We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Stay”
Review of The Village Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Village Lodge
Ranked #105 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK Stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2008

We stayed at the Village Lodge in December for a few days.
I had an idea of the property from pictures I had viewed and was quite excited to be staying somewhere so luxurious, seeing as we where budgeting for most of our stay in Cape Town.
When we arrived the place was just as I had pictured and I felt really pleased. When we were taken to our room I was taken back at just how small it was - especially as it was the most expensive hotel we had booked on our trip, and the most expensive room in the hotel. The bathroom was so small we couldn't dry ourselves in there after the shower. The hotel was also very impersonal as you always had people outside in the courtyard working or just walking up and down the stairs and we could hear everything.
However the hotel is very clean, in a great location, the staff are absolutely great and breakfast was really fresh and it was lovely to just sit outside and contemplate your movements for the day.
There is also a huge development next to the hotel, this made it very dusty and noisey - not the hotel owners fault. The view from the top of the hotel was fantastic of Table Mountain and the surrounding area. The pool is really a dipping pool and not great for a swim - bit small, but the rooftop is a suntrap and great for a golden tan, lots of very comfortable beds to lay on with a bar upthere also.
I did not feel threatened going out at all around the area, we did however have a bit of a bad experience with my partner who had his drink spiked - lucky we were together as I took him back to the hotel where he was very ill all the next day.
I would recommend the hotel but just for gay men and couples, not families and older people.
I must point out though that a friend did stay at the villa owned by the village lodge and highly recommends that to people visiting Cape Town.

  • Liked — Great Location
  • Disliked — Small Rooms
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank flower6UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    23
    7
    13
    39
See reviews for
6
48
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2008

We were pleasantly surpised by the accomodation. The room was compact and could have done with a bit more storage space but the bed was comfy the a/c worked and was cool and the staff were very friendly.

This is in the gay quarter but don't be put off, its not in your face. There are plenty of places around the Watekant area to eat and drink (particularly the Cape Quarter) and the V&A and capetown centre are only a 10 minute walk away or at night a very cheap taxi ride.

I've stayed in better but not at these prices and both me and my finace were very pleasantly surprised.

  • Liked — Clean and modern with good facilities and in a great location
  • Disliked — It lacked the storage space in the room needed to properly unpack
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank boxjockey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2008

- very small room with nearly no storage space
- well designed but not very functional interior design
- even the hotel is almost new (guess 2 or 3 years) already very shabby

  • Liked — location in the waterkant
  • Disliked — nobody cared about our problems
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hamburg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Luxemburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2008

We booked a superior room with different amenities such as safe, mini-bar, balcony etc. The booking was confirmed with a detailed description. But we got a small room with a view to a tiny backyard and high rising wall without any of the described amenities above. After complaining the manager told us that the room we got were a superior room and he showed us another very poor equipped room with no extras to make us quiet and wanted to keep the high rate being confident that we do not know the difference. After that we showed him our confirmation listing all the extras of the superior room. Then he told us some other stories still to keep the rate. When we insisted to get the room we booked, he explained their double booking on the room. The guests who got the room stayed longer than us. Because we had no other choice we accepted a discount. We felt betrayed and we really don’t recommend this place as long as the management has not been changed.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service, management, reservation
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2008

My husband and I stayed for one night in January in The Village Lodge and unfotunately is was the worst accomodation we ever had in Cape Town. On our arrival we had to wait for half an hour until somebody took care for us so we could check in. We booked a luxury room in the main lodge and were allocated to the smallest room we have ever seen. There was even no space to open our bags... We asked the manager to show us a standartd room - and what a suprise the standard room was bigger than our "luxury" room... What a rip-off!
So we changed the rooms, but even the new one was definetly not worth the money. There were huge rifts in the wall and it was not possible to lock the window next to a very busy street what gave us a very unsecure feeling. And last but not least there is a major construction site next to the lodge. They started to work in the early hours which made it impossible to sleep... So beware.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Scippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2008

My partner and I arrived at the Village Lodge on Christmas Day 2007, for an initial stay of 9 nights. We sat in the lounge, had a welcome drink, and were soon greeted by the irrepressible, helpful, and all-around efficient Mansoor. Mansoor took us immediately to our lovely, albeit compact, room. Every single aspect of the place was sparkling clean, and the personable, affable staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. In fact, we extended our stay for an additional six days.

Responding particularly to JimAtlanta's summary, on the January 3, 2008, that we were there, the Village Lodge had no problem with ants in public spaces. Nor is the Village Lodge located in a sketchy neighborhood and neither is Cape Town sketchy: stop perpetuating myths. I cannot understand where you gained these impressions. Whether walking Cape Town's streets near empty as they were on the holidays, or fully packed as during the January 2 Carnival parades, not once was there any instance during our stay to indicate our lives or possessions were imperiled. People of color on the streets are not indications of danger. Cape Town, like all great cities, has attractive and intersting walking neighborhoods, and whether walking through the streets of the Waterkant, Sea Point, Bo-Kaap, Long Street, V&A, the Atlantic beach cities, night or day, we never felt imperiled or endangered. People in Cape Town were fantastic. Everyone from shop owners, wait staff, locals in the amazingly cheap minivan taxis, were only too glad to suggest some fun place or diversion. Simple smiles and hellos were returned with fun conversations and came to love the local sense of humor. Sadly, people we met explained that they have come to expect that Americans will not interact. But I digress…

The streets around the Village Lodge are lighted and as is all the Waterkant, are patrolled 24/7. Two guards always sit on the corner of Napier and Waterkant in front of the Lodge and are quick to exchange pleasantries. At night until late, the rectangle bound by Napier, Dixon, Waterkant and Somerset are abuzz with people walking to and from the numerous bars, clubs, and restaurants in the neighborhood. Breakfast at the Village Lodge is wonderful. The fritatas, rolls, and breads are heaven! Eunice and Patience, the morning waiters, were personable and conversant. Michael and Mansoor were quick with suggestions, restaurant bookings, taxis, and excellent conversation. We met nice and interesting locals and guests alike over cocktails on the roof and on the misted front porch at SoHo, the mister being a refreshing surprise on hot summer afternoons. Rodney & Michael, the owners, were always up for a good chat, laugh, or drink. After making the initial reservation online, I called to add three days (originally booked for 6 online), but did not call the Lodge again. I recommend The Village Lodge for its excellent location, making for nice walks to downtown or to the V&A; its neighborhood, explained to us as having about a 60/40 mix of residents to tourists; and its tastefully upscale but not ostentatious approach. The Village Lodge will make for an exceptional stay in Cape Town.

  • Liked — Location, staff, urbanity
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank johnitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2008

I really had high hopes for this property. Unfortunately, they failed to meet those expectations.

We booked directly with the hotel and hotel staff to INSURE we had a QUEEN DELUXE waiting for us upon our arrival. After traveling 28 hours, exhausted, sweaty, and grumpy, we were greeted (fairly friendly) and told that we were being up up NOT in the main lodge we reserved, but up in the Villa. SO....with luggage in tow, we dragged our tired asses up to the Villa (NOT a lighted or close walk). The villa appeared very nice but was NOT what we reserved. We purposely needed to be in the main lodge for location and safety.

After much ado, the host make some moves and we dragged our stuff BACK to the lodge and were put up in a QUEEN room. A shoebox of a room. We were told the QUEEN Deluxe we reserved, and had printed confirmation, was not available. Needless-to-say, we were not happy.

The Host was hospitable but made no effort or consessions to accomondate us other than this shoebox of a room. Even the TV didn't work until the day we checked out.

The property itself, is charming and perfectly located in the village. Which was the reason we chose it. The upkeep needs some work. They put fine details into the design but often not practical. Ants were a problem in public areas. The shower and bathroom tile were in need or repair. But all that is fixable.

The service was decent. The Host was a hard-working guy who was always available....just not in tune with the guests needs. Neither was the owner who we met over drinks. They're great people who simply need to know how to read their guest better. And be honest. We heard this comment from several other guests.

I think I would recommend this to others, however, I'd highly recommend confirming multiple of times your reservation for the appropriate room. The location is sketchy (as most of in-town Cape Town is). Everything locks down at night. But they're used to it. We were even insulted at the hotel pool by one of the owners friends who was there drinking calling us scared Americans. Well....there are reasons for burgular bars on every window.

I wish them luck! Its a great property with great potential. Just needs some clean up to detail and service.

  • Liked — The location was super for the Gay Village.
  • Disliked — The value of the tiny room, the cleanliness, and the mediocre service.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JimAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#84 of 109 in Cape Town Central
200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Purple House Bed & Breakfast
Purple House Bed & Breakfast
#40 of 155 in Cape Town Central
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cape Finest Guesthouse
Cape Finest Guesthouse
#38 of 155 in Cape Town Central
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Grey Hotel
The Grey Hotel
#489 of 937 in Cape Town
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Waterkant Lodge
De Waterkant Lodge
#105 of 155 in Cape Town Central
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Man And Tree House
Man And Tree House
#39 of 125 in Cape Town Central
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Property: The Village Lodge
Address: 49 Napier Street | de Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Village Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centred in the heart of De Waterkant Village The Village Lodge, The Townhouse suites, The Villa and De Waterkant Cottages have gained a strong reputation for providing high quality accommodation. All rooms are en-suite and are equipped with satellite TV, direct dial telephones, safes and wireless internet. The Villa, Townhouse suites and cottages offer guests their own private space with home comforts in unique individually styled properties. Reception, restaurant, pools, bars and designer home style shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Lodge Portfolio Hotel Cape Town Central
The Village Hotel Portfolio
Village Hotel Cape Town
The Village Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing