We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel / Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Ranked #61 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Louis Trichardt, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Hotel / Apartment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

A fantastic hotel. Rooms are actually modern apartments equipped with full kitchen, cutlery for two, dining table, lounge & bedroom have seperate LCD TV's.
The breakfast was good. Housekeeping & room service was good, Col Cacchio pizzeria which is accross the road delivers to the room too.
It is a 25 min walk or about 5 min drive to the V & A Waterfront.
For a home away from home experience with the benefits of a hotel, I have not yet found a better Hotel / Apartment.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badescan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear GUEST

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to post a review!

kind regards,

Leigh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    124
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
77
90
16
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Stay here if you have a child- the rooms are very large suites, there is an extremely comfortable sofabed for your child and plenty of space to spread out and relax.

Good breakfast buffet with omelette station and everything else that you would need- good value.

Wouldn't eat here for dinner as restaurant has no atmosphere but otherwise the service and staff great.

Pool ok- very windy and could use some plexiglass buffers to make it more comfortable

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exchequer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear GUEST

Thank you so much for the great comments!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

kind regards,

Leigh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Average hotel.no views from rooms as advertised.condition of the apt. Not so good. We found two cockroaches on the day of arrival . Poor customercare .instead of relaxing on holidays we were upset.the hotel is more into cbd than waterfront.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RParbhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Dear GUEST

Thank you for letting us know about your experience.
We have taken the necessary steps to prevent this from occurring again and once again please accept my apologies. I do hope that the remainder of your vacation was most enjoyable.

kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

The hotel is well placed for visits to the V&A Waterfront and town centre. The suites are well equipped and spacious though perhaps a little minimalist for my taste. Compared to a traditional hotel room they offer considerably more space and the option for self catering should you wish to do so. My only criticisms are that the sofas and chairs in the lounge were quite uncomfortable and half the TV stations weren't working properly.
The hotel staff was very good.
The bar area was a little lacking in atmosphere but the buffet breakfast was of a high standard with plenty of choice.
I'd happily return here for another short stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pengaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Dear GUEST

Thank you, for taking the time to provide feedback regarding our hotel.

I would like to apologise on behalf of the hotel for the quality of TV reception. During your stay we were busy upgrading the satellite bouquet available to GUESTS. This has now been completed.

I am pleased that your contact with the STAFF was memorable and I will be sure to pass this on.

You may be interested to learn that we have a planned refurbishment for the bar and restaurant area and I am sure this will improve the ambiance.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

Protea Hotel North Wharf is conveniently located by the Cape Town Convention Center, and is also about a 10-15 minute walk from the V&A Waterfront, and also about the same distance from shopping/bars/restaurants along Long street. The hotel staff was usually very helpful and courteous. They were overly cautious in not recommending that my girlfriend and I walk anywhere at night, but these were just precautions that you can't fault them for taking. Eventually we got tired of taking taxis everywhere and decided to walk everywhere. Cape Town is very safe, but some travelers might be turned off by being asked for money just about every city block; it's best just to avoid eye contact and keep walking!

Anyways, back to the hotel review, the only negative I would say is their phone system. We were there with a large wedding party, so it would have been nice to be able to call other rooms directly, but this is not possible. You have to call the front desk so they can transfer your call to other rooms. Also, there is no voice-mail system, so there is no reliable way to leave other guests messages. The hotel does offer free WiFi, but only in the form of vouchers from the front desk that are good for only a 24 hours period. It was slightly annoying that the WiFi session would log out only after about 1 minute of inactivity on the device. They also offer vouchers for 2 desktop computers in the lobby to print off documents from the internet.

The rooms were awesome apartment-style suites. We had a full kitchenette, complete with pots/pans, ovens, dishwasher (which we never used), and an electric water kettle (which was awesome and we used multiple times a day), a french press for coffee, refrigerator, freezer, microwave, small combination washer/dryer machine. There was a huge balcony off the main living room with great views of the city and the water. The living room had a large flat panel TV, and the bedroom had a slightly smaller flat panel TV, with a very comfortable King size bed. There was a safe in the room, along with adequate closet space. The bathroom was spacious and contained both a walk-in shower and a bathtub. Lots of large windows in every room, and they all opened, allowing for great breeze to fill the room (we barely had to use the A/C or heater in November).

Breakfast was included with the stay, and there was a pretty good selection in my opinion (eggs made to order, along with the usual selection of cereal, meats/cheeses, yogurt, hot foods like bacon sausage and hash browns, etc.)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

The hotel is well located close to the Convention Center and within walking distance to the Waterfront and the long street and district 6 museums.
The room - suite was pretty large for 2 people with good size living room and full kitchen (dish washer and washer/dryer included).
The personel was really nice. The pool is small but good enough to relax after a long walk,
Free wifi but need to ask for access card at the front desk (100MB per connection).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBoLaVie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

My preferred hotel in Cape Town. The rooms are massive suites with Lounge, Bedroom, Kitchen and bathrooms. Many times larger than other hotels I've stayed at in the same area. Service is excellent and my only criticism would be that the breakfast somewhat lets down what is otherwise a very nice base. I suspect it has more of a business hotel feel than other vacation hotels but if you want somewhere very comfortable with really comfortable suites then this is a really good choice.

I prefer rooms with long galley kitchen as the living room areas are larger.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#55 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Address: 1 Lower Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel North Wharf Waterfront)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#54 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel North Wharf, Waterfront is a 4 star hotel within walking distance of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town CBD and the Cape Town International Convention Centre. Its secure, central city location makes it ideal for conference, business and leisure travellers wanting to explore Cape Town and its surrounds. Even a beach holiday in Cape Town is possible from this ideal location. Offering luxury apartment style accommodation in the heart of Cape Town City in the form of spacious apartments and suites, the Hotel also has 2 Penthouse Suites with stunning views of the sea. All rooms have full self-catering options. Eat breakfast like a king at the North Wharf Restaurant, where a full English breakfast buffet is served daily. Light meals are also available during the day. There is also Col'cacchio Restaurant on our doorstep to serve lunch, dinner and room service, which is well known for their delicious pizzas. Bill back arrangements have been made between the hotel and Col'Cacchio for our in-house GUESTS. For those who enjoy their exercise we have a 24 hour gym as well as a pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town North Wharf South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing