We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Experience”
Review of Four Rosmead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Rosmead
Ranked #3 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Staff provided outstanding service. Room was fabulous. Great bathroom, outside shower. Entire hotel's decor very special. Excellent location in private neighborhood. We would defiantly come back again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank upgraded2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have been at Rosmead only for one night on Dec 26th 2013, staff lady has welcomed us very warmly, offering to choose which room we preferred. Rooms are contemporary design, lot of space and light and an amazing view of the Lion's head Mountain. Very nice pool area, the living area decor is contemporary African design. Definitely a place where to come back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at Four Rosemead in the beginning of December for our honeymoon. It was incredible in every way.

We loved that is was a boutique hotel. The staff was so kind and helpful. They helped plan our day, made dinner reservations for us, helped set up tours and made great recommendations based on our interests. The service really was exceptional. The breakfasts were also fantastic. They menu was different every day and all the ingredients were fresh.

Our room was large and well appointed. The staff made sure to make our stay special because of our honeymoon, but they also recognized my birthday with a small gift!

In terms of location, it's off the beaten tourist path, but this is a good thing. Cape Town is easily navigable, and you don't need to be on top of everything. We loved being in a quiet neighborhood that was in walking distance to the fun Kloof Street.

We'd highly recommend Rosemead!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on the first leg of our honeymoon dec 2013. The hotel is lovely and rooms well appointed as you'd expect. What made the difference was the staff. They helped us organise everything in Cape Town from table mountain tickets, township tours to dinner reservations. All were excellent and we loved our stay. The area of kilo of street is a short walk and we felt very safe, walking home at night from local bars etc.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andymac222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

With no idea of what to expect in South Africa, the secure perimeters take a little getting used to. Our car dropped us off and to be frank, there isn't much to see from the road that would jump out. A ring of the bell and the door was opened with the warmest of welcomes and friendly conversation. The building instantly opened up. Loads of space, comfortable reception area and tastefully decorated throughout. Our room looked onto Lion's Head over the rear garden and was extremely well appointed with aircon. Staff could not have been more helpful. Breakfast offered a great selection with changing specialities, cooked by a lady with a smile ear to ear, and could be enjoyed indoors or out. Advice on local attractions was freely available as was booking if required. Close enough to the town but far enough out for peace and quiet. Could not have been better!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorenHugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We had a pleasant stay, thee nights, in this accomodation. Breakfast with a view on Tablemountain, good restaurants within 10 minutes walking distance, private parking, Nice rooms and a good service. The room had a great view at Cape Town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elsje40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Four Rosmead.

Pros:
1. Love the vibe of this place and the decor in the common areas with the fresh flowers that provide wonderful aromas wafting throughout the place. The size of the hotel is just right in providing personalized, homey hospitality and privacy for its guests.

2. Small touches everywhere: help yourself to an after dinner drink of port or sherry with some snacks for tv watching. Nightly turndown so return to your room perfectly set w mood lighting and soft music (not to mention the chocolates and liqueurs. Fresh milk in your mini bar for your in-room coffees and teas. Hot chocolate included in your in-room freebies. Bath salts if you have a room w a tub (wonderful!!!).

3. Housekeeping really does an excellent job in maintaining these rooms! Towels were soft!

4. Breakfasts are fab with a lot of variety and selection. I thought I would never again have muesli as good as the stuff I had at my bush lodge from earlier in this trip and this one gives that a run for its money. Fresh cheeses and array of jams and honey and fruits. Also the made to order breakfasts and they really load you up!! Eggs bacon etc. plus daily specials like corn fritters or eggs Benedict.

5. Location is great for me and my preferences. It's in a quiet residential area that's a easy walk to kloof st and all the restos there. Cabs aren't bad either. Also very walkable to the city sightseeing bus stop at the bottom of the hill. Both red and blue routes stop here so very easy! My brief visit to the va waterfront was enough to make me sure I abs did not want to be staying anywhere down there. Similarly with camps bay for the matter. Again, I really like the location here.

6. Staff are happy to help book and print stuff out and are so quick and efficient. You really don't need to know anything about Cape Town and they will arrange a great trip for you full of activities and recs.

7 if you have a late checkout staff goes out of their way to allow you to stay in your room if possible (even with our midnight flight!!). Otherwise there are shower facilities to use if desired.


Mild cons:
1. What you really miss out on is the stuff like room service at all hours or being able to get dinner easily delivered without a fuss. Not a huge deal but if that's the kind of full service hotel you want, this is not it.

2. A/c was either broken or it just doesn't work very well like we are used to in the states. I am not sure which it is but I mentioned it to the manager at the time and it was not fixed later in the day. It wasn't terribly hot except for one of our four nights so I don't hold a grudge.

3. Wifi not the best signal in the front of the house upstairs where we stayed. Better downstairs. Not a big deal for me.

staff were soooo helpful with booking anything and providing info and suggestions.

Room Tip: Tips: First floor (ie 2nd floor for us North Americans) rooms are the deluxe ones w balcony, views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colettelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,422 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,856 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 110 in Cape Town Central
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,073 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,572 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Rosmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Rosmead

Address: 4 Rosmead Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £132 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Rosmead 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Rosmead has all the characteristics of a boutique style hotel; its location, style, authenticity and our personal service all contribute to re-defining the Cape Town travel experience. Built in 1903, Four Rosmead is a classified monument that has been sensitively and stylishly re-modeled. The result is a Cape contemporary classic with a rich history. Interiors are chic with a subtle, yet distinctive African spirit enhanced by original South African artwork. Accommodation consists of eight bespoke en-suite bedrooms. Some rooms have a fireplace, private garden, balcony or courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Rosmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Rosmead Hotel Cape Town Central
4 Rosmead
Four Rosmead Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing