We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Ranked #58 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“2nd time around”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We re-booked here for the spacious universal room but something was just a bit off this time around. It did not take long for smoke smells to permeate the apartment. Clearly some of the hotel guests do not abide by the hotel's non-smoking policy. The following day the apartment smelt as if it was located above a restaurant. On with the air purifier again! Breakfast buffet very disappointing. Staff disinterested and we had to ask for what we wanted in the way of hot drinks. Empty buffet plates were not automatically re-filled and there was clearly no supervisory management around. Danish pastries disappointing. Porridge excellent on first morning but this could not be achieved on the 2nd morning. Will try it again even though the place looks a bit sad.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Selena G

Thank you for completing a Hot or Not card during your stay with us. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.
Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. I can ensure you that we have noted the issue you raised regarding the smoke smell in the passage as well as the comments about breakfast. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!
Kind regards,

Leigh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    130
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
78
95
16
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Joseph Campbell wrote "Follow your bliss and the universe will open doors where there were only walls." Staying here we had space / views / comfort and what felt like no walls. Even great hotels often give you a small space with a pretty view. The North Wharf offered more.
The rooms or more aptly "apartments" are enormous, a large lounge, a large accessible balcony with a view of the bustling Cape Town city center below. A bed that can probably sleep 4 people comfortably. A large bathroom and everything that one could want in a kitchen and or scullery neatly tucked away and out of view. Our room was beautifully prepared for our arrival and you definitely felt like a valued guest rather than just another guest.
The staff are very friendly, approachable and efficient. You certainly get the feeling that they like working there. In my experience when staff like the hotel at which they work their general attitude is more positive which in-turn amplifies a positive experience. In an age where many businesses are trying to be more client-centric, few get it right like the Protea North Wharf does.
The Hotel restaurant is great, but there are also many restaurants a stones throw away, not to mention that some of the top Cape Town restaurants are just up the road.
The Cape Town Waterfront, Aquarium, Convention Center, Long street (entertainment hub of the city) are all accessible by foot, bicycle (which the hotel also offers) or taxi.
It really is the perfect place to stay for work or pleasure especially if the Cape Town experience is what you're are after.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vtro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Vtro

Thank you for your words of appreciation about your recent stay at Protea Hotel North Wharf. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel North Wharf and to hearing from you again!

Kind regards,

Leigh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Each huge 'room' in this hotel is a mini apartment, with kitchenette, bathroom, lounge and bedroom plus a balcony. It's clean, modern and, although not luxurious, it's perfectly nice for business and holidays. It's 5 minutes from the V&A Waterfront and convenient for everything else as well. Staff were excellent although those in the bar and restaurant were a little less cheerful. The bar and restaurant were fine though a bit poky. Buffet breakfast is self service and reasonable, standard fare.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Capriwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Capriwanderer

Thank you for the compliments and great review!

kind regards,

Leigh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was our second time staying at this hotel. The apartments are safe, clean, spacious and very comfortable. Housekeeping really keeps the place clean and do frequent checks throughout the day.if you are doing the Cape Argus cycling race, this is the best hotel as it is a walking distance to the start and close to the finish. Security staff gets a high five. The only downside is the food, its good, but it can still improve especially lunch and dinner. Reception staff could also improve with some general knowledge of their surrounding and how to work with people from different backgrounds. In overall this a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Zan2014

Glad you came to join us over the Argus weekend! Trust you had a great race.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for the 'high five'.
Your comments are noted and thank you for the Fantastic rating.

Kind regards,

Leigh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 8 nights at the end of February with my husband and daughter. We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the second floor which was very well equipped and spotlessly clean. All the staff were efficient and friendly and the breakfast with pancake maker was excellent. The Waterfront is a 20 minute walk away but the taxis are readily available and only cost £2 -£3. We will definitely come back. Thank you to Lucky and his team.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare12754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Deare Clare12754

Wonderful that you had a great stay!

Thank you for the compliments. I will be sure to share with Lucky and the rest of the TEAM.

Kind regards,

Leigh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidstone,kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

we stayed here and had a fantastic time!
the breakfast buffet was brilliant, the service was fantastic and the room was just what we wanted with an apartment like feel.
it was great to have a washing machine and kitchen for the holiday!
we will definitely go there again!

Room Tip: try to go to the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Bina J

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience!
Come back soon.

Lind regards,
Leigh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband and I stayed in a two bedroom apartment with our 16 month old son for four nights in Feb 2014. We were on the 6th floor but couldn't really enjoy the balconies due to a toddler!
Our check in was quick and efficient and they very gratefully let us check in early after a long overnight flight.
The living room was big and the kitchen well equipped - although our washing machine wasn't working the first few days. However the staff graciously took our dirty clothes away and washed them for free until it was up and running the next day. Such great customer service.
Our double bedroom was a good size with a small en suite shower room which we didn't really use.
The second bedroom (a twin) had an excellent cot in it for my son and plenty of space for our stuff.
The family bathroom with a big bath was great and well used.
I did use the pool on the roof but my son wasn't too keen as there was not much shade for him to hide from the bright sunshine.
Breakfast every morning was great with plenty of choice and a highchair provided (though the straps were broken) and the staff were good and entertaining my son.
We also had room service a few nights which was quick and had good options for us.
Each room gets a certain amount of wifi free every day which unless you download movies is a generous amount and suited us perfectly
Overall a really great spacious suite hotel that went out of their way to ensure we were happy for our entire trip
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms overlooking the front reception side of the hotel and ask for ones overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaiOm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear JaiOm

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay and for your great review.

We strive for excellence and I am so pleased to hear that you had a great stay and that the TEAM looked after you to ensure you were happy for the entire trip.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind regards,

Leigh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 109 in Cape Town Central
976 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,929 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#52 of 109 in Cape Town Central
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,202 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Address: 1 Lower Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel North Wharf Waterfront)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#53 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel North Wharf, Waterfront is a 4 star hotel within walking distance of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town CBD and the Cape Town International Convention Centre. Its secure, central city location makes it ideal for conference, business and leisure travellers wanting to explore Cape Town and its surrounds. Even a beach holiday in Cape Town is possible from this ideal location. Offering luxury apartment style accommodation in the heart of Cape Town City in the form of spacious apartments and suites, the Hotel also has 2 Penthouse Suites with stunning views of the sea. All rooms have full self-catering options. Eat breakfast like a king at the North Wharf Restaurant, where a full English breakfast buffet is served daily. Light meals are also available during the day. There is also Col'cacchio Restaurant on our doorstep to serve lunch, dinner and room service, which is well known for their delicious pizzas. Bill back arrangements have been made between the hotel and Col'Cacchio for our in-house GUESTS. For those who enjoy their exercise we have a 24 hour gym as well as a pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town North Wharf South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing