We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cape Town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Rosmead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Four Rosmead
Ranked #4 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Very helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. The location seemed a little off the beaten path but it worked out OK given that we weren't really familiar with the city and didn't know where we should be staying anyway. Only two minor issues - carpet seemed a little dingy in one of our rooms and the person who checked us in was overly thorough...way too many instructions on how to work everything, light switches, remotes, water, etc. I think I can figure those out but he was just trying to be helpful. But it was late, and we were tired.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank COtraveler5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    42
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
370
15
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at Four Rosmead for 4 nights following our safari vacation. This hotel is just wonderful - so quite, peaceful and just a quick cab right to either the Waterfront or Camp's Bay ($8-10 each way). The staff is amazing - they were so helpful checking in with us each morning to see how our evenings went and to make sure we had good plans for the day. They made great recommendations as to where to go for the day, making reservations for dinner and explaining how to get around - all of which made our trip very easy! They also gave us some nice welcome gifts to celebrate our honeymoon which we appreciated.
The room and house itself is very nice too. Beautiful house in a nice neighborhood, with very clean, nicely furnished rooms, including a small balcony. I loved their attention to details with little stories and quotes left all around the room. The breakfast each day was delicious too! The day we were leaving our flight was departing late in the evening; since no new guests were arriving that day, the hotel let us keep our room until we left for the airport which was so helpful. To be honest, I was initially hesitant about staying in a neighborhood rather than the popular Waterfront area and Four Rosmead just blew me away. It was a perfect ending to our trip!

Room Tip: Loved our room - it had city and mountain views with a small balcony area. The hotel gives names for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicago4552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

What a really wonderful guest house. We have just returned from our second lovely stay in the last 6 weeks at Four Rosmead. We had stayed here previously about 5 years ago and it is still just perfect! Wonderful rooms, beautifully decorated, impeccable and friendly service and ideal location. Very nice common areas too - lovely outside areas for the summer and log fires in the lounge for the winter. The staff are warm, friendly and so professional - nothing is too much trouble. Do not hesitate for a second - book to stay here! Thanks to Nadine and the rest of the team at 4 Rosmead for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Leeuwenvoet is a wonderfully sunny room - fabulous double aspect views of the city and Lions Head an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTGBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This outstanding property is enhanced by the friendly, polite and helpful staff. We stayed for four nights and will return if ever back in Cape Town. Our plane arrived very early and our room was not yet vacated, but we were offered full breakfast, storage of our luggage and a bathroom to shower in and a change room. Taxis and restaurants were booked on our behalf. Take away of our choosing, was ordered and served beautifully in the dining room, even though there was just the two of us eating. Our wedding anniversary was celebrated with a delightful note and gift of chocolates in our room. Our room and bathroom was of the highest quality and we loved the three windows with spectacular views. Choose Four Rosmead and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 255093Diane_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

What a stunning boutique B&B. Service superb, rooms large and modern. Spotless. Breakfast amazing. Would not stop anywhere else in Cape Town now that we've discovered this place, in fact we are planning on returning this year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ecofriendly100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I recently (25/04/14) stayed at Four Rosmead for 3 nights as part of a 10 night trip to SA. We were originally going to stay at one of the 5 star hotels on the V&A Waterfront, but then spotted this guest house, asked a couple of travel agents about it and read some earlier Trip Advisor reviews and decided to give it a try.

From the moment we first started contacting the guest house we felt re-assured as they were very friendly and helpful.

We arrived and were greeted by Nadine who again was very helpful and arranged / booked tickets for the trip up Table Mountain within the first hour as the weather was beautiful.

The view from the room and particularly our patio was better than described, looking straight across to the mountain. The room itself was spotless, decorated to a very high standard and very spacious. As a small point but very important when you want to relax in your room at the end of the day, the fridge / mini bar contained lovely wine and bottles of beer at pretty much “shop” prices. Unheard of in most places!

It is located in a very nice area where we felt very safe and indeed did a 2 mile walk on two of the mornings via Company Gardens (beautiful area) to the centre of town and on to the waterfront.

However, whilst the guest house itself was lovely, especially breakfast on the dining room patio overlooking the pool and gardens or on the patio of the room looking at Table Mountain, it was the staff who really made it so good.

Nadine and Sonia who ran the place were both superb. Very friendly, helpful and informative.

Also the ladies who prepared / served breakfast and judging by the condition of the whole house, the cleaning staff, were also excellent. One omelette in particular was as nice as any we have had anywhere.

We would definitely stay there again if we return to Cape Town and would highly recommend it as a much cheaper but better alternative to the luxury hotels in the city.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms on the first floor and it had a patio / doors which looked stra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AntEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
98 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Loved this boutique B&B so much! Everything was perfect. Great food (breakfast was sublime. An amazing spread each morning with specials too. The smoked salmon and cream cheese omelette was fantastic!). The manager, Jade, was super organised and very helpful. My friend and I were rather disorganised and would have had a few disasters it it wasn't for her calling tour companies and re-scheduling, rebooking car hire for us, taxis...etc. she really was fantastic and works so hard. The rooms were wonderful too with lovely hot showers and little touches like chocolates on the pillows and delicious body lotions and shampoos. We had three nights here and could easily have stayed far more. Excellent location but with such a beautiful B&B it is a struggle to go out anywhere at all! Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodthickskirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
An African Villa
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Rosmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Rosmead

Property: Four Rosmead
Address: 4 Rosmead Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Rosmead 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Rosmead has all the characteristics of a boutique style hotel; its location, style, authenticity and our personal service all contribute to re-defining the Cape Town travel experience. Built in 1903, Four Rosmead is a classified monument that has been sensitively and stylishly re-modeled. The result is a Cape contemporary classic with a rich history. Interiors are chic with a subtle, yet distinctive African spirit enhanced by original South African artwork. Accommodation consists of eight bespoke en-suite bedrooms. Some rooms have a fireplace, private garden, balcony or courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Four Rosmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Rosmead Hotel Cape Town Central
4 Rosmead
Four Rosmead Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing