We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The apartment-style rooms are a real winner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Ranked #57 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I have stayed at the Protea Hotel North Wharf twice; the first time at the end of 2012 (for two nights) and now more recently (for three nights). There are a number of things that I really like about this hotel - from the rooms, to the service, the breakfast, the wifi, the location, the parking and the security. To begin with the rooms. They are spacious, airy and full of light - basically a small apartment with a fully fitted kitchen (stove, oven, microwave and fridge/freezer plus dishwasher if you need), a good work area enables me to spread my papers around me, a dining room table, a lounge, bedroom, bathroom (with both a bath and a shower), two TVs (lounge and bedroom) and an opening balcony for fresh air. For me the apartment-style is a real winner ... after a long day of work I can relax in comfort, have a glass of wine from my chilled bottle in the fridge and organize my own food without having to go out again and look for a restaurant. The cupboards are plentiful as are the hangers and contain a safe large enough to fit your laptop. A nice touch is the coffee plunger (with filter coffee – only one sachet per day though) in the kitchen. This time around I did order room service and found it efficient with the food delivered hot (that doesn't often happen in a hotel) and tasty (in the style of large hotels).

Breakfasts are large, with excellent choices for all palates. As a vegetarian I often battle with hotel breakfasts but here there is plenty of choice - hot food (with elements that change daily), cheeses, cold fish/meats, pickles, breads, fruits and everything else that makes up a comprehensive breakfast buffet. The staff keep the coffee coming. The kitchen is open all day so lunch is also available.

The staff are very helpful and friendly - particular mention must go to the front-desk staff but this holds for everyone I encountered. I held two meetings at the Protea North Wharf and they were happy to facilitate parking etc for my guests. Wifi is available in the rooms; it is efficient with a sufficient ‘free’ allowance. I was able to then hook into my own service provider and despite being on-line most evenings and mornings my free allowance didn’t run out. Underground parking with direct access to the lobby is available; this is via a security card that plugs into the lift. The same system allows access to your room floor – a reassurance particularly for women travelling on their own.

The location is superb – particularly for business guests. It is one minute to the N1, located in the CBD, opposite the convention centre and within easy walking distance of the Waterfront and CBD attractions. By car you are five minutes away from Seapoint, Woodstock, Camps Bay, Table Mountain and other Cape Town charms.

The only blip is the business centre in the lobby. To use this facility (I wished to print out my boarding pass) one is obliged to purchase internet access, at a min of R50 it just doesn't fit in with the service orientated environment of the rest of the hotel and the free wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FromDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Dear FromDurban

Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel and services. I have noted your recommendation of our business centre and improvements have already been made.

We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you to Cape Town.

kind regards,
Leigh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Been staying here since it opened.

Each room is basically a fully functional apartment complete with properly kitted out kitchen (Smeg appliances).

Clean and comfortable it's perfect for longer stays in the City. The hotel and rooms are trendy - furniture is a bit cheap and nasty but still acceptable.

Location cannot be beaten if your looking for a quality City Bowl location.

The restaurant is pretty average. What I'd expect from a hotel.

Service good and acceptable.

I'll keep going back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B1ades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear B1ades,

Really appreciate your comments and compliment : "Top choice for Cape Town CBD stays".

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town.

kind regards,
Leigh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed at the Protea North Wharf for 4 nights in May 2013. It is a wonderful place to stay. The best part of our stay was the exceptional service from each and every member of their staff. They go above and beyond to address all your questions. From the front office, to the restaurant staff to the maintenance folks - service is prompt and courteous. We loved our large 2 bedroom 2 bath room - perfect for our family of 5. When we checked in, we had a problem with low flow from a shower head. One call and less then 5 minutes later, maintenance took care of it.

To get around, the Protea have an excellent taxi service that you can know will be safe and reliable. We used it to get to the V&A waterfront (it is not walking distance as some others have posted) at night time, with a cell call, the driver will come pick you up in minutes. My only slight concern is that within a few blocks, you can end up in a dicey area of town, so I would avoid walking around at night. Other then that the location is excellent for a base to see Cape Town from.

And oh, the included breakfast was amazing. It was a huge spread, with custom ordered eggs, pancakes, waffles etc, fresh juices, fruits, breads, cereals, etc. etc. It was a great start for our vacation days, and the staff there was also amazing.

We used room service from the restaurant as well as the Col Cachhia (spelling?) pizzeria they are associated with - both were really really good.

There is free and secure parking right underneath the hotel - very convenient for when we rented a car (which they helped us secure from the Europcar office right next door at the Southern Sun) to visit the wineries.

The convention center is a very easy 3 minutes walk, from where you can get on the famous City Sightseeing hop-on hop-off bus service in Cape Town. Excellent Wi-Fi service in the rooms - which is great if you have teenagers - more important then almost anything else!

Particularly for large families or groups, I highly recommend it. If we are fortunate enough to visit Cape Town, we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank my5rox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear my5rox

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely and detailed review on TripAdvisor.

I will be sure to pass on the compliments paid to the TEAM at the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel North Wharf, should your travels bring you to Cape Town.

kind regards,

Leigh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Protea is long chain of hotels and it is well established. Very close to the waterfront area. Very spacious and provide all kinds of services such as complementary food, Wifi etc. I definitly recommend Protea North Wharf to everyone as it is the best hotel of the best hotel chain.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shivam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear Shivam T.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Tripadvisor.
What a great compliment you pay us "it is the best hotel of the best hotel chain".
We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and time in South Africa.

I hope that your travels bring you back to Cape Town soon,

kind regards,

Leigh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Stayed at the Hotel for 2 nights in April. A fantastic base from which to explore CPT. Friendly helpful staff. The spacious rooms with fully fitted kitchen makes a big difference. Close enough to walk to the V&A Waterfront. Overall an excellent Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaacoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Dear JaacoS

Thank you for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time exploring Cape Town.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

kind regards,
Leigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This hotel is very well positioned and is within walking distance to all major areas e.g. town centre, V&A Waterfront and the CCC. The suites are very spacious and tastefully furnished. The kitchen has all you would need for basic self catering. The dining room serves an ample breakfast and lunches were basic and enjoyable. A delivery service is also available for meals from local eateries. The conference room facility is of a top standard and catering was most enjoyable. A lovely touch was delegates were given lap blankets on cool mornings.

Room Tip: I have stayed in a number of rooms and I am yet to find any of the suites uncomfortable. I think aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Dear Debbie W

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Protea Hotel North Wharf.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Leigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This hotel is beautiful. The apartment was huge and state of the art. Two televisions: one in the lounge was also huge and one in the bedroom along with a very comfortable huge bed. The staff were very friendly and polite and the breakfast was very good. The only thing we wanted was to stay longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 921angel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear 921angel3

Thank you for the great compliments!
We would love to have to stay for longer next time.

Kind regards,

Leigh Morrison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,761 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,375 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 110 in Cape Town Central
658 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,799 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#74 of 110 in Cape Town Central
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf

Address: 1 Lower Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel North Wharf Waterfront)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#52 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £129 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel North Wharf, Waterfront is a 4 star hotel within walking distance of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town CBD and the Cape Town International Convention Centre. Its secure, central city location makes it ideal for conference, business and leisure travellers wanting to explore Cape Town and its surrounds. Even a beach holiday in Cape Town is possible from this ideal location. Offering luxury apartment style accommodation in the heart of Cape Town City in the form of spacious apartments and suites, the Hotel also has 2 Penthouse Suites with stunning views of the sea. All rooms have full self-catering options. Eat breakfast like a king at the North Wharf Restaurant, where a full English breakfast buffet is served daily. Light meals are also available during the day. There is also Col'cacchio Restaurant on our doorstep to serve lunch, dinner and room service, which is well known for their delicious pizzas. Bill back arrangements have been made between the hotel and Col'Cacchio for our in-house GUESTS. For those who enjoy their exercise we have a 24 hour gym as well as a pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town North Wharf South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing