We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome place with 1st class service”
Review of Four Rosmead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Rosmead
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An awesome place with 1st class service”
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We stayed at Four Rosmead having read all the trip advisor reviews, we thought that on this basis we could not have gone wrong as everyone recommended the place. Well they were right it was simply one of the best places we have ever stayed, not one thing was overlooked, the staff (Jade, Natallie and Nadine) were fantastic. jade took care of our every need, booked restaurants, recommended restaurants, organised our guided tour and sorted out all our taxi's. The rooms are superb, the breakfasts are excellent and the place is incredibly peaceful. It's location is ideal at the foot of Table Mountain, equal distance to Camps Bay and the V&A waterfront in a taxi. We are lucky to have travelled quite a bit, and if big 5 Star hotels with lots of rooms and multiple swimming pools are your thing this is not for you, however if you like boutique hotels in a perfect location with attentive service, book Four Rosmead next time you visit Cape Town - We certainly will be going back!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Citybreaktraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    42
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
391
17
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

This is a lovely guesthouse with extremely friendly and knowledgable staff. Upon arrival we were provided with drinks and shown around the property. We were then given a brief run down on activities to do in Cape Town and offered any help we needed with bookings, directions, restaurants etc.
The guesthouse itself is very tastefully decorated. The rooms are large, modern, well furnished and equipped with everything you need for your stay. There is a nice communal area with plenty of seating and an honesty bar should you require anything to drink. The pool area itself is compact, but is really a bonus area given the fact that you clearly wouldn't stay here if you wanted a relaxing by the pool type holiday!
The girls that run the guesthouse are all extremely helpful and nothing is too much hassle for them. They make your stay a very personal experience from when you wake up in the morning all the way through to the stories placed on your pillow in the turndown service. All other staff are very attentive too and the level of service given is very humbling. The breakfasts are lovely with a good quality selection and a daily special on the menu.
The guesthouse is only a short walk from the top of Kloof Street and a short drive from Table Mountain. It is a very good walk to the Waterfront though and I would suggest driving there instead. There is onsite secure parking however there are not always enough spaces for the number of cars therefore you need to leave your car keys with the staff in case they need to move cars around whilst you are out - this wasn't a problem whilst we were visiting.
The only negatives I can think of have already been mentioned here. They are the WIFI access. Given the prices for staying here I cannot understand why they give you a very small amount of free access and then charge you for additional amounts of usage. You do this by purchasing cards with passwords on etc. Everywhere else we stayed at in South Africa provided free usage. The only other thing is regularly advertising that you can buy the artwork and finishings from within the guesthouse. You are even given a pricelist in your room. On our last night we were given a leaving drink (which was a lovely gesture) and a little note thanking us for visiting. If it had finished there then great, but added to the bottom of the note was a sentence asking that if we wanted to buy the tray the drinks came on it would cost.............? I know this sounds picky but little things can annoy you on holiday occasionally!
Overall this is a great place to stay and I would recommend it to absolutely anyone

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keeno9712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Beautiful old property lovingly restored.

Wonderful staff- no request is too much trouble. It puts many UK qualikty hotels to shame.

Delightfully furnished rooms and well appointed bathrooms, with real attention to the smallest detail.

Breakfasts are delicious and there is a light, tasty lunch menu should you require it.

As honeymooners we were warmly greeted with fruit and champagne and made to feel very at home whilst they completed our check in paperwork- well worth a visit

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

After getting very lost travelling from the airport to Four Rosmead we were absolutely delighted to arrive at this gem of a guesthouse. We were immediately greated by staff with two cold beers to de-frazzel us, and were then shown to an absolutely stunning suite, modern but cosy with gas fire a real winner.
Breakasts here were perfection. The staff couldn't do enough to help us organise our day and despite great day trips out, we were always excited to return to our suite.
I cant say what the other rooms were like although i'm sure they are all lovely. But the suite really was special.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Four Rosmead was an excellent boutique hotel close to Kloof Street, close to Table Mountain and a 30 min walk from the waterfront (an excellent base for a Cape Town city break) . The rooms and communal areas were very tastefully furnished, which created a very relaxing atmosphere. The staff were excellent helping us prior to arrival with restaurant bookings and during our stay booking taxis and a great restaurant choice for the last night of our stay. Breakfast had a good choice and was of an excellent standard. Whilst there we visited La Colombe, which is highly reccommended (you should go if you get a chance) and the Codfather in Camps Bay (suggested by the hotel) which offers a great choice of fresh fish and a buzzing atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonDinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I stayed here with my partner in one of the upstairs rooms for 7 nights. The entire hotel is well planned and laid out. It makes you feel at home quick. All staff are friendly, approachable, a delight to talk to and gain information from about the area. A special thank you to Jade, Nadine and Natalie who went above and beyond what I would expect from any on duty manager to ensure that our stay was as hassle free and enjoyable as possible.

I seriously can not fault a single part of the time we spent there. the safety of the hotel, the artwork, the ambience of the lounge, breakfasts (the specials every day are really worth trying) were all exemplary.

Detail is important to the hotel and this is clearly evident. The special message cards that you will find with subtle messages of empowerment to the beautiful array of flowers in the rooms are all what makes this hotel a unique boutique experience.

We took advantage of many of the recommendations from the staff and they love to hear about your experiences to help inform future visitors.

We both left here intending to return again to a place is a pleasure to be a part of.

Could I just add that whilst the internet is a 20mb voucher, purchasing from the isp provider direct is extremely cheap. A 1000 credits costs no more than R100 (which is only 10 UK pounds) and was enough for quick access to email and web pages for the week.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavier-Irwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

While the property is very nice and has cozy yet well appointed rooms, it's the staff here that really makes the place unique. Everyone here was just so warm and friendly and did everything they could to make us feel welcome and comfortable in Cape Town. We arrived without an itinerary or agenda of what to do, and they gave us some great suggestions without trying to do an active upsell of tour packages. One day they arranged to have an off-duty white taxi driver take us on an all-day Cape Peninsula tour at about half the price of what all their tour brochures stated! They also gave us great tips regarding restaurants, tipping, and standard taxi fares (so we wouldn't get ripped off) which is always so helpful when you are in a country you don't know.

They give you 20MB free internet, which is about enough to check out five websites before it goes kaput; unfortunately they don't have a business center with free internet (it uses the vouchers as well). The location is in a nice area, but not one made for wandering around so you will need to take a taxi everywhere (including just down the street for meals). We also got a couple of massages from their in-call massage therapist, who did a great job at a very reasonable price (roughly $55 US/hr).

We would definitely recommend this hotel for those staying in Cape Town, although those who want to be more near the hustle and bustle may want to stay closer to downtown or the Waterfront.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailornep5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,402 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 109 in Cape Town Central
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,024 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
645 reviews
An African Villa
#8 of 109 in Cape Town Central
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Rosmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Rosmead

Property: Four Rosmead
Address: 4 Rosmead Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Rosmead 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Rosmead has all the characteristics of a boutique style hotel; its location, style, authenticity and our personal service all contribute to re-defining the Cape Town travel experience. Built in 1903, Four Rosmead is a classified monument that has been sensitively and stylishly re-modeled. The result is a Cape contemporary classic with a rich history. Interiors are chic with a subtle, yet distinctive African spirit enhanced by original South African artwork. Accommodation consists of eight bespoke en-suite bedrooms. Some rooms have a fireplace, private garden, balcony or courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Four Rosmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Rosmead
Four Rosmead Hotel Cape Town Central
Four Rosmead Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing