We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been tailormade for us!”
Review of Four Rosmead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Rosmead
Ranked #3 of 108 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could have been tailormade for us!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

With no idea of what to expect in South Africa, the secure perimeters take a little getting used to. Our car dropped us off and to be frank, there isn't much to see from the road that would jump out. A ring of the bell and the door was opened with the warmest of welcomes and friendly conversation. The building instantly opened up. Loads of space, comfortable reception area and tastefully decorated throughout. Our room looked onto Lion's Head over the rear garden and was extremely well appointed with aircon. Staff could not have been more helpful. Breakfast offered a great selection with changing specialities, cooked by a lady with a smile ear to ear, and could be enjoyed indoors or out. Advice on local attractions was freely available as was booking if required. Close enough to the town but far enough out for peace and quiet. Could not have been better!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenHugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    42
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
379
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We had a pleasant stay, thee nights, in this accomodation. Breakfast with a view on Tablemountain, good restaurants within 10 minutes walking distance, private parking, Nice rooms and a good service. The room had a great view at Cape Town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elsje40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Four Rosmead.

Pros:
1. Love the vibe of this place and the decor in the common areas with the fresh flowers that provide wonderful aromas wafting throughout the place. The size of the hotel is just right in providing personalized, homey hospitality and privacy for its guests.

2. Small touches everywhere: help yourself to an after dinner drink of port or sherry with some snacks for tv watching. Nightly turndown so return to your room perfectly set w mood lighting and soft music (not to mention the chocolates and liqueurs. Fresh milk in your mini bar for your in-room coffees and teas. Hot chocolate included in your in-room freebies. Bath salts if you have a room w a tub (wonderful!!!).

3. Housekeeping really does an excellent job in maintaining these rooms! Towels were soft!

4. Breakfasts are fab with a lot of variety and selection. I thought I would never again have muesli as good as the stuff I had at my bush lodge from earlier in this trip and this one gives that a run for its money. Fresh cheeses and array of jams and honey and fruits. Also the made to order breakfasts and they really load you up!! Eggs bacon etc. plus daily specials like corn fritters or eggs Benedict.

5. Location is great for me and my preferences. It's in a quiet residential area that's a easy walk to kloof st and all the restos there. Cabs aren't bad either. Also very walkable to the city sightseeing bus stop at the bottom of the hill. Both red and blue routes stop here so very easy! My brief visit to the va waterfront was enough to make me sure I abs did not want to be staying anywhere down there. Similarly with camps bay for the matter. Again, I really like the location here.

6. Staff are happy to help book and print stuff out and are so quick and efficient. You really don't need to know anything about Cape Town and they will arrange a great trip for you full of activities and recs.

7 if you have a late checkout staff goes out of their way to allow you to stay in your room if possible (even with our midnight flight!!). Otherwise there are shower facilities to use if desired.


Mild cons:
1. What you really miss out on is the stuff like room service at all hours or being able to get dinner easily delivered without a fuss. Not a huge deal but if that's the kind of full service hotel you want, this is not it.

2. A/c was either broken or it just doesn't work very well like we are used to in the states. I am not sure which it is but I mentioned it to the manager at the time and it was not fixed later in the day. It wasn't terribly hot except for one of our four nights so I don't hold a grudge.

3. Wifi not the best signal in the front of the house upstairs where we stayed. Better downstairs. Not a big deal for me.

staff were soooo helpful with booking anything and providing info and suggestions.

Room Tip: Tips: First floor (ie 2nd floor for us North Americans) rooms are the deluxe ones w balcony, views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colettelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Rooms are nice. Morning buffet with special orders great. The staff could not be more helpful. It defines First Class. WiFi throughout and it works. If you don't know the area they can give good advice on how to get around and see the sights.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center but you have to fill in the circle. It is on a hill to walking to it shou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyflyer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Closter, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Orange room had an awesome view of table mountain and the city. Room itself very comfortable. People running the guesthouse were terrific and could not do enough for you. Breakfast was a buffet and cook to order. Again, was excellent.
Was very windy,as it is in Capetown and it hindered sound sleep. Was a good location, but had to walk everywhere. Actually, that was not bad could use the workout.


  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights earlier this month with some friends and we all agreed we couldn't have had a better start to our holiday in South Africa. We arrived early in the morning after a long flight and Sonia couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. We had some ideas of what we wanted to see and do in the city and environs but she managed to give expert advice on the order to do things and had everything booked and sorted for us with the minimum of fuss.

The house is beautiful-chic and stylish but with a definite African feel to the décor. Other reviewers have mentioned the lovely rooms and attention to detail and fantastic breakfasts and we can only concur with what they say. Nothing is too much trouble and Sonia, Jade and Nadine were brilliant managers. All their recommendations were spot on regarding restaurants and sites to visit and timings.

Mt Nelson afternoon tea is definitely a must as is Arnolds restaurant on Kloof St which is not touristy but serves real S African food at a very reasonable price. Cape Point and Chapman's Drive are amazing and the staff will tell you exactly the best places for coffee and lunch en route! Don't miss sunset over Signal Hill and Lion's Head!

All in all it was a very special place and gave us an excellent first impression of the country and Cape Town in particular. We would not hesitate to return to 4 Rosmead if we were ever lucky enough to return to Cape Town. Thanks to all the staff! An awesome place.

Room Tip: We liked Leevenzidit which had great views of Lions Head and Signal Hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedlizNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Four Rosmead was our final destination on our 3 week trip to S Africa. We stayed for 5 nights in a lovely room fronting on to the garden. From the moment we arrived the welcome and service could not be bettered. The staff were amazingly attentive and so obviously wanted guests to see all they could. Each morning they helped us with our plans for the day, discussing routes etc and were at hand to help with restaurant bookings. Breakfasts were superb, served either in the dining room or out on the terrace. The complimentary sherry and port in the evening were a nice touch especially on the cold wet evening we sat by the fire!! We loved the Italian restaurant Baccinis for a simple meal and for the final indulgence the taster menu at the Roundhouse was wonderful!! We would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely hotel and look forward to returning if we visit Cape Town again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
An African Villa
#6 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Rosmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Rosmead

Property: Four Rosmead
Address: 4 Rosmead Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Rosmead 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Rosmead has all the characteristics of a boutique style hotel; its location, style, authenticity and our personal service all contribute to re-defining the Cape Town travel experience. Built in 1903, Four Rosmead is a classified monument that has been sensitively and stylishly re-modeled. The result is a Cape contemporary classic with a rich history. Interiors are chic with a subtle, yet distinctive African spirit enhanced by original South African artwork. Accommodation consists of eight bespoke en-suite bedrooms. Some rooms have a fireplace, private garden, balcony or courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Rosmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Rosmead Hotel Cape Town Central
4 Rosmead
Four Rosmead Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing