We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ecellent and relaxing”
Review of Four Rosmead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Rosmead
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2011

What a lovely hotel...!!!!!!!!!!!! Made our stay memorable. Nice touches in the whole place. Mase us feel very welcome and sorted all our excursions. Many thanks. Will be back

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CribGoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
There are newer reviews for Four Rosmead
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2011

Stayed her for 3 nights with friends as part of a South Africa odyssey. This place was suggested by Rainbow Tours in London, well they could not have done better. The old building has been very tastefully updated and exudes a relaxing atmosphere. The rooms we had upstairs overlooking the small but perfectly formed pool were spacious with the most interesting shower rooms. Tiniest details in the room made it very special, from the sweetie selection in the mini bar, the bits and bobs in the bathroom, CD playing when you arrive back at night, the very thoughtful beach bag... to the little notes left with the nightly chocolate on the pillow... oh and did I mention the little bottle of Cape Velvet?! Artwork very interesting. Fruit salad at breakfast AMAZING. Staff most helpful, including their recommendation of local taxi company who will not rip you off, and can actually find their way back to the hotel. Realy don't know why we had the car as the taxi service was there within 10 minutes every time. Car parking could appear problematic, but the staff just took care of it, so there was no stress at all. I have already recommended this place to several friends and also to some complete strangers we met later on in our trip.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steffrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

We could not have found a better place to stay in Capetown, tucked away in a smart but convenient suburb of Capetown. The overwhelming impression was one of subdued style. Our "standard" bedroom, in the basement had been fitted out superbly with every possible comfort. The staff were friendly & helpful. The garden was beautiful - the only slight disappointment being that the pool was a little small. Exceedingly nice breakfasts too - really very highly recommended. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Tripadvisor is a great place to research places to stay... especially when the place can make or break your trip.... we chose 4 Rossmead and are so glad we did.

After two days of planes and airport lounges, we arrived in Cape Town (from Canada)... got our rental car, set up the GPS, and arrived at 4 Rossmead to a very warm welcome... they knew we'd be arriving around noon and our room was ready! The room was great... and if you are a light sleeper - it's quiet at night.

As for breakfast, it is wonderful... a full buffet to start... and choice of hot items from a menu as well... and it's your choice whether to eat inside or out on the verandah by the pool.

For those that are energetic, it's about a 10 minute walk over to Kloof Street (small stores and restaurants... also where you can pick up a SIM card with about 20 minutes of calling for about 75 Rand)... and it's about a 35 minute walk down through the Company's Gardens to downtown.... for those less energetic... you can take a cab to downtown or the waterfront for about 20-40 Rand... very affordable...

Also, prior to arriving we e-mailed 4 Rossmead asking about restaurant and activity recommendations... they sent us a response with a large list of suggestions... and for the ones we chose, they made the reservation for us... very very helpful.

Overall, we found that the service and accomodations couldn't be beat... highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just_Passin_Thru001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

My husband and I stayed here for the first part of our honeymoon and it was everything we expected plus more! We booked our honeymoon through a travel agent (go2africa.com- Tracy Payne- absoutely amazing!). The place is a small guesthouse/bed and breakfast. The rooms are beautiful. Our room wasn't very large but had all the standard amenities plus a balcony with a gorgeous view of Table Mountain. The bathroom is very modern with heated floors and towel racks! A nice little surprise :) The staff at Four Rosmead is absoutely wonderful. They were extremely helpful in setting up our activities and guiding us around Capetown. The guesthouse is located in the Garden District. It seems far from everything, but is only a 10 minute cab ride away from mostly anything you want to do and the cabs are affordable. Also, you can catch the city sightseeing bus just down the street. The staff at Four Rosmead is available when you need them but mostly stay out of your way which is nice. You get a key to the front gate and front door as well as one to your room. It feels like your own little home. There are only a few rooms so you don't run into the other guests too often either. The breakfast is very delicious. There is a spread of fresh fruits, juices, meats, cheeses, etc. In addition, they have a different menu with hot food items available everyday. We really enjoyed eating their breakfasts. In addition, every night, the staff would put a CD on in our room, leave us a cute note and chocolates. I don't know if this was just for our honeymoon or if they do it for everyone. It was so nice and thoughtful and was something I looked forward to everyday when we'd get back. Also, the house has a collection of beautiful paintings hanging around which are for sale. We ended up buying one!! Again, the staff was so helpful in having the painting shipped to the US for us.
While in Capetown, we went to Table Mountain one day (via the city sightseeing bus which I highly recommend) as well as the V&A Waterfront, the aquarium, Camps Bay and many other sights. We did the winelands the next day which was beautiful and very fun. We booked the tour through Four Rosmead. It was worth every penny. The other days we just ended up exploring the city and eating a lot of good food!
Overall, Four Rosmead was wonderful and a perfect start to our honeymoon. I can't emphasize how great the staff is. The guesthouse is beautiful and located in a very peaceful area. It's certainly not a party hotel, but the party is only a cab ride away :)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We stayed at Four Rosmead having read all the trip advisor reviews, we thought that on this basis we could not have gone wrong as everyone recommended the place. Well they were right it was simply one of the best places we have ever stayed, not one thing was overlooked, the staff (Jade, Natallie and Nadine) were fantastic. jade took care of our every need, booked restaurants, recommended restaurants, organised our guided tour and sorted out all our taxi's. The rooms are superb, the breakfasts are excellent and the place is incredibly peaceful. It's location is ideal at the foot of Table Mountain, equal distance to Camps Bay and the V&A waterfront in a taxi. We are lucky to have travelled quite a bit, and if big 5 Star hotels with lots of rooms and multiple swimming pools are your thing this is not for you, however if you like boutique hotels in a perfect location with attentive service, book Four Rosmead next time you visit Cape Town - We certainly will be going back!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citybreaktraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

This is a lovely guesthouse with extremely friendly and knowledgable staff. Upon arrival we were provided with drinks and shown around the property. We were then given a brief run down on activities to do in Cape Town and offered any help we needed with bookings, directions, restaurants etc.
The guesthouse itself is very tastefully decorated. The rooms are large, modern, well furnished and equipped with everything you need for your stay. There is a nice communal area with plenty of seating and an honesty bar should you require anything to drink. The pool area itself is compact, but is really a bonus area given the fact that you clearly wouldn't stay here if you wanted a relaxing by the pool type holiday!
The girls that run the guesthouse are all extremely helpful and nothing is too much hassle for them. They make your stay a very personal experience from when you wake up in the morning all the way through to the stories placed on your pillow in the turndown service. All other staff are very attentive too and the level of service given is very humbling. The breakfasts are lovely with a good quality selection and a daily special on the menu.
The guesthouse is only a short walk from the top of Kloof Street and a short drive from Table Mountain. It is a very good walk to the Waterfront though and I would suggest driving there instead. There is onsite secure parking however there are not always enough spaces for the number of cars therefore you need to leave your car keys with the staff in case they need to move cars around whilst you are out - this wasn't a problem whilst we were visiting.
The only negatives I can think of have already been mentioned here. They are the WIFI access. Given the prices for staying here I cannot understand why they give you a very small amount of free access and then charge you for additional amounts of usage. You do this by purchasing cards with passwords on etc. Everywhere else we stayed at in South Africa provided free usage. The only other thing is regularly advertising that you can buy the artwork and finishings from within the guesthouse. You are even given a pricelist in your room. On our last night we were given a leaving drink (which was a lovely gesture) and a little note thanking us for visiting. If it had finished there then great, but added to the bottom of the note was a sentence asking that if we wanted to buy the tray the drinks came on it would cost.............? I know this sounds picky but little things can annoy you on holiday occasionally!
Overall this is a great place to stay and I would recommend it to absolutely anyone

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keeno9712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,413 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,848 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 111 in Cape Town Central
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,060 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
653 reviews
An African Villa
#8 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Rosmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Rosmead

Address: 4 Rosmead Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £136 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Rosmead 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Rosmead has all the characteristics of a boutique style hotel; its location, style, authenticity and our personal service all contribute to re-defining the Cape Town travel experience. Built in 1903, Four Rosmead is a classified monument that has been sensitively and stylishly re-modeled. The result is a Cape contemporary classic with a rich history. Interiors are chic with a subtle, yet distinctive African spirit enhanced by original South African artwork. Accommodation consists of eight bespoke en-suite bedrooms. Some rooms have a fireplace, private garden, balcony or courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Rosmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Rosmead
Four Rosmead Hotel Cape Town Central
Four Rosmead Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing