We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Ranked #59 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights in November 2011. The apartment we stayed in was fantastic- excellent security, well furnished apartment with everything we needed and lots of space. The breakfasts were excellent, good variety, and the location for our purposes was great. The only down side was that there was no shuttle to the waterfront so we had to drive everywhere after dark. We did venture out on foot one evening- would not recommend it at all- felt very uneasy and didn't try it again for the rest of the stay!
The internet is limited to 100MB/ day but this was enough for our needs.

Room Tip: we were on 4th floor and had a lovely view of the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ducky42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2011

This place is amazing. Breathtaking rooms. Full Breakfast every morning. Five star hotel at a Four Star Price.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1037thebeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Just needs a bit of atention and a lick of paint here and there, so as to maintain it's rooms and finishes, yet still my favourite place to stay in Cape Town. (Maybe a few more tv channel options would be welcome as well?)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ibbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We needed a 3 bed apartment to accommodate for 3 weeks a Mum & Dad travelling with a 4 year old and 6 month old. We looked at renting a house or flat but were put off by high prices (low season is now being touted as "whale season"), the prospect of little or no heating (CPT winters can be deceptively chilly) and the hassle of dealing with security deposits, etc.). The 3 bedroom apartment suite at the North Wharf met our requirements perfectly. The bedrooms are spacious, two of the three bathrooms had baths and the kitchen was useful for preparing baby food/bottles.

The staff went out of their way to be helpful - for example, when we rang reception one evening to complain that the dryer cycle on the washing machine was working, within 5 minutes housekeeping came to our room (unprompted), took away our wet washing and returned it two hours later. Our rooms were serviced every day and the staff were very understanding about not disturbing our baby.

The hotel has a small restaurant which also provides some room service (with daily chef specials) - breakfast was included in the room rate and was excellent.

Two small complaints might be the lack of cooking utensils and accessories in the kitchen (had to use a hand towel instead of oven gloves and there were no sharp knives) but as we generally ate convenience food, the oven and microwave met most of our needs. the other complaint would be the rather basic TV package but as we were leaving the hotel was installing large flat screen TVs in each apartment's lounge so maybe a DSTV upgrade will come with that.

The location is excellent - next to the CTICC, a short drive to the Waterfront and on the N1 in minutes. Hotel provided secure underground parking and was very accommodating in allowing our guests to use parking. There is a Food Lovers' Market opposite the hotel plus Col'Cacchio Pizzeria nearby (which is available on the hotel's internal phone system) and the CBD in the city offers ever better eateries nearby (and it is beginning to feel safer too post World Cup).

In summary, I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jezinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Apartment hotel, very big rooms. Great location close to city and harbour area. Service is very good, food is good too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

just a great hotel. great staff, location is good for convention center as it is walking distance but not the feel of a CC hotel. the rooms are HUGE! and an excellent bathroom

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ritchie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This hotel is a lovely change from most hotels one gets booked into for business. Each room is an apartment with a kitchenette (includes stove, fridge/freezer, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, tumbledryer), with a separate lounge and dining room. What a plus to have so much space. The staff are friendly and courteous, the rooms well-appointed, and breakfast was great. The wine available in the restaurant left a lot to be desired - one brand only. But with various places close by, that's not a huge deal.

On my first night, the water in the bathroom did not get hot - and a luke warm shower in the middle of winter is not ideal. However, as soon as I spoke to the front desk it was sorted out.

The gym / fitness room was undergoing renovations, so I didn't get to try it out. It looked ok - no worse than a City Lodge, really.

The view from the rooftop pool is great - pity it was too cold for a drink up there.

Great location, and easy to find, but they could do with better signage for the parking. It's a bit confusing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KW1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,738 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#27 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,280 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#56 of 110 in Cape Town Central
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,057 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,355 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#73 of 110 in Cape Town Central
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf

Address: 1 Lower Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel North Wharf Waterfront)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#54 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £131 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel North Wharf, Waterfront is a 4 star hotel within walking distance of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town CBD and the Cape Town International Convention Centre. Its secure, central city location makes it ideal for conference, business and leisure travellers wanting to explore Cape Town and its surrounds. Even a beach holiday in Cape Town is possible from this ideal location. Offering luxury apartment style accommodation in the heart of Cape Town City in the form of spacious apartments and suites, the Hotel also has 2 Penthouse Suites with stunning views of the sea. All rooms have full self-catering options. Eat breakfast like a king at the North Wharf Restaurant, where a full English breakfast buffet is served daily. Light meals are also available during the day. There is also Col'cacchio Restaurant on our doorstep to serve lunch, dinner and room service, which is well known for their delicious pizzas. Bill back arrangements have been made between the hotel and Col'Cacchio for our in-house GUESTS. For those who enjoy their exercise we have a 24 hour gym as well as a pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Splitty, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town North Wharf South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing