We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spring Tide Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spring Tide Inn
Ranked #60 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for four nights at Spring tide inn and had a lovely time. The owner and co-workers are very nice. The breakfast is lovely, good beds, perfect location near Main street. It was nice that we could walk to the nice restaurants around the corner every evening. Private parking. Nice balcony where you can sit in the sun. Would defenitely go back there if we visit Cape Town again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gabysarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    60
    16
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
81
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I recently stayed at the Spring Tide Inn for 10 days in February 2014. I could not have asked for more. The staff (Jean, Michelle and last but not least Earl and colleagues) were so friendly and extremely helpful. Their good grace and efficiency made my trip a total joy and added to the beauty of Cape Town. There was no problems at all. The room was consistently kept clean and the atmosphere remained warm and friendly (even when I woke up Earl at 3:30am to be let into the premises - sorry for that) The breakfast started every day with a smile and that coupled with the fantastic value made the Spring Tide a real winner. All in all I would give the Spring Tide Inn a perfect 10. I have already recommended them to my sister who will be staying at the end of the year and I will continue to recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Cape Town. Many thanks to you!! :)

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Tide Inn T, General Manager at Spring Tide Inn, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hi James,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Spring Tide Inn. we are very happy that to hear that you were pleased with our service to to you and your stay at Spring Tide Inn. We appreciate your feedback. We are delighted that you recommended us to your sister! we are looking forward to welcoming her.

All the best for you and your family.

From: Team Spring Tide Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Spring Tide Inn was everything we needed - super close to the beach, promenade, hop on hop off bus stop, and excellent restaurants. The staff are knowledgable and friendly and make sure you are well looked after in terms of tours and activities. Our room was comfy and breakfast was great. Thanks to all the staff for an amazing stay in Cape Town!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Olliek85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Tide Inn T, General Manager at Spring Tide Inn, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Olliek,

Firstly we would like to thank you for Staying at Spring Tide Inn, It was such a pleasure having you staying with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us. Your feedback to us is important, we hope to see you again in the near future.
Best Wishes for you and your family.

From Team Spring Tide Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

stay 24 jan 2014 for a week good location felt at home here the staff make the place they are great very good breakfast room good would stay there again so big thanks earl jean rennie michelle ps jean practise your scottish see you soon garry

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank garry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Tide Inn T, Manager at Spring Tide Inn, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hi Garry,

Thank You for staying at Spring Tide Inn, I t was really a pleasure meeting you,it is good to hear from you that you are back home , settled . Your feedback means a lot to us, we are looking forward to seeing you when you return to Cape Town.

NB: Jean says where is her Hugs:-)

Regards,
Spring Tide Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed there in november 2013 for 3 nights. The first morning the owner came to ask if we knew about the key of the save in the room. We thought it's a good idea not to take all the money with us, so we put it in the save (after counting the amount), the evening when we came back after a long day off, we counted the money and yes, there was money left. It was rather as if we schould'n have remarked it, my friend missed 200 R and I missed 540 R ; The police took note, but we know who 's the thief, that was clear.
I think a lot of people will even not know there is money left.

Room Tip: not in this area tells us the police
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marleen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Tide Inn T, General Manager at Spring Tide Inn, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Miss Marleen Mampaert
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that you feel that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. It has taken a little time to respond to you as this matter was still under investigation and we wanted to ensure that all of the facts were established before responding.
We would like to assure you that the loss of your belongings as well as your travelling companions is taken extremely seriously by Spring Tide Inn. We have been working with the police investigation over this matter since it was originally reported to us. Firstly I would like to clarify that the person you believed to be the owner is actually an employee. Their duty is to check in guests and to show how the keys work and provide other general guest house information. None of our employees have access to other safe keys for any of the rooms.
We have never had such an incident occur at the guest house before. We understand that the incident occurred on Sunday according to your statement, and it was reported to the management on Tuesday morning when you were due to depart. Following questioning of all staff and a full police investigation there was no evidence of theft by any employee at the guesthouse. We are not sure what the truth to be but one other explanation is that this could have been a simple misunderstanding between guests sharing the room.
We understand that this incident has not been a pleasant experience for you and we do not wish to further exacerbate this but should you return to Cape Town we would love to have the opportunity to speak with you again to deal with your concerns directly. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights. Very good location, close the city and good beaches. When we arrived we Got upgraded to a nicer room. Could see a little bit of the ocean from our balcony but can hear the ocean. The promenade is one road down, great for morning runs/walks. Rooms aren't fancy but comfortable. Only downside is there is no aircon. Breakfast was nice. Good team of people there, made us feel very comfortable. Would stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte-Marc v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Tide Inn T, General Manager at Spring Tide Inn, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you so much Indeed for choosing to stay at Spring Tide Inn,we are happy to hear from you and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Spring Tide Inn. we hope and look forward to see you in the future . Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool
Level Contributor
186 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

Our small group tour of 12 stayed there in October for 4 nts during our Africa trip. We had the place to ourselves mostly. Earl and his staff gave us a warm welcome and service during our stay. The rooms are pretty basic as is the bathroom and what you get in a room varies. We were in a downstairs room where the bathroom was next to the laundry (a little off-putting) and our room door was near reception so we heard early morning phone calls. Breakfast was very good with a wide variety of food/drink to choose from and service was great. The reception area is a bit small if you have a few people at one time with luggage. A suggestion is that they remove the big coffee type table to open the area up.
There are a number of restuarants around the corner and we ate at one twice but can't remember it's name. Food was good but they have a strange policy with steak - they would not cook it any more than medium rare - never encountered that before - thought a customer could have as they wanted. I tried the medium rare the second night - I usually have medium-well - the steak was too rare for me.

The Green Point area is nice as you are not far from the boardwalk with it's green space and running/walk track. Lots of people exercising. A good distance to Victoria Wharf- too far to walk really - probably about 10km. Victoria Wharf is like most harbour precincts, plenty of shops and restaurants,plenty of security around although I got hassled by a homeless person one day during daylight- he left me alone after about a minute and another in our group got hassled the night before.

We went to Robben Island to see the prison and Mandela's cell. Pity the tourist authority who runs the place does not maintain the grounds on the island - lots of overgrown grass and weeds.
It is 12km by large catamaran- we had a fine day and a reasonable swell. I also heard the boat is often not running due to weather and more often because the boats are not maintained very well-seems again the island's tourist autority does not maintain the fleet as well as the island - it appears they are not well regarded inthe tourism community as they make a lot of money but it does not go back into the attraction.

The island tour is ok- a drive around in a bus with some short stops - groups of 50 or so. The prison tour is usually done by an ex-prisoner - that was very interesting and eye-opening to see how prisoners were treated or should I say mistreated depending on your skin colour. We were lucky we had a nice day for the trip. The tour by the ex-prisoner was excellent

Sprin Tide Inn is as I say, basic, comfortable for a short stay and Earl and his team will look after you. Limited parking.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greatscott24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Fritz Hotel
Fritz Hotel
#70 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Mojo Hotel
#109 of 199 in Cape Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Riviera Suites
#85 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
#62 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Premier Hotel Cape Town
#59 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
The Verge Aparthotel
#129 of 199 in Cape Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Tide Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Tide Inn

Property: Spring Tide Inn
Address: 8 Oliver Road, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Spring Tide Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, our private and exclusive Guesthouse is just a few minutes’ drive away from all the Cape has to offer.skip Guests can enjoy the V&A Waterfront with its first-class restaurants, exquisite boutiques and live entertainment; tour the world renowned wine routes; scale the breath taking Table Mountain or simply relax on the many secluded beaches with one of our home-made picnic baskets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Spring Tide Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring Tide Inn Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing