We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's great potential! Just be cautious of you choice!”
Review of The Village Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Village Lodge
Ranked #105 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“There's great potential! Just be cautious of you choice!”
Reviewed 3 January 2008

I really had high hopes for this property. Unfortunately, they failed to meet those expectations.

We booked directly with the hotel and hotel staff to INSURE we had a QUEEN DELUXE waiting for us upon our arrival. After traveling 28 hours, exhausted, sweaty, and grumpy, we were greeted (fairly friendly) and told that we were being up up NOT in the main lodge we reserved, but up in the Villa. SO....with luggage in tow, we dragged our tired asses up to the Villa (NOT a lighted or close walk). The villa appeared very nice but was NOT what we reserved. We purposely needed to be in the main lodge for location and safety.

After much ado, the host make some moves and we dragged our stuff BACK to the lodge and were put up in a QUEEN room. A shoebox of a room. We were told the QUEEN Deluxe we reserved, and had printed confirmation, was not available. Needless-to-say, we were not happy.

The Host was hospitable but made no effort or consessions to accomondate us other than this shoebox of a room. Even the TV didn't work until the day we checked out.

The property itself, is charming and perfectly located in the village. Which was the reason we chose it. The upkeep needs some work. They put fine details into the design but often not practical. Ants were a problem in public areas. The shower and bathroom tile were in need or repair. But all that is fixable.

The service was decent. The Host was a hard-working guy who was always available....just not in tune with the guests needs. Neither was the owner who we met over drinks. They're great people who simply need to know how to read their guest better. And be honest. We heard this comment from several other guests.

I think I would recommend this to others, however, I'd highly recommend confirming multiple of times your reservation for the appropriate room. The location is sketchy (as most of in-town Cape Town is). Everything locks down at night. But they're used to it. We were even insulted at the hotel pool by one of the owners friends who was there drinking calling us scared Americans. Well....there are reasons for burgular bars on every window.

I wish them luck! Its a great property with great potential. Just needs some clean up to detail and service.

  • Liked — The location was super for the Gay Village.
  • Disliked — The value of the tiny room, the cleanliness, and the mediocre service.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JimAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    23
    7
    13
    39
See reviews for
6
48
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2007

Great location with fab views of Table Mountain from rooftop. In gay area but very lively. Room a bit drab but great shower/bathroom. Good for walking to V&A, Long St and other nightlife. Fab breakfasts

  • Liked — location - the view
  • Disliked — below average for boutique hotel
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasone_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2007

The Village Lodge and its staff surpassed all of our expectations on customer service. I feel like I’ve known Candice (Office Manager) for years because of our months of correspondence.

Although we had a slight hiccup upon arrival, as our booked property was not available, Candice did her best to get us to a property that was comparable. We had everything we needed on our last property and both stays were beautiful and lovely.

The neighborhood is so picturesque and the views from the rooftops are amazing. The breakfast was always fresh. We enjoyed sitting on the patio and enjoying the mornings sipping our coffee. Chris, Emeralda, Angelica, and Andries at the restaurant were all very attentive. Especially noteworthy is a night when we lost electricity in part of the house. Chris (Restaurant Manager) personally walked us to the townhouse and tried to fix the problem. There was no immediate remedy. He was able to offer us batteries for the alarm clocks as we had an early Safari adventure the next day, which we did not want to miss.

Mogamad the electrician did his best to improve/fix our satellite channels in both properties and Caroline and Belinda made sure our places were kept full of amenities and were clean and neat. We appreciated them greatly.

The staff’s attentiveness was a welcome change from the hustle and bustle here at home. Cape Town was a wonderful place to visit. Candice, Nasira, and Kim always greeted us with a smile and were only eager to help us with our travel plans and adventures. We booked a car with the Lodge, through someone that they work closely with. They did not ask us to get any extra insurance as the corporate chains at the aiport did. At the airport they wanted to hold $1,000 on our card!

Everything that they advised us to do, we greatly enjoyed and had a thrill doing them. Especially the shopping. There are great restaurants in the Village and some a short walk away. Walk during the day, but either drive or take a taxi at night.

Although the neighborhood is fairly safe, always keep your wits about at night. There are security personnel that would follow behind us as we walked to and from the residences. This was a welcome gesture.

We plan on returning soon, and we will not hesitate booking a property with the Village Lodge as we now know that excellence is not an expected service but guaranteed.

  • Liked — It was a great neighborhood with lots of resturants, bars, cafes, shopping nearby.
  • Disliked — Dark at night.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank shrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2007

excellent hotel but I guess having read the reviews that this depends on the accomodation that you book. We Stayed in the "villa" where we had a large quiet room 3 mins from the hotel where we had a great breakfast. staff were very friendly and helpful throughout. the area seemed pretty safe and we walked all over cape town from here day and night. Overall I would recoomed especially if you can negotiate a good rate with hotel.

  • Liked — rooms, breakfast,location,pool
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brightonandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2007

Very cute, beautifully decorated hotel in great part of town. Staff and management were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were small but cozy. Breakfast buffets were huge and delicious, with good coffee. Great loungers on the roof and overall a very laid-back vibe to the place.

  • Liked — location, decor, staff, breakfast
  • Disliked — very small room
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gvaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2007

Booked this hotel for our first trip to Cape Town over last New Years. Needless to say this gay village was hopping. Great location close to gay bars and attractions. We had the cheapest room (which was very cheap in comparison to other researched places) and I guess I got what I paid for. The positives... location, we had great experiences with the staff who were very friendly, breakfast was great, and our room was nicely decorated. The negatives... our room was so small that we had to constantly rearrange furniture so we could move around our suitcases. Also... the biggest problem was that until approximately 4am we heard bass thumping through the walls. Kind of odd because it doesn't back-up against a bar or club. Friends told us that it is a very "noisy" part of town and they were right. Next time we'll stay closer to the beaches and take a cab to the bars.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank clintonuws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2007

I found this online on Mr and Mrs Smith who described the hotel very well, but even more comprehensive the hotel's website (with floor plans of each cottage). Overall the cottages are perfect: location, style, comfort and space.
We booked 80 Waterkant St. A one bedroom apartment on 2 floors with the 3rd floor being the roof deck. Bottom floor- king size bed, bathroom, and a bath in the room. Just outisde the room is a patio with plants and an outdoor shower (excellent power and so much fun with the sun shining on you and not a chance of anyone seeing you). First floor has a huge living room with tv/dvd/stereo and some interesting art, also a kitchen/dining table, guest bathroom and washing machine. Then up the spiral staircase to a large roof deck with a perfect view of table mountain and if you strain your neck a bit a view of the ocean.
The hotel itself has a restaurant (small but very good thai lunch special) and rooms that are cheaper than the cottages but smaller.
The cottages are set in deWaterkant a trendy village (gay friendly, even we enjoyed it on our heterosexual honeymoon) with restaurants and bars a plenty. The waterfront is an easy 10 minute walk (suggest getting a cab home at night). This is a find--book it!

  • Liked — Trendy
  • Disliked — No internet
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ianandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#84 of 109 in Cape Town Central
202 reviews
1.1 mi away
The One 8 Hotel
The One 8 Hotel
#52 of 109 in Cape Town Central
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grey Hotel
The Grey Hotel
#456 of 942 in Cape Town
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Man And Tree House
Man And Tree House
#40 of 127 in Cape Town Central
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Waterkant Lodge
De Waterkant Lodge
#103 of 155 in Cape Town Central
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Purple House Bed & Breakfast
Purple House Bed & Breakfast
#38 of 155 in Cape Town Central
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Property: The Village Lodge
Address: 49 Napier Street | de Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Village Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centred in the heart of De Waterkant Village The Village Lodge, The Townhouse suites, The Villa and De Waterkant Cottages have gained a strong reputation for providing high quality accommodation. All rooms are en-suite and are equipped with satellite TV, direct dial telephones, safes and wireless internet. The Villa, Townhouse suites and cottages offer guests their own private space with home comforts in unique individually styled properties. Reception, restaurant, pools, bars and designer home style shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Lodge Portfolio Hotel Cape Town Central
The Village Hotel Portfolio
Village Hotel Cape Town
The Village Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing