We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$173
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$889
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$495
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$631
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$498
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$356
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
186
150
26
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
150
26
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswasher dryerfull kitchenapartment styleconvention centerliving roomfully fitted kitchenlong streetroom serviceattending a conferencehuge roomrooftop poolapartment hotelunderground parkingfront desk staffminute walksafe walkwalking distance
Filter
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights in November 2011. The apartment we stayed in was fantastic- excellent security, well furnished apartment with everything we needed and lots of space. The breakfasts were excellent, good variety, and the location for our purposes was great. The only down side was that there was no shuttle to the waterfront so we had to drive everywhere after dark. We did venture out on foot one evening- would not recommend it at all- felt very uneasy and didn't try it again for the rest of the stay!
The internet is limited to 100MB/ day but this was enough for our needs.

Room Tip: we were on 4th floor and had a lovely view of the square
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ducky42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This place is amazing. Breathtaking rooms. Full Breakfast every morning. Five star hotel at a Four Star Price.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1037thebeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Just needs a bit of atention and a lick of paint here and there, so as to maintain it's rooms and finishes, yet still my favourite place to stay in Cape Town. (Maybe a few more tv channel options would be welcome as well?)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ibbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We needed a 3 bed apartment to accommodate for 3 weeks a Mum & Dad travelling with a 4 year old and 6 month old. We looked at renting a house or flat but were put off by high prices (low season is now being touted as "whale season"), the prospect of little or no heating (CPT winters can be deceptively chilly) and the hassle of dealing with security deposits, etc.). The 3 bedroom apartment suite at the North Wharf met our requirements perfectly. The bedrooms are spacious, two of the three bathrooms had baths and the kitchen was useful for preparing baby food/bottles.

The staff went out of their way to be helpful - for example, when we rang reception one evening to complain that the dryer cycle on the washing machine was working, within 5 minutes housekeeping came to our room (unprompted), took away our wet washing and returned it two hours later. Our rooms were serviced every day and the staff were very understanding about not disturbing our baby.

The hotel has a small restaurant which also provides some room service (with daily chef specials) - breakfast was included in the room rate and was excellent.

Two small complaints might be the lack of cooking utensils and accessories in the kitchen (had to use a hand towel instead of oven gloves and there were no sharp knives) but as we generally ate convenience food, the oven and microwave met most of our needs. the other complaint would be the rather basic TV package but as we were leaving the hotel was installing large flat screen TVs in each apartment's lounge so maybe a DSTV upgrade will come with that.

The location is excellent - next to the CTICC, a short drive to the Waterfront and on the N1 in minutes. Hotel provided secure underground parking and was very accommodating in allowing our guests to use parking. There is a Food Lovers' Market opposite the hotel plus Col'Cacchio Pizzeria nearby (which is available on the hotel's internal phone system) and the CBD in the city offers ever better eateries nearby (and it is beginning to feel safer too post World Cup).

In summary, I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jezinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Apartment hotel, very big rooms. Great location close to city and harbour area. Service is very good, food is good too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews