We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly staff, great location, but deferred maintenance” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Village Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Village Lodge
Ranked #104 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, great location, but deferred maintenance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

First off, be aware that facility names in the De Waterkant area are very confusing. Our taxi driver insisted on dropping us at the Waterkant Village Lodge on Loader Street, which is not the same as the Village Lodge on Napier Street--where we ultimately wheeled our luggage and stayed for a week. There was some confusion with double-booking in their system, but things were quickly resolved and we had the choice of two rooms; we declined room #3 with a king-size bed in favor of slightly smaller #6 with queen-bed room with a private terrace.

While we were ultimately satisfied with our stay, the first thing you notice is the deferred maintenance: dangerously broken tiles on the stairs, water damage on the walls in the room, chipped furniture, a broken toilet seat, unusable in-room safe, etc. But the convenient location and friendliness of staff quickly compensate... to a degree. It was frustrating that the in-room wifi never worked, requiring us to hang-out in the compact bar area to access e-mail. The culprit we were told was the construction going on next door, which also was quite loud during the day.

Also quite loud was the neighboring guest who began what seemed to be coughing up a lung around 7 am each morning. (The rest of the time he chain-smoked on the Village Lodge's front deck.) Be aware that the property is very compact and you will be quite aware of the other guests who are staying there with you. It was also a bit distressing to learn that the lovely, compact roof-top pool and bar area is also operated as a commercial bar, so off-the-street public is welcomed... meaning that when the weather is most conducive, the small area is packed and the noise travels down.

The buffet breakfast was adequate, but coffee is served from a badly damaged coffee-maker and bread must be toasted on an electric grill. The fresh fruit was appreciated, but it's the first time I've seen a breakfast buffet serve individually wrapped processed American cheese slices! The breakfast area doubles as a very good Thai restaurant for lunch and dinner, although the bar seemed plagued by supply issues--for instance, there was no red wine, only white--here in one of the world's wine capitals.

You can tell the Village Lodge was the place to be in its heyday, and current owners need to invest in some routine maintenance soon to revive the former high standard.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingmar53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    23
    7
    13
    39
See reviews for
6
48
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
102 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

This place really needs some refurbishment.
Free internet didn't work,but hotspot in the neighbourhood, 50R for one week per 300MB.
Many young people, so be prepared for some noise.
But for a price of 750R per room per night in Cape Town you can't expect more I think.
Location is very good. In the waterkant area you find a lot of shops, restaurants.
Spar supermarket just 500 meters away.Waterfront 10 min on foot.
Next time we would stay in the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction. This hotel seems better value for money and is really close by.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeterenDavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We arrived with a large group to find that the pool and roof top bar were closed for a refurb ie the two communal areas that we wanted as a group! They made no effort to contact us and warn us in advance which would have been appreciated. We decided to move on to another hotel and over a week later were still waiting to have our deposit refunded on the credit card...surely only a two second task!!!!!
The upstairs rooms with the small balcony looked nice enough but the ground floor 'cave' room number 18 was tiny and dingy and smelt of damp so to be avoided!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dbirkwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Take care of this hotel. Three days afeter leaving it, they charge $413 on my credit card. When I send an email, they say it was due the curtain I stole from their room.

They are dishonest. Take care

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Eduardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middtkn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We loved Gary and the Village Lodge. We stayed in the main building for 8 nights and by the end of our stay we felt like we were leaving home. Gary manages the property and does everything in his power to make his guests feel comfortable. The lodge's decor was very modern. The bathroom was great with a fabulous rain shower head. The Thai restaurant was great. The location was perfect. We barely used our rental car because we could walk to almost everything. The rooftop deck and views were amazing. The staff went out of the way to store a cake for me and help me to plan a birthday celebration for my husband. If I ever travel back to Cape Town The Village Lodge is where I will be!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank middtkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

We booked two double rooms for the Argus weekend in March 2011 explicitly asking for rooms in the main building on Napier Street while paying a R2,250 deposit by CC. Upon arrival at the lodge, it turned out that we were assigned 2 rooms in a poorly maintained and 800m away house despite our explicit request in writing on the confirmation form to stay in the main lodge.

Needles to say the stay was disappointing with DSTV (cable TV) failing on us, no lights working at the entrance and overall poor quality and dirty.

But the biggest surprise only happened after we left: in addition to the 50% deposit the full amount was charged to my credit card without deducting the already paid 50%.

What followed were numerous phone calls to a guy called Gary who made many apologies and even more promises to pay the money immediately.

Only constant harassing by phone triggered a repayment early June, i.e. nearly 3 months later.

Apparently this place is run by a guy called Rodney. Gary admitted that I was not the only visitor waiting for my money and that they 'had problems with their accountant'.

All in all after much frustration during and after my stay, money is back in my account but never would I recommend any visitor to stay at this place.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Reynleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

just stayed at the village lodge for 3 nights.
the rooms are very small and very dark. the bed is huge, which is nice, but it is hard to get around it in the tiny room. hardly any space to store your clothes. bath ok.
bed linen not completely clean.
breakfast ok, but not special. service ok, but not really good for South African standards.
there are definately better places in the same area for the same money.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gelegentlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
De Waterkant Village
De Waterkant Village
#84 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#50 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Purple House Bed & Breakfast
Purple House Bed & Breakfast
#36 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cape Finest Guesthouse
Cape Finest Guesthouse
#38 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Waterkant Cottages
De Waterkant Cottages
#15 of 130 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Property: The Village Lodge
Address: 49 Napier Street | de Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Village Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centred in the heart of De Waterkant Village The Village Lodge, The Townhouse suites, The Villa and De Waterkant Cottages have gained a strong reputation for providing high quality accommodation. All rooms are en-suite and are equipped with satellite TV, direct dial telephones, safes and wireless internet. The Villa, Townhouse suites and cottages offer guests their own private space with home comforts in unique individually styled properties. Reception, restaurant, pools, bars and designer home style shop. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Village Lodge Portfolio Hotel Cape Town Central
The Village Hotel Portfolio
Village Hotel Cape Town
The Village Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing