We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing was too much trouble”
Review of Four Rosmead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Rosmead
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nothing was too much trouble”
Reviewed 4 December 2009

This boutique hotel was just perfect. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and attention to detail was just perfect. Set in a lovely area of Cape Town, this small, friendly hotel was the perfect base for the holiday. The staff were warm, friendly and very informative. The accommodation was lovely and the breakfasts just perfect. I would recommend this to couples.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly_S_Bolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    42
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
391
17
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

It sometimes seems superfluous to add another glowing review to a hotel that so clearly excels, but the lovely people at Four Rosmead were so very helpful that I have to add my note of thanks.
I think that South Africans are the most hospitable people in the world and so justly proud of their country. The Four Rosmead team was not only welcoming and kind, but made the extra effort to assure that guests were sorted out with plans for their day's activities. Instead of waiting to be asked to arrange a car or a meal, they spent time each day determining how to assist guests in having a flawless visit. When I suddenly needed to arrange for shipping a heavy package, they graciously handled it and the goods arrived safely some weeks later.
The location is great and the views from the guest rooms are stunning - Lion's Head, Table Mountain. Breakfasts are super; interior design and gardens are lovely and relaxing.
Choose Four Rosmead next time you visit Cape Town!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SATravellerMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

I cant really think of anything negative to say about this hotel.
Location - It seemed to be in a perfect place at the foot of the slopes up to Table Mountain, in a quiet suburb of Cape Town so nice and central for getting about (use a taxi)
Room/Hotel - Clean, Modern, Fresh, Air Conditioned, Comfy - what else do you want?
Staff - Nothing is too much trouble. They will help you plan your days and nights to make the most out of your time in Cape Town.

Thanks

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

When we arrived in Cape Town, exhausted after a long flight it was lovely to be reassured that we were in capable hands! Nadine and the rest of the staff at Four Rosmead were so friendly and couldn’t do enough to help us. Our room was very clean and stylish and had wonderful views of Lions Head. They helped us organise day trips, book restaurants and taxis and generally made our stay in Cape Town very memorable. I will never forget Four Rosmead as it was where we got engaged and the kind words from the staff made it even more special.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

We stayed here for five nights at the start of our trip in Sept 2009.
As a base for exploring Cape Town and the surrounding area it was first class. The accomodation was excellent as was the breakfasts. The staff were very helpful and informative.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank red015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2009

We stayed at the Rosmead on the last leg of our trip to South Africa. This stylish boutique hotel is perfectly located with great views over Cape Town. The rooms were beautifully decorated and spacious. We booked with Audley Travel and their description of the service and location was spot on.

Nadine and Jade the service managers were welcoming and friendly and the service they provided was outstanding. We felt relaxed and at home. Their advice for restaurants and tours was perfect. We were even directed to an amazing diamond jeweller that enabled us to purchase two beautiful rings at an extraordinary price (Prins and Prins).

Breakfast was lovely served by efficient and friendly staff. Although no restaurant we were able to order in and eat in the dining room.

The little touches in our room were personal and welcomed.

After checking out and with time to spare we had a nice room to shower and get changed.

Would thoroughly recommend Four Rosmead and would definitely stay there if returning to Cape Town.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinkerbelle61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We stayed in Cape Town for the first two days of our hoeymoon and we were recommended to Four Rosmead by the South African Travel Agent we booked our entire trip with.
What a treat!
We arrived at 8.30 am, normally in chain hotels this would mean paying for an extra night to access our room, however, not at Four Rosmead. We were shown into our beautiful high ceilinged room which had a balcony overlooking Table Mountain. The bathroom was large and had a huge walk in shower.
All the artwork on display is by local artists and is for sale.
The various girls that were duty managers were both friendly and extremely helpful. They recommended restaurants, booked various tours and sorted out taxis for us without any problem.
We definetely hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotte32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,404 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 109 in Cape Town Central
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,028 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
645 reviews
An African Villa
#8 of 109 in Cape Town Central
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Rosmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Rosmead

Property: Four Rosmead
Address: 4 Rosmead Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Rosmead 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Rosmead has all the characteristics of a boutique style hotel; its location, style, authenticity and our personal service all contribute to re-defining the Cape Town travel experience. Built in 1903, Four Rosmead is a classified monument that has been sensitively and stylishly re-modeled. The result is a Cape contemporary classic with a rich history. Interiors are chic with a subtle, yet distinctive African spirit enhanced by original South African artwork. Accommodation consists of eight bespoke en-suite bedrooms. Some rooms have a fireplace, private garden, balcony or courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Four Rosmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Rosmead
Four Rosmead Hotel Cape Town Central
Four Rosmead Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing