We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Worthy”
Review of Four Rosmead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Rosmead
Ranked #3 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We stayed for one night at Four Rosmead, and would have very happily moved in. It was absolutely perfect. Immaculate service, a gorgeous cottage complete with outdoor shower and lounge area, and perfect amenities- we all wish our real life was like this!!! Whilst my husband and I sadly only ended our tour with a one night stay here, we would undoubtedly recommend it to everyone we know- I truly cannot imagine how Four Rosmead could be more perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlinLondon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

We started our four weeks self-drive in South Africa in Four Rosmead.
Four Rosmead is an elegant boutique guesthouse in a stylishly re-modeled building from 1903 and is located in a quiet and safe street in Oranjezicht-district.
We find the location excellent because it is only a 5 to 10 minutes walk to Kloof Street (a.k.a. ‘the restaurant mile’) and within walking distance of the city centre (approx. 30 minutes).
It takes about 10 minutes by taxi to Table Mountain.

We arrived late at night, but still were very warm welcomed by a friendly gentleman/concierge who helped us with our lugage and accompanied us to our room.
We stayed 4 nights in a luxury room, called Beaulieu. This room is on the ground floor and has a nice outside sitting area with 2 sun loungers.
The room itself is light and spacious, has a very comfortable bed and all the comfort you need. The modern bathroom has a spacious shower, a washbasin and a toilet.
Room and bathroom were kept spotless.
Every night after turn down service we found a short ‘bedtime story’ and chocolate on our night table.
And the last night of our stay we found a lovely farewell wish on the desk in our room.

The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful; they are always willing to give you advice on things to do, places to eat, make a restaurant reservation, arrange a taxi, etc.
Here they know what customer service is!

The breakfast buffet is nice, with a good variety of fresh fruit and juices. Warm dishes can also be ordered. Depending on the weather, breakfast is served outside.

We really enjoyed every moment of our stay, and if we return to Cape Town we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Rounding off our tour of SA we had 2 nights at Rosemead and it was great. The Boutique style of Hotel is stylish and luxury with very personable and knowledgeable staff. They were full of recommendations and top tips. Its a 10 minute cab ride to the waterfront and 5 minutes to the Table Mountain cable car so very well placed in a nice community area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CITYSAILOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We had a wonderful stay in Four Rosmead in December. The service is exceptionally good, with everyone pleased to help. One night, when we decided to eat a take-away, the staff even volunteered to go to the trouble of laying a table for us by the pool, enabling us to enjoy the meal in comfort.

The guesthouse's location is tranquil and feels very safe. It's a half-hour's walk into town (to Greenmarket Square) through the Company's Gardens. Room facilities are excellent, and we appreciated the complimentary fruit and other little extras. The pool is only small, but the area is very pleasant for a refreshing swim or for just reading on one of the loungers, with the planting making it particularly attractive.

The breakfast buffet is first-class and there's a good range of hot dishes offered too.

Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Beautiful room with views of table mountain, signal hill and downtown cape town! Great staff, really couldn't ask for more. Everyone was so helpful with ensuring we had everything we needed from car rental, taxis, reservations, or even just advice on what to do that day! The house is gorgeous with just 8 rooms, so it is very intimate. A lot of nice touches - such as free dessert wine in the evening when you come back from dinner! The location is great - I definitely recommend checking out the local restaurants as opposed to the touristy stuff near the V&A waterfront.

Room Tip: Our room definitely had the best light and views! Ask for the one on the top floor facing the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Lovely experience all around. Nadine, who manages the place, is amazing. So responsive. Anticipates your needs and is incredibly helpful. Sat down and spent a full hour with me, planning the trip, making reservations, recommendations. She's a dynamo. The hotel is beautifully decorated, tasteful, well-designed. Breakfast was delicious. Couldn't ask for better. Would come back in a heartbeat and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug7501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Four Rosmead was some of the nicest accommodations I have ever experienced. It is small and friendly and in a great position. The staff were very great and met our every need. South Africa are certainly good at service. We just loved being there and did not want to leave. I could not recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We only really saw our room so find it hard to comment on choosing a good room but I would think the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cladich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,423 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,856 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 110 in Cape Town Central
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,075 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,574 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Rosmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Rosmead

Address: 4 Rosmead Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £132 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Rosmead 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Rosmead has all the characteristics of a boutique style hotel; its location, style, authenticity and our personal service all contribute to re-defining the Cape Town travel experience. Built in 1903, Four Rosmead is a classified monument that has been sensitively and stylishly re-modeled. The result is a Cape contemporary classic with a rich history. Interiors are chic with a subtle, yet distinctive African spirit enhanced by original South African artwork. Accommodation consists of eight bespoke en-suite bedrooms. Some rooms have a fireplace, private garden, balcony or courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Rosmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Rosmead Hotel Cape Town Central
4 Rosmead
Four Rosmead Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing