We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value, service, central location and amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cat and Moose Backpackers
dar el salamm
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“value, service, central location and amazing staff”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Located at the top of long street this backpackers may not be as new as some of the other hostels, but its Retro feel, court yard and spacious rooms make up for it. Secure, kitchen facilities, a lounge room, TV, wifi make it good value. Day trips can be arranged we went on the cape and wine tours and could not fault them. Staff were extremely helpful in organising stuff for us and very friendly.

Room Tip: Twin room at back with shared bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    38
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
17
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nagoya, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

It's real that they do have a cat and a "moose" there. A great location and they have a lovely inner-garden. The staff were also helpful and the place was always clean. Value for money!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AirEsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed at Cat and Moose towards the beginning of May. This was a great hostel for meeting other travellers, perfectly located for exploring Cape Town and really convenient for heading out along Long Street in the evenings.

The hostel staff were helpful and were able to arrange really good trips, ie cheap and a huge emphasis on having fun. The offers down at the V&A waterfront were a lot more expensive and also seemed to be more limited.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Cat and Moose is in an excellent location on Long Street. It is near coffee shops, restaurants, and sights. It is rustic but comfortable. We didn't find it as friendly as most hostels.

Cat and Moose is good value and comfortable enough if you just want a place to sleep.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D0nlan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this basic but amiable backpackers, centrally located in Cape Town. It is quieter than other backpackers in the area with a chilled out vibe. The kitchen is well equipped and the lounge comfortable. We had a huge room out the back away from the street which made our stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for one further off the street for a more peaceful sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allycat03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Lovely hostel. Very clean and chilled out atmosphere. John and Nathan are both very helpful and make you feel at home. Hot showers are great.

Great value for money too, I paid about $10 per night to stay in an all female dorm. Most of the people in my dorm were older than me (30s upwards), so it was very easy to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricaL1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The Cat and Moose backpackers was my last hostel after travelling the Garden Route of South Africa, and I really had to get used to the difference with those more relaxed, clean and personal backpackers where I stayed earlier. The Cat and Moose is ideally located at Long Street and they can organise a lot of trips for you and the staff is really helpfull and friendly. The downside was that it was busy and therefore the showers and toilets where dirty (although they cleaned it everyday). It was exactly how I pictured a hostel to be before I had the experience with the other hostels in SA. It was oke (especially for this price and at this location), but for me no more than avarage.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.1 mi away
Cape Town Hollow
Cape Town Hollow
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
228 reviews
0.6 mi away
HomeBase Cape Town Backpackers
0.4 mi away
91 Loop
91 Loop
#14 of 128 in Cape Town Central
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Daddy Long Legs Self-Catering Apartments
Daddy Long Legs Self-Catering Ap...
#72 of 128 in Cape Town Central
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
FlatRock Suites
FlatRock Suites
#38 of 128 in Cape Town Central
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forty8 Backpackers Hotel
Forty8 Backpackers Hotel
#57 of 128 in Cape Town Central
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat and Moose Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat and Moose Backpackers

Property: Cat and Moose Backpackers
Address: 305 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Cat and Moose Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cat And Moose Backpackers Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing