Property: Villa Lutzi
Address: 6 Rosmead Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Lutzi 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Lutzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lutzi Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing