We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great boutique hotel in Cape Town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Four Rosmead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Rosmead
Ranked #4 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel in Cape Town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in March 14 in a deluxe room. Staff very welcoming. Lovely airy, spacious room with large bathroom. Delicious breakfast on terrace but no restaurant. There is a small pool which is solar heated (cold) and salt water. The hotel is quite near the cable car station for Table Mountain but 40 minutes by foot to the waterfront, although this is a very pleasant walk through historical part of town. Rooms have internet connection with tea and coffee making facilities. View from room stunning with view of stable Mountain. Quiet apart form minor road noise. Slept well each night. Car parking for 6 cars. Never had any problem parking. Thoroughly recommend and would defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    42
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
375
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Thank you to the staff for a wonderful stay as part of our honeymoon. It is a lovely boutique guesthouse, clean, in a nice neighbourhood and the staff were all extremely helpful and friendly.

We spent 2 days on the open top bus - there are two routes it takes you on showing you different parts of the city and surrounding areas - and one of the stops was just at the end of the road. However this guesthouse is not in the 'thick' of it and is a taxi ride away (if you aren't taking the tourist bus) from most restaurants and the main attractions. Taxis are very cheap but we did experience the odd one trying to pull a bit of a 'fast one' on us as tourists but you get this everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ginac2182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is a perfect B and B. Great bedroom and bathroom, lovely grounds and a spacious airy lounge. Excellent breakfasts on a sunny terrace. Very welcoming owners. Not the easiest place to find without a sat nav but very convenient for city centre, Table Mountain and Camps Bay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ocho_Pinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

An absolutely beautiful boutique hotel! Four Rosmead really has everything to offer… our room was large with high ceilings, decorated with modern, luxurious furniture and décor and boasting an exquisite view over the city of Cape Town. The bathroom was very large, with a huge bathtub and heavenly bath products on offer. The room also had a balcony where we sat enjoying a bottle of wine and lazing in the afternoon sun. We didn’t make it down to the swimming pool but ate our breakfast there the next morning, if we’d stayed for longer we would definitely have made more use of the lovely outside area. This hotel is really about the finishing touches. Every effort has been made to make your stay wonderful, from the thoughtful ‘thoughts for the day’ delivered with room service to the complimentary nightcap delivered in the evening, as a guest you are left feeling spoilt. There is beautiful artwork displayed throughout the hotel that is on sale for the guests, inspiring a fashionable and chic feel to the interior. I would strongly recommend Four Rosmead as a boutique hotel of choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FenNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Could not fault Four Rosemead the place , location , staff , room and food was excellent. The advice on trips was good and the staff went out of there way to help us. Use the Hop on and Hop off bus to see Cape Town and surrounding area easily. A must is to Go Shark gage diving with the Great Whites! Eat at the Neslons Eye 5 minutes away for a Great Steak and a beer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anthony & Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

we stayed in this hotel on the first part of our SA holiday, the décor is very chic and the breakfasts were excellent a different "special" every day. Staff were very helpful in recommending restaurants etc. The only thing I could criticise is that our room had the wash basin on the other side of the room to the toilet!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrTedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Our second visit to this wonderful boutique hotel and it was just perfect. Loved the atmoshere and the helpfulness our all the team that helped make our stay such a pleasure. Already planning our return trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Terence & Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Rosmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Rosmead

Property: Four Rosmead
Address: 4 Rosmead Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Rosmead 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Rosmead has all the characteristics of a boutique style hotel; its location, style, authenticity and our personal service all contribute to re-defining the Cape Town travel experience. Built in 1903, Four Rosmead is a classified monument that has been sensitively and stylishly re-modeled. The result is a Cape contemporary classic with a rich history. Interiors are chic with a subtle, yet distinctive African spirit enhanced by original South African artwork. Accommodation consists of eight bespoke en-suite bedrooms. Some rooms have a fireplace, private garden, balcony or courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Rosmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Rosmead Hotel Cape Town Central
4 Rosmead
Four Rosmead Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing