We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sky Bar was a great bonus”
Review of The Village Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Village Lodge
Ranked #105 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Sky Bar was a great bonus”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Initially shown a room which although had all facilities felt a bit claustrophobic. Very helpful staff moved us to another room with a door to a large balcony area which we were happy with.
We didn't book breakfast as we went to check out the really good coffee place a couple of hundred yards away (Origin).
Had a cocktail in the sky bar which we drank in the pool with amazing views of table mountain.
A few really good restaurants in the area so didn't try the hotel but had a nice relaxed drink afterwards and found the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fumblefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    23
    7
    13
    39
See reviews for
6
48
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Don't expect service and very small rooms, staff is rude and most of the time no people on reception, they also close the door very early. Will never go there again and very expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KillGill69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I booked a room for a couple of nights 6 months in advance, I had to pay the full amount to confirm the booking which I did. When I was arriving at the lodge during my holidays nobody was there and the doors where closed. Nobody picked up the phone.
I had to find another place to stay by myself which was not easy in main season.
There is no explainations from the logdes' side as that there is always somebody and the doors are open which was not the case.
They are telling me I am to stupid too enter their door ?!
Even when I speak to the operator in charge they don t want to refund the money, they just keep it. They are not delivering the service they are paid for!
It s horrible! Please don t even think to go there !!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RealWorldTraveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Website is misleading, pictures and wording we're not reflective of the rooms which were very small and claustrophobic. Bookings were supposed to incl breakfast but they failed to inform us that the restaurant was under construction and we had to insist on a refund, which was unpleasant.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I didn't stay at the lodge. I just went for drinks at the sky bar on the roof. There is a shallow pool to cool off in when it gets too hot. The view of table mountain is one of the best. There is also nice views of the harbor and surrounding city. I loved it here. Spent the whole day there just lazing around. Prices aren't to bad. Service was good.

Room Tip: Don't forget your swimming gear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jbird1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I arrived in the hotel around 7 pm. The front desk was closed and nobody was in the hotel. I finally found a note informing me to call a south african number (coming from oversea). After 15 mins, someone came and showed me the room. The bedroom and the bathroom was dirty but above all, few dangerous electrical issues were noticed.The tv was not working. The mini bar was empty. No safe was available. ..... And nobody to help....... When i did complain the next day morning, the employee aknowledged the issues and mentioned that the management would contact me . It never happened. Disaster!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean-michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Really bad. NO parking - They don't "Cater" for it. We paid for breakfast, but didn't receive it, as we had to arrange with staff (even though we paid for it). Fridge didn't work, aircon didnt work, and when we informed the staff, they said that they knew - then why weren't we informed on arrival? Over priced. Terrible. Please don't go near the place unless you want to be disgusted and completely RIPPED OFF!!!!!!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Coetzee d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#86 of 109 in Cape Town Central
204 reviews
De Waterkant Village
#90 of 109 in Cape Town Central
204 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,263 reviews
De Waterkant Cottages
#14 of 128 in Cape Town Central
139 reviews
The Grey Hotel
#402 of 955 in Cape Town
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Property: The Village Lodge
Address: 49 Napier Street | de Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centred in the heart of De Waterkant Village The Village Lodge, The Townhouse suites, The Villa and De Waterkant Cottages have gained a strong reputation for providing high quality accommodation. All rooms are en-suite and are equipped with satellite TV, direct dial telephones, safes and wireless internet. The Villa, Townhouse suites and cottages offer guests their own private space with home comforts in unique individually styled properties. Reception, restaurant, pools, bars and designer home style shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Lodge Portfolio Hotel Cape Town Central
The Village Hotel Portfolio
Village Hotel Cape Town
The Village Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing