We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“huge room with dining area kitchen and lounge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Ranked #58 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“huge room with dining area kitchen and lounge”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

It is an ideal place to stay for family. The hotel helped us to book all our trips and we only had to pay for the trips as and when we travelled. The reception also assisted us to print our boarding passes before our departure to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandalee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Amandalee66

Glad that my TEAM could assist you with all your requirements. Thank you for a great review!

Kind regards,

Leigh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    128
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
77
91
16
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A lovely light hotel which is very conveniently located close to the Convention Centre -you simply walk across the road.
The suites are fantastic and well appointed. Divine.
It could really do with a spa next to the pool on the roof - not architects offices - what were they thinking?
Well worth a stay though.

Room Tip: Ask for the seventh floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mpho M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Mpho M

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review about our hotel.
You would be interested to know that we do offer in-room spa facilities.
The Architects you mention were part of the design team who built the hotel.

Really look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you to Cape Town.

kind regards,
Leigh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Located perfectly in the city centre, This hotel is brilliant. We stayed for a week and this room is huge, actually its an apartment rather than just a room, with full lounge, dining area and kitchen. Really urban finishes which made us feel at home away from home. Internet access was good and with 200mb per day free. Quick access to all the major attractions in the city. Breakfast was always great, and the one day we used room service for meals it was really good. The gym has all the necessary equipment, so there was no excuses to get good workout in.

Overall I was really impressed, especially by the location and more importantly the home away from home feeling that you get because its an apartment and not jus a "room".

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor, great views on the balcony of the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V_Pillay_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear V_Pillay_SA

Thank you for your kind comments.
We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your long stay with us, as well as that "home-away-from-home" feeling we strive to achieve.

Kind regards,
Leigh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel is in walking distance to the Cape Town Convention Centre, its a longer walk to the waterfront and a shuttle is probably recommended to 1st time visitors, also very close to the offices nearby.
3-5 minutes stroll to the Food-lovers market - open daylight hours only, banks are as close....
This hotel has parking but access is strangely on the other side of the building, however the security guard jumps in to ensure you don't get lost, he only has to show you once.
Good pizza across the road, can be delivered as well.

Room Tip: The rooms can be self catering and are more than spacious and can accommodate meetings and client me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear PRS333

Thank you for the kind review!
We look forward to welcoming you back, soon.

Kind regards,

Leigh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The visit commenced with a fantastic greeting at reception, couldn't be more helpful. The accommodation was spacious, very clean with all the essentials of an apartment. Food freshly cooked in front of you. Feel safe in the surrounding area with public safety officers walking around the location all the way down to the water front.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear PRS333

Thank you for the super review! Really appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience.

Kind regards,

Leigh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

very nice, actually incredibly huge, rooms with full separate living area, couches, chairs, TVs, balcony, kitchen, dishwasher, laundry, everything. very comfortable beds. very clean rooms. quiet area. no noise from neighboring rooms. GREAT value

internet quality is pretty good.

perfect for business or vacation.

the staff are ALL smiling, nice, kind and genuinely interested in being helpful

breakfast is good, other meals are just OK, not great, but I can't be more negative because everyone in this place is TOO nice

will definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequentflier8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Frequentflier8080

Thank you! Your comments are very kind!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Leigh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I spent three nights in this hotel in the first half of September (i.e, the beginning of the spring season in South Africa).

The room was simply wonderful: a very large living room with sofa, armchair, TV, table, desk, etc.; a well equipped kitchen; a very nice bedroom (with a second LCD TV); a large bathroom with a huge shower and a bath tube. Every part of the hotel looked very clean and well-finished. The staff was very kind in assisting me on any requests. The breakfast was simply perfect: there was every kind of food and everything was really good!

The location of the hotel is excellent too (it is in the city center, 1 walking min to CTICC, and 5 min to the waterfront).

The only issues were: 1) the bathroom was quite cold and 2) during the night some cold air came from outside the (closed) window of the bedroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear drepi,

Thank you for the detailed feedback.
I am glad that you enjoyed your time in Cape Town with us.
Truly appreciate your wonderful comments.

Kind regards,

Leigh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#55 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Address: 1 Lower Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel North Wharf Waterfront)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#52 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel North Wharf, Waterfront is a 4 star hotel within walking distance of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town CBD and the Cape Town International Convention Centre. Its secure, central city location makes it ideal for conference, business and leisure travellers wanting to explore Cape Town and its surrounds. Even a beach holiday in Cape Town is possible from this ideal location. Offering luxury apartment style accommodation in the heart of Cape Town City in the form of spacious apartments and suites, the Hotel also has 2 Penthouse Suites with stunning views of the sea. All rooms have full self-catering options. Eat breakfast like a king at the North Wharf Restaurant, where a full English breakfast buffet is served daily. Light meals are also available during the day. There is also Col'cacchio Restaurant on our doorstep to serve lunch, dinner and room service, which is well known for their delicious pizzas. Bill back arrangements have been made between the hotel and Col'Cacchio for our in-house GUESTS. For those who enjoy their exercise we have a 24 hour gym as well as a pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Marriott, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town North Wharf South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing