We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mrs anon”
Review of The Village Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Village Lodge
Ranked #109 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Really bad. NO parking - They don't "Cater" for it. We paid for breakfast, but didn't receive it, as we had to arrange with staff (even though we paid for it). Fridge didn't work, aircon didnt work, and when we informed the staff, they said that they knew - then why weren't we informed on arrival? Over priced. Terrible. Please don't go near the place unless you want to be disgusted and completely RIPPED OFF!!!!!!!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Coetzee d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

What ever you do, do not book into this place. It was absolutely terrible. We had booked for 4 nights but checked out before 8 the following morning after our first night. The room was poky, dark and dingy, the duvet cover did not fit the duvet so half of it was tucked under the bed. The basin was blocked and there was a dirty bucket with who knows what which was soaking in it for who knows how long before we arrived. I have never stayed in such an awful place in all my life.

There was no coffee or facilities in the room, and when i asked where we would get coffee from they said for an extra R100 we could have coffee in the morning at the so called eating place in the doorway of the main entrance.

The one night stay was a nightmare and after explaining why we were checking out they still refused to refund us our deposit which we had paid upfront.

i am surprised this place is still running

Room Tip: do not choose any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mretief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I was used to stay at the lodge every time I come to Cape Town since 2008. Since the management changed the professionalism dropped down time by time. No power in the room for over 24 hours. No check in at arrival after 5 PM. Internet not working properly. Worst thing still had to happen tho: I got over 800 USD stolen from the safe in my room. No accountability from the management, who should be responsible for the safety of your belongings left in a looked room and locked safe. Now waiting for a pending case from the South African Police Service. Just do not go there if you care about your belongings.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The online photos looked great. In reality, it looked neglected. The rooms were ok, and the breakfast ok. We appreciate that we arrived at the end of winter, but the hotel looked like it was practically closed. The apparently wonderful roof top pool was covered on green algae.

It is probably worth staying in during the high season, but not as good during the low season.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I want to say thanks to Eric and his staff. You're service was great & we really enjoyed our stay a lot. It was a great place and you all where very helpful. The food was also delicious. Thanks for a wonderful stay & for your hospitallity. Will definitly come stay there when we are in Cape Town again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara Steyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I am rating the sky bar, not the accommodation. The setting and view are simply amazing. Great spot for a warm summer evening. I had drinks there for my birthday and loved it. It can get a bit busy, though! It is situated in a nice and lively area of Cape Town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Yuna186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I first stayed at The Village Lodge back in 2010 and was looking forward to revisiting. Things have not changed too much since then, although The Sky Bar roof terrace has shrunk. Never the less we had a warm welcome and enjoyed chilling out with friends in the pool. Breakfast is served until 11am which is very civilized. Benson (the manager) was very friendly as were all of the staff.

Room Tip: Room 7 is quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seagod58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Upperbloem
Upperbloem
#60 of 112 in Cape Town Central
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Waterkant Village
De Waterkant Village
#103 of 112 in Cape Town Central
213 reviews
2 mi away
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
#107 of 112 in Cape Town Central
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The One 8 Hotel
The One 8 Hotel
#44 of 112 in Cape Town Central
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#41 of 112 in Cape Town Central
612 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Tulbagh Hotel
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#102 of 112 in Cape Town Central
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Address: 49 Napier Street | de Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £47 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centred in the heart of De Waterkant Village The Village Lodge, The Townhouse suites, The Villa and De Waterkant Cottages have gained a strong reputation for providing high quality accommodation. All rooms are en-suite and are equipped with satellite TV, direct dial telephones, safes and wireless internet. The Villa, Townhouse suites and cottages offer guests their own private space with home comforts in unique individually styled properties. Reception, restaurant, pools, bars and designer home style shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Lodge Portfolio Hotel Cape Town Central
The Village Hotel Portfolio
Village Hotel Cape Town
The Village Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing