We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent. No other words to describe this jewel. Recommended”
Review of Four Rosmead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Rosmead
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Termoli, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Excellent. No other words to describe this jewel. Recommended”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This hotel is excellent under any possible aspect.
Room are not called with numbers, but with names. Mine was on te first floor with a nice balcony and an awesome view toward Capetown. Architectonically very interesting because it was the room below the roof, with all the wooden beams on show and a very high ceiling. Provided with all possible amenities like a large LCD screen, a DVD reader, and an Ipod amplifier. Room comfort is excellent. Very silent, not completely shaded from light because of a very stilish circular window which is not possible to close, but it's ok. Large Queen Bed and light dimming control all over the room.
Toilet is amazing. Double washbasin. Shower with window over the city. Having shower at dawn with Capetown awakening is an experience!
Breakfast is very good, with buffet fresh choice of item, plus a daily varied ready-cooked food to order, beside the classic British breakfast (egg, bacon,....).
Last but not least the staff is amazing.
We arrrived late, for Capetown standard, but we were offered complete assistance for room checking in and restaurant choicing.
Best of all each morning we were provided with a complete assistance on what to see, how to see it, what to book, where to eat.
We were, for example suggested to book the table mountain cableway and it was done for us completely free of charge, just the price for the booking. it saved us at least one hour of queu, due to the bad weather in previous days.
We will miss the Lindt bits of choccolate every evening we come back to our room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domenico D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    42
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
379
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bass Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

There are few places in the world where we have stayed which were as memorable as Four Rosmead. The large beautifully furnished rooms with interesting, unique, and facinating artwork had wonderful views of Cape Town and the surrounding mountains. The staff was amazingly helpful even serving us supper in the dining room which was ordered in from a nearby Thai restaurant which the staff recommended. We could have spent whole days just enjoying this guesthouse if Cape Town, the Cape peninsula, and the winelands were not so attractive.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJR110920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We had the luxury of spending 8 days at Four Rosmead. Not only was this place beautiful, modern yet homey, conveniently located to the mountains and downtown, but they have the best staff!! While we were there, it was mostly Jade who was on duty. She was absolutely fantastic and definitely made our trip. She was all over it for everything we wanted to do. She always called places ahead of time to make sure we would get the best service. She even called Table Mountain several days in a row to make sure we would get up there! She booked us cars, made reservations every time we went to dinner and booked us tours. Also, she always had chilled champagne for us (honeymoon treat!!) It may sound like the regular responsibilities of a hotel manager, but she went above and beyond and was so incredibly friendly about it.

The room we were in was gorgeous. HUGE bed and shower! Very clean, smelled really good and was decorated beautifully.
Every morning, we had breakfast cooked to our liking - they had eggs any way you wanted them as well as a daily special hot breakfast. Beautiful bowls of fresh fruit salad, granola, muffins, the works.
Sometimes in the afternoons, we would want to chill out before dinner. A couple days we sat outside in the beautiful courtyard and others we were inside on the comfortable sofas near the fireplace. They also had bottles of Sherry and Port for guests to enjoy at their leisure.
There was a computer with free internet usage, which was great for checking email or getting directions.

The place was beautiful, we highly recommend it and we can't say enough about Jade. She was really amazing!

There was one tiny downside, we had a slight security breach while staying there but even so, we would absolutely go back and stay there again (and my husband is so not usually like that!)
When we called and alerted them, we were told that they had been alerted by another guest and were already involved in a full investigation.
Don't let this glitch stop you. Just be careful that you are in a hotel, not your own home (which even then, isn't always perfect!) and enjoy this beautiful place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lelkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourRosmead, General Manager at Four Rosmead, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear Lelkate,

Thank you for your kind words and it was our absolute pleasure to assist you with your plans for your stay and to make your stay memorable.

In regard to the security breach, we decided to have all of our staff polygraphed by a reputable company, including the managers, as we cannot afford even a suspicion of dishonesty . I am happy to advise that the polygraph company has issued us with a clean bill of health.

All th best and we hope to see you again in the future.

Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duxbury, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Location, facility, food, people, service and ambience all great.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maarten63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunsmore, England
Level Contributor
223 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We can only echo the remarks made by many other guests. We chose 4 Rosmead based on the reviews here and it did not disappoint. We had a wonderful stay and we felt that Nadine and Sonia provided us with excellent service tailored to our needs. This is often not the case in larger hotels and this is why guest houses in South Africa are so worthwhile. We had a large room at the front of the house with triple aspect windows and a small patio. We felt the neighbourhood was residential and, as such, away from the hustle and bustle but only a short taxi drive from the main tourist areas of Cape Town. The room also had a very large bathroom with great views of the city. The bathroom was very chic with large basins, powerful shower and large bath. We really could not fault anything with 4 Rosmead and, in May, it is exceptionally good value for money. We would recommend 4 Rosmead to anyone who likes individual rooms, personal attention and a discreet location. The breakfasts were excellent too! We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BindiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Thank you Four Rosmead Boutique staff, we really felt happy when stayed here. our room was very clean and beautiful, meals were delicious and we found that the guesthouse very nice with swimming pool, gardens,...

We will recommend the guest house to our friend and come back soon. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy2767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Four Rosmead is a lovely boutique guest house. Sitting on our balcony you had a view of Lion's Head and it was just perfect. It was the start of our honeymoon and our room was ready as soon as we reached the hotel early in the morning, after a night flight from London. There were a stack of honeymoon gifts in our room for us to enjoy.

The staff cannot do enough to help you and they always ask if you need any help or advice or anything booking, but not in an overbearing way. The breakfasts are great, lots of fresh fruit and juices as well as hot breakfast cooked to order each day. We were given some fantastic recommendations for dinner from the staff, which they booked and arranged taxis for us each night. Societe Bistro and Aubergine were two of our favourite places we ate at whilst we were in Cape Town.

The only downside is that you can't really walk anywhere in the evening from the hotel, so you have either drive or get a cab - that said the cabs are cheap and easy to book. We had a hire car, but didn't drive - we left our keys with the hotel as the parking is so limited, they have to move cars around to make sure that everyone can get in and out of the car park, however, when we came to leave we realised that another set of guests had been driving our car whilst we had been there (both white Kia's) - a mix up with the keys being in a communal place for all guests, so just beware if you take a car to make sure no one else drives it!

I would definitely recommend staying here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
An African Villa
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Rosmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Rosmead

Property: Four Rosmead
Address: 4 Rosmead Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Rosmead 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Rosmead has all the characteristics of a boutique style hotel; its location, style, authenticity and our personal service all contribute to re-defining the Cape Town travel experience. Built in 1903, Four Rosmead is a classified monument that has been sensitively and stylishly re-modeled. The result is a Cape contemporary classic with a rich history. Interiors are chic with a subtle, yet distinctive African spirit enhanced by original South African artwork. Accommodation consists of eight bespoke en-suite bedrooms. Some rooms have a fireplace, private garden, balcony or courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Rosmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Rosmead Hotel Cape Town Central
4 Rosmead
Four Rosmead Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing