We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Four Rosmead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Rosmead
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

our travel agent booked this for us and we loved every minute of it. the staff was very personable and accommodating. the room and grounds were gorgeous and clean and the breakfast was incredible. we were able to walk to everything or take a taxi. they go out of their way to make sure every day is great there. would stay there if we ever go to cape town again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    42
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
384
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed at Four Rosmead in May, 2012, and it was perfect for the two of us. We were in the guest house behind the eight-room main building of the Guest House. Our bungalow was built by the owner to be his residence but the main building became so booked up he decided to rent it out. The Guest House sits on the foot of Table Mountain and is a healthy walk or short cab ride from the Company Gardens and the downtown area. Our two room bungalow is modern, well appointed with a sitting room; large bedroom; and private, outside shower in addition to the normal bath with a "rainfall" shower, soaking tub, and heated towel rack. The fireplace in the bedroom is nice, although the staff did have to replace the propane. Breakfast is provided each morning and the tables are pre-arranged for each group staying in the Guest House. There is no lunch or dinner service but the staff offered good suggestions for nearby restaurants. The staff was friendly and explained how to get around Cape Town and made arrangements for anyone who needed them. Vanessa Hensley, at Eyes On Africa, set everything up for us and it worked out very well. Gary van der Merwe took us to Table Mountain, out to the Vinelands, around the penninsula, through Kirstenbosch, and showed us several neighborhoods and sites in Cape Town. What a fountain of knowledge. Gary is a former teacher from Johannesburg who has spent the last 18 years in Cape Town as a photographer and guide.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This was a one night stop only, and should have been more. The location of Four Rosmead is superb, and only fifteen minutes from the Waterfront. The accommodation was really excellent, as was our breakfast. Although there only a short time, we found the staff to be really helpful. As we were heading out to Stellenbosch, the fact that the motorway, the N2, was so near, was a real bonus. We would definitely reccommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandMacscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We arrived very late at night because of flight delays, and were met at the door by a lovely gentleman who helped us park the car and showed us quickly to our room to get some sleep. The room was modern, well appointed, with a private balcony. The bathroom had a large shower and huge bathtub. The guesthouse is not really within walking distance of the waterfront and other sites, but it is in our view a perfect location from which to explore CapeTown. Every member of the staff was helpful in getting us tickets to places like Table Mountain, giving us tips on how and where to avoid crowds, providing clear directions to wherever we wanted to go, making suggestions based on weather forecasts, and calling a taxi whenever we chose not to drive ourselves. The breakfast was fresh and delicious, with made to order selections in addition to the buffet.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albagianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We flew overnight to Cape Town and arrived at Four Rosmead at about 10.00. We received a nice welcome from Simone and were shown to our room straight away. A bonus! After settling in, SImone gave us some very useful tips about where to go and what to do in CT. Her best advice was, as it was a clear bright day, go to Table Mountain straight away. She ordered us a cab and within 2 hours of arriving in SA we were heading up in the revolving cable car to the top. (The next day was cloudy and windy!) Her second piece of of good advice - eat at the Belthazar Restaurant at the V & A Waterfront.

Our room was spotless and had everything you would expect from a top B & B.Although the weather was warm most of the time, it was too cold to use the pool. But it looked a good place to chill out on a hot day. The breakfasts were superb and freshly prepared.

The location is good, quiet and safe. but it is a 15 min cab ride to the Waterfront.Walking in the day is an option, but not to be advised at night when returning. Make sure you check out the nearby Mount Nelson Hotel for tea and take a walk through Company's Gardens to see and see how the other half used to live.(Probably nearer 10% than 50%).

A lovely place to base your self in CT. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Legspinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This nice place was our start in Cape town, it is very central located, close to table mountain and not far from V&A (car distances). The rooms are very modern decorated, the breakfast is nice and well served. The staff is very friendly and advises you on things to do or places to eat.
Perfect place to stay and enjoy Cape town and its surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welletjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire england
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed here in August and found it to be an ideal place to stay in Cape Town. Although it's not in the heart of the city, it really did not matter. We did the two hop-on/ hop-off tours which can be picked up a 6-7 minute walk away (possibly longer on way back after a long day, as it's up hill!) The staff are happy to call a taxi if you need to get anywhere else. We also walked through gardens to visit the market in the city; it's just a bit too far to walk to the Waterfront unless you are feeling energetic. Our room was spacious and clean with everything we needed. Although there was a problem with the heating when we arrived, we were quickly given a heater which solved the problem and kept us cosy. The breakfasts are large and varied, with more than enough to set you up for the day. Our host on arrival could have been more welcoming, a smile would have helped - I thought it was me being 'picky', but my husband thought she was less then warm in her welcome too. However, the following morning we met Jade who more than made up for that and could not have been more helpful with suggestions and bookings. She was then warm and friendly on every other occasion, always asking about our plans and if we had enjoyed our various outings. There are a couple of good places to eat nearby; Nelson's Eye, just down the road, may look nothing from the outside (we were put off until it was recommended by a local), but don't be misled.....the steaks are something else. It may look like a 1970's Bernie Inn inside , but the service and food are brilliant. Try it. We also tried an Italian called Da Vinci's on Kloof St, about a ten minute walk away. Ok, it is a regular sort of place, but the service was excellent, the ostrich burger great and the pizza well above expectation. We just wanted something quick and simple that we didn't have to go miles for and it fitted the bill perfectly. Do not be put off by the fact 4 Rosmead is a little out of town, it is a perfect base and makes a lovely change to large imprersonal hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,391 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 109 in Cape Town Central
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
989 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Rosmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Rosmead

Property: Four Rosmead
Address: 4 Rosmead Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Rosmead 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Rosmead has all the characteristics of a boutique style hotel; its location, style, authenticity and our personal service all contribute to re-defining the Cape Town travel experience. Built in 1903, Four Rosmead is a classified monument that has been sensitively and stylishly re-modeled. The result is a Cape contemporary classic with a rich history. Interiors are chic with a subtle, yet distinctive African spirit enhanced by original South African artwork. Accommodation consists of eight bespoke en-suite bedrooms. Some rooms have a fireplace, private garden, balcony or courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Four Rosmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Rosmead Hotel Cape Town Central
4 Rosmead
Four Rosmead Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing