We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't hesitate, just book this one”
Review of Four Rosmead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Rosmead
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate, just book this one”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

What a stunning boutique B&B. Service superb, rooms large and modern. Spotless. Breakfast amazing. Would not stop anywhere else in Cape Town now that we've discovered this place, in fact we are planning on returning this year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecofriendly100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    42
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
391
17
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I recently (25/04/14) stayed at Four Rosmead for 3 nights as part of a 10 night trip to SA. We were originally going to stay at one of the 5 star hotels on the V&A Waterfront, but then spotted this guest house, asked a couple of travel agents about it and read some earlier Trip Advisor reviews and decided to give it a try.

From the moment we first started contacting the guest house we felt re-assured as they were very friendly and helpful.

We arrived and were greeted by Nadine who again was very helpful and arranged / booked tickets for the trip up Table Mountain within the first hour as the weather was beautiful.

The view from the room and particularly our patio was better than described, looking straight across to the mountain. The room itself was spotless, decorated to a very high standard and very spacious. As a small point but very important when you want to relax in your room at the end of the day, the fridge / mini bar contained lovely wine and bottles of beer at pretty much “shop” prices. Unheard of in most places!

It is located in a very nice area where we felt very safe and indeed did a 2 mile walk on two of the mornings via Company Gardens (beautiful area) to the centre of town and on to the waterfront.

However, whilst the guest house itself was lovely, especially breakfast on the dining room patio overlooking the pool and gardens or on the patio of the room looking at Table Mountain, it was the staff who really made it so good.

Nadine and Sonia who ran the place were both superb. Very friendly, helpful and informative.

Also the ladies who prepared / served breakfast and judging by the condition of the whole house, the cleaning staff, were also excellent. One omelette in particular was as nice as any we have had anywhere.

We would definitely stay there again if we return to Cape Town and would highly recommend it as a much cheaper but better alternative to the luxury hotels in the city.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms on the first floor and it had a patio / doors which looked stra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Loved this boutique B&B so much! Everything was perfect. Great food (breakfast was sublime. An amazing spread each morning with specials too. The smoked salmon and cream cheese omelette was fantastic!). The manager, Jade, was super organised and very helpful. My friend and I were rather disorganised and would have had a few disasters it it wasn't for her calling tour companies and re-scheduling, rebooking car hire for us, taxis...etc. she really was fantastic and works so hard. The rooms were wonderful too with lovely hot showers and little touches like chocolates on the pillows and delicious body lotions and shampoos. We had three nights here and could easily have stayed far more. Excellent location but with such a beautiful B&B it is a struggle to go out anywhere at all! Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodthickskirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Fantastic location, clean, tidy and very helpful staff. We would certainly stay again when in Cape Town. Breakfast was lovely although perhaps a little more choice would turn this from an excellent hotel into and outstanding one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our stay at Four Rosmead was very comfortable with very helpful and efficient staff who organised trips and gave and gave very helpful advice.Hotel situation has views of Table Mountain and is within easy reach of town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A fantastic boutique hotel in a beautiful colonial setting. The decor of the hotel is modern & extremely well designed. Breakfast is to die for & you can take this each morning on the balcony overlooking the garden & the pool. The attention to detail & service is second to none. Rooms are fab with loads of space & large walk in showers - thoroughly great start to our hols.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank craig_x_read
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We enjoyed staying at Four Rosmead. The hotel was really comfortable, the attention to detail was very good and staff were tireless in helping guests get the most out of their stay in Cape Town. The salt water swimming pool was bliss after a hot day in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SheilaLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,406 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 109 in Cape Town Central
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,032 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
646 reviews
An African Villa
#8 of 109 in Cape Town Central
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Rosmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Rosmead

Property: Four Rosmead
Address: 4 Rosmead Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Rosmead 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Rosmead has all the characteristics of a boutique style hotel; its location, style, authenticity and our personal service all contribute to re-defining the Cape Town travel experience. Built in 1903, Four Rosmead is a classified monument that has been sensitively and stylishly re-modeled. The result is a Cape contemporary classic with a rich history. Interiors are chic with a subtle, yet distinctive African spirit enhanced by original South African artwork. Accommodation consists of eight bespoke en-suite bedrooms. Some rooms have a fireplace, private garden, balcony or courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Four Rosmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Rosmead
Four Rosmead Hotel Cape Town Central
Four Rosmead Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing