We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd stay at Four Rosmead”
Review of Four Rosmead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Rosmead
Ranked #3 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is our 3rd stay at Four Rosmead, and it is still an excellent place to stay! Only one comment, more variety at breakfast would be appreciated. Thanks to the staff and Nadine in particular! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 940manu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon. We walked into our room and promptly found a bottle of wine and a personal note congratulating us. The room was beautiful - high ceilings and a beautiful view. The staff was helpful and accommodating of our food allergies. We were provided with a comprehensive collection of local trivia explaining the surrounding area. We were so pleased with our stay at Four Rosmead and were quite sad to leave! We highly recommend this hotel for those traveling to the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

4 nights in Cape Town allowed us to spend time at this outstanding boutique hotel - just 8 rooms, so our group of 5 consumed 3 of the rooms and we felt like it was 'home'.
Jade & Sonia took great care of us both as hostess/managers of the property, and in arranging our 3 days of site-seeing around the region. Helped us select great restaurants, and venture to wine country and the cape. Alas, the weather kept us from really seeing the top of nearby Table mountain.
Rooms here were exceptionally spacious, baths included tub & shower (at least ours did), and the daily full breakfast was delightful.
Highly recommend to any couple or group looking for a restful, quiet neighborhood hotel not far from Kloof Street and easy access to downtown as well as Table Mountain

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tom & Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Four Rosmead is a charming, small hotel where you are welcomed and cosseted. Rooms are lovely, breakfasts are delicious, great location, staff is fabulous and helpful. A reason to come to Capetown. Yay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank drivingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Jade and the staff helped us with every part of our 4 day stay in Cape Town. Great Breakfast, plush room. Booked through Eyes on Africa and Wilderness Safaris. Great place to unwind after 9 days of the bush. Jim & Jeannie, Overland Park, Kansas

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JandJFKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We started out our South African honeymoon in Cape Town. We arrived around noon and were prepared for us. Sonja and Jade were very attentive and helped plan our "free" days. Breakfast was delicious and we liked how the menu changed daily. This place is not in the center of the city, which we thought we would miss, but it is located in one of the safest areas; so it was well worth the $8 cab ride to the waterfront.

This place is personal, without being overbearing, private and clean. Great place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Very helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. The location seemed a little off the beaten path but it worked out OK given that we weren't really familiar with the city and didn't know where we should be staying anyway. Only two minor issues - carpet seemed a little dingy in one of our rooms and the person who checked us in was overly thorough...way too many instructions on how to work everything, light switches, remotes, water, etc. I think I can figure those out but he was just trying to be helpful. But it was late, and we were tired.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank COtraveler5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,441 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 110 in Cape Town Central
463 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,106 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,815 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Rosmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Rosmead

Address: 4 Rosmead Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £126 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Rosmead 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Rosmead has all the characteristics of a boutique style hotel; its location, style, authenticity and our personal service all contribute to re-defining the Cape Town travel experience. Built in 1903, Four Rosmead is a classified monument that has been sensitively and stylishly re-modeled. The result is a Cape contemporary classic with a rich history. Interiors are chic with a subtle, yet distinctive African spirit enhanced by original South African artwork. Accommodation consists of eight bespoke en-suite bedrooms. Some rooms have a fireplace, private garden, balcony or courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Four Rosmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Rosmead
Four Rosmead Hotel Cape Town Central
Four Rosmead Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing