We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
17 on Loader Guest House
Ranked #125 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I stayed in a previous guest house which was supposedly one star higher, but I found 17 on Loader to be very modern, clean and with very good facilities. It is also located in a great location with commanding views from the roof top terrace.

I received a pre-arrival email from Ben the live in Manager which was very professional and upon greeting me on arrival, confirmed that the service was well above par. Small touches made a difference, such as a fully stocked shared kitchen with honesty system and a very good breakfast with freshly cooked bread and a basket placed outside your door in the morning.

I travel frequently and have been genuinely impressed.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RGM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

I recently booked accomodation for my mom for 3 nights & we were all nervous since it was her 1st time in CT but the staff & managers at 17 on Loader were awesome & very helpful. I was very impressed with how they hosted her & she tells me the place looks stunning. So i will definetely stay there next time i'm in CT.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolLe20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I actually arrived sick at the guesthouse and we had booked room 17 C which doesn't have external windows and no air-conditioning. The room is very small and feels a little claustrophobic. The staff was very attentive and Benjamin tried his best to get us another room as we had booked for four nights. He actually managed to get us the nicest and biggest room, 19 A, for the last two days and even apologized with a bottle of champagne that he couldn't move us earlier. That was very sweet and we actually very much enjoyed our stay despite the sickness. The idea of finding your breakfast basket in front of the room was nice every morning, but unfortunately there was very little in the basket and there wasn't any extra bread. We usually had a second breakfast outside. There is free, safe parking behind the guesthouse, which is very handy as parking is sparse in Waterkant. Unfortunately you have to pay for wifi. As there are plenty of cafes and restaurants with free wifi we didn't use that service. Big compliments to the staff and a special thanks to Benjamin.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bas_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed at this guest house for 2 nights in July, 2011. The hotel was recommended to us by a friend from Pretoria. The hotel was perfect. It was very conveniently located in a fun and interesting central neighbourhood. Our room was pretty and beautifully decorated. In fact, the whole hotel was beautiful, clean, and quiet. Derek, the owner, was gracious and helpful. A breakfast basket is left by your door in the morning, which you can take up to the roof-top patio and enjoy the glorious view of the ocean and Table Mountain. Breafast was simple but good. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelsWithoutCharli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

the room is so small that there is no place for your suitecase. The staff is very helpfull and nice. The location is very good. The breakfast was very poor. Every day different (1 croissant + 1 roll one day, 2 croissants the other day and that for 2 persons!!).
Good secure parking behind the building.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

very pleasent stay with friendly Owner Ben. Every time again...................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polle-held
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Cape Town respite

You will have to look hard to find a better home-away-from-home in Cape Town than this spot: 17 On Loader Guest House. I have stayed in Green Point, Bantry Bay and elsewhere in the ‘Mother city’ – but this is my top choice for value and proximity to hot spots.
Owner Derek [] and manager Ben made me feel welcome (despite arriving close to midnight on a Sunday), while the house staff, Anthony and Barbara saw to the small things really count (early-morning breakfast baskets – the correct adapter for my phone charger, etc). There’s a nice selection of rooms (singles and doubles) every one is different and graciously appointed, all with easy access to the common rooms and street-front views. Though I found eating out at local restaurants more enticing [Andiamo at Cape Quarter is excellent for Italian everything and lively every night of the week – go to Soho for the sushi!], I would have been tempted to make use of the excellent kitchen in the main house. Next time.

Though I could only stay six days, I wish I’d had another week to enjoy the top-drawer amenities.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,797 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,373 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#10 of 130 in Cape Town Central
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,348 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,813 reviews
A Sunflower Stop
#9 of 130 in Cape Town Central
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 on Loader Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 on Loader Guest House

Address: 17 Loader Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £68 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 17 on Loader Guest House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is conveniently situated within a 10 minute walk to the city centre, the Cape Town International Convention Centre, the V&A Waterfront, several health spas and some of Cape Town's most popular restaurants and nightclubs. De Waterkant is considered to be a safe area, and is patrolled by security guards 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your 17 on Loader Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 On Loader Guest House Hotel Cape Town Central
17 On Loader Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing