We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cat and Moose Backpackers
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I spent 4 nights there at a private room. The building was a little old but really clean place and friendly staff. Complete set of utensiles in kitchen. Daily services for room cleaning and you can even ask for "no entry in my room". Great...

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Az Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We slept three nights in Cat and Moose in March 2014. We really liked this hostel. We arrived late at night and the guy at the entrance helped us with finding a safe parking lot. They take security very seriously (gate with pincode, report at the reception that you have a room). We didn't feel unsafe. Large kitchen and nice garden. Large balcony with view on Long Street, which you have to share with the dorm. Double room is spacious, good beds. Location is really good: walking distance from nice bars and restaurants (try Masala Dosa, really good Indian food!), close to Table Mountain and the beach. No noise from Long Street. Recommended hostel for backpackers!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ilse90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

As I have recently relocated to Cape Town, I am currently residing in a backpackers until month-end. I booked and paid a Longstreet backpackers - Cat and Moose Backpackers Lodge - for the night of 17-03-2014 and same was confirmed yet when I arrived that evening I was bluntly told my room was given to someone else and I could have my money back - I WAS TOLD THIS AT 22:00, WITH NOWHERE TO GO, NO INTERNET ACCESS OR TRANSPORT!!!! When I demanded to speak to the owner I was told he would be there in the morning! I was then mistreated by 'security' as well as threatened and then rudely told 'we may cancel a booking at any time we want'. This to me is the most blatant form of disregard for the safety and well being of a human being - they couldn't care less that I had NOWHERE to go and there was ZERO reason to give my paid-for room away - that's the strangest part of all! Thank goodness the person who dropped me off was waiting outside to see I got in safely, however when we drove away, one of the security people banged her car window hard! I have left a message for the owner to call me but still nothing! BE WARNED: CAT AND MOOSE BACKPACKERS WILL CANCEL YOUR PAID-BOOKING AT THEIR LEISURE

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pman054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Located at the top of long street this backpackers may not be as new as some of the other hostels, but its Retro feel, court yard and spacious rooms make up for it. Secure, kitchen facilities, a lounge room, TV, wifi make it good value. Day trips can be arranged we went on the cape and wine tours and could not fault them. Staff were extremely helpful in organising stuff for us and very friendly.

Room Tip: Twin room at back with shared bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

It's real that they do have a cat and a "moose" there. A great location and they have a lovely inner-garden. The staff were also helpful and the place was always clean. Value for money!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AirEsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed at Cat and Moose towards the beginning of May. This was a great hostel for meeting other travellers, perfectly located for exploring Cape Town and really convenient for heading out along Long Street in the evenings.

The hostel staff were helpful and were able to arrange really good trips, ie cheap and a huge emphasis on having fun. The offers down at the V&A waterfront were a lot more expensive and also seemed to be more limited.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Cat and Moose is in an excellent location on Long Street. It is near coffee shops, restaurants, and sights. It is rustic but comfortable. We didn't find it as friendly as most hostels.

Cat and Moose is good value and comfortable enough if you just want a place to sleep.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank D0nlan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Long Street Backpackers
#35 of 129 in Cape Town Central
144 reviews
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 129 in Cape Town Central
696 reviews
Never at Home Cape Town
#5 of 129 in Cape Town Central
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,781 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#10 of 129 in Cape Town Central
536 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat and Moose Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat and Moose Backpackers

Address: 305 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £16 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Cat And Moose Backpackers Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing