We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a stay”
Review of Four Rosmead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Rosmead
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Herts
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well worth a stay”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Four Rosmead is an excellent choice for any stopover in Cape Town, and is located a 10 minute drive from the main waterfront.

The room was first class and extremely comfortable. All staff were very pleasant & polite with the two young ladies (Jade & Nadine), well drilled in attending to any needs, booking any trips, restaurant tips etc. The surrounding grounds are well kept with a small swimming pool and sun lounging area.

All in all, as the first stopover on our trip, we were put in a relaxed mood from the moment we arrived until the minute we left, and would recommend to any couple.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hertsglobetrotter75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    42
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
386
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Great location and very helpful staff. Made us feel at home and relaxed right from the start of our visit. Agree with other reviewers in so much as quality of rooms and the service is better than you would get in many so called luxury hotels. If we do manage to get back to Cape Town we will definitely try to stay at the Rosmead again.

Room Tip: Worth checking on the availability of rooms before you book. Some have some very good views of Cape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

A lovely presented guest house, nice communal areas, and a tranquil garden to relax in with a cooling off pool. Very peaceful with some lovely views of Table Top Mountain and Signal Hill. Staff are just so helpful giving that personal touch and advice on places to visit and the best way to get there. They were more than happy to arrange taxis and nothing was too much trouble. All the breakfasts we had were really lovely with such a choice of food and any cooked food was presented perfectly. There was an option to eat inside and out as the weather allowed for this, which was great. If you don't like light coming in to your bedroom don't sleep in the back bedroom as there is a round window which does not have a curtain so may wake you up earlier than hoped for. Would recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Not the back room if you want a room without natural light coming in as there is no curtain on one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineSilver10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Everything about this boutique hotel was exquisite, the family, service, facilities, location, accommodation and food. The location was perfect, and they had a secure car park. Only 5 mins walk from the Mount Nelson, and no stay in Capetown is complete without having Afternoon Tea there. We enjoyed walking into town theough the park. Would go back there in a heartbeat. We were made to feel very special, the accommodation was fabulous, spotlessly clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were huge, ours had a roll top bath and fresh candles were placed around the edge every evening. After long days out sightseeing we enjoyed a candlelit bath. The breakfasts were amazing, with so much choice and finest quality. They offered a service whereby you could order dinner from one of the many take-away restaurants in Capetown and have it delivered.
This was a god-send when we were exhausted after a long day exploring, and could not be bothered getting dressed up to go out to dinner. Not only did they accept the delivery, they unwrapped it, warmed it where necessary, poured our wine, and served the food in china dishes on a candlelit table either in the dining room or out on the terrace overlooking the gardens and pool. The experience was as good as being in any top class restaurant. We would order the food then have a long soak in the bath while we waited for it to arrive. We didn't do this every evening but it was good to have the option.
The staff worked hard to make your stay enjoyable and memorable. At the end of our stay, two hand decorated pebbles and miniture bottles of Amarula Cream were left on the bed with a note thanking us for staying and wishing us a safe onward journey. They thought of everything. The pebbles are in our bathroom and I smile when I see them every morning.
We got a fantastic deal on this trip through Africa Travel in London (also office in Capetown) who arranged all our accommodation, car hire and flights. We travel to South Africa most years and can rely on this company putting together the perfect tailor made trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms were equal, all well appointed with balconies and huge bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This was our second visit to Rosmead and we will certainly go back next time we visit Cape Town.
Standard of accommodation and service is better than most luxury hotels and the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. The location is excellent both coming from the airport and visiting all the sights.
Air con, satellite TV, safe, laundry fresh fruit and a complimentary bottle of Fizz, with good toiletries and comfortable beds -- and great breakfasts. Our balcony looked out towards the Lions Head. And if you want dinner brought in they can arrange that to!
For us the nicest thing was the email confirming that there would be a friendly face to welcome us when we arrived at 2 am from our 6 hour delayed flight- and there was!
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We spent 4 night at this lovely B&B. Beautiful views, lovely people and a homely feel. Nadine & Jade made sure we were very well looked after from our restaurant bookings to helping out with the city information the staff at Rosmead was wonderful. The breakfast was the highlight of the day with a new menu on offer each day. We would love to be back again. ~ Vasudha & Aditya Sanghi

Room Tip: The room on the 1st floor overlooking the Table mountain is beautiful. Their courtyard rooms have mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vas76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We were very courteously received and nicely pampered throughout our stay. Convenient location near Mount Nelson Hotel and The Table Mountain and overlooking Cape Town. Beautifully furnished, lovely breakfast and great staff to look after us. We personally also appreciated the well lit premises throughout the night as we had seen other lodges where surrounding lights were poor. We will most certainly return to FourRosmead and recommend it warmly to our friends !

Room Tip: Oraniezicht is a great room with a lovely terrace and a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigiitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,824 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 109 in Cape Town Central
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
642 reviews
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Rosmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Rosmead

Property: Four Rosmead
Address: 4 Rosmead Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Rosmead 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Rosmead has all the characteristics of a boutique style hotel; its location, style, authenticity and our personal service all contribute to re-defining the Cape Town travel experience. Built in 1903, Four Rosmead is a classified monument that has been sensitively and stylishly re-modeled. The result is a Cape contemporary classic with a rich history. Interiors are chic with a subtle, yet distinctive African spirit enhanced by original South African artwork. Accommodation consists of eight bespoke en-suite bedrooms. Some rooms have a fireplace, private garden, balcony or courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Four Rosmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Rosmead
Four Rosmead Hotel Cape Town Central
Four Rosmead Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing