We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chic boutique B&B”
Review of Four Rosmead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Rosmead
Ranked #3 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

we stayed in this hotel on the first part of our SA holiday, the décor is very chic and the breakfasts were excellent a different "special" every day. Staff were very helpful in recommending restaurants etc. The only thing I could criticise is that our room had the wash basin on the other side of the room to the toilet!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrTedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Our second visit to this wonderful boutique hotel and it was just perfect. Loved the atmoshere and the helpfulness our all the team that helped make our stay such a pleasure. Already planning our return trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Terence & Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Small boutique hotel in the shadow of Table Mountain. Lovely building and great staff - nothing is too much trouble. Stayed 4 nights and really can't fault it. They don't cook evening meals on sight but are more than happy to sort out a restaurant and taxi or to get something in via a delivery service and lay up a table for you. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bluehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Despite only staying here one night, we were offered the chance to use the hotel's facilities the next day while waiting for our late night flight. Our room was straight from an interior design dream and the surroundings so hip and cool it almost hurt. Probably the best hotel we've stayed at, certainly in Africa and maybe anywhere.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewJamesBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had a great stay in Cape Town, made all the more enjoyable by having a fantastic base a stone's throw from Kloof Street. We kick-started every day with a hearty breakfast, and the attentive service of Jade, Sonja and Nadine who are always on hand to help with lots of friendly tips.
The ambience is calm and relaxing, and I became very fond of the verandah overlooking the courtyard and (small) pool. Our room also had great light, with both a city and a mountain view.
My only criticism is that when the notorious Cape Town wind was whirling the room was very noisy, which made it hard to sleep. Saying that, it wouldn't put us off returning. I'm pretty confident that we'll be back as Four Rosmead won a fond place in our hearts.

Room Tip: Splash out on one of the two rooms overlooking the courtyard/pool out the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We had the opportunity to stay at Four Rosmead in October 2013. Nadine was gracious and accommodating and truly made our stay comfortable and enjoyable. She attended to all of our questions made arrangements for dinners, visiting Table Mountain, as well as directions and advice for numerous other locations. The property is stylish and welcoming, with several areas for lounging, both indoors and outdoors - somewhere I would love to call home. The location was ideal for our interests, although some may find issues with the steep hills for walking (we did a lot of walking and had no problems). Parking is a bonus. Although we attempted to make use of the beach bag and frisbee, the winds were too strong, but a great touch in the room. I also loved the rooibos toiletries and only wish I could get my hands on them at home! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here in February 14, the hotel is delightful, the rooms were elegant and the facilities excellent. The pool is very refreshing and the staff very helpful. I would strongly recommend this hotel, although not close to down town, its a short taxi ride to the V&A.

Room Tip: Try for a view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank premiercrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,421 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,854 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 110 in Cape Town Central
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,072 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,572 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Rosmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Rosmead

Address: 4 Rosmead Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £132 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Rosmead 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Rosmead has all the characteristics of a boutique style hotel; its location, style, authenticity and our personal service all contribute to re-defining the Cape Town travel experience. Built in 1903, Four Rosmead is a classified monument that has been sensitively and stylishly re-modeled. The result is a Cape contemporary classic with a rich history. Interiors are chic with a subtle, yet distinctive African spirit enhanced by original South African artwork. Accommodation consists of eight bespoke en-suite bedrooms. Some rooms have a fireplace, private garden, balcony or courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Rosmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Rosmead Hotel Cape Town Central
4 Rosmead
Four Rosmead Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing