We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute and friendly boutique hotel”
Review of The Village Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Village Lodge
Ranked #109 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 29 May 2007

Very cute, beautifully decorated hotel in great part of town. Staff and management were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were small but cozy. Breakfast buffets were huge and delicious, with good coffee. Great loungers on the roof and overall a very laid-back vibe to the place.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gvaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2007

Booked this hotel for our first trip to Cape Town over last New Years. Needless to say this gay village was hopping. Great location close to gay bars and attractions. We had the cheapest room (which was very cheap in comparison to other researched places) and I guess I got what I paid for. The positives... location, we had great experiences with the staff who were very friendly, breakfast was great, and our room was nicely decorated. The negatives... our room was so small that we had to constantly rearrange furniture so we could move around our suitcases. Also... the biggest problem was that until approximately 4am we heard bass thumping through the walls. Kind of odd because it doesn't back-up against a bar or club. Friends told us that it is a very "noisy" part of town and they were right. Next time we'll stay closer to the beaches and take a cab to the bars.

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank clintonuws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2007

I found this online on Mr and Mrs Smith who described the hotel very well, but even more comprehensive the hotel's website (with floor plans of each cottage). Overall the cottages are perfect: location, style, comfort and space.
We booked 80 Waterkant St. A one bedroom apartment on 2 floors with the 3rd floor being the roof deck. Bottom floor- king size bed, bathroom, and a bath in the room. Just outisde the room is a patio with plants and an outdoor shower (excellent power and so much fun with the sun shining on you and not a chance of anyone seeing you). First floor has a huge living room with tv/dvd/stereo and some interesting art, also a kitchen/dining table, guest bathroom and washing machine. Then up the spiral staircase to a large roof deck with a perfect view of table mountain and if you strain your neck a bit a view of the ocean.
The hotel itself has a restaurant (small but very good thai lunch special) and rooms that are cheaper than the cottages but smaller.
The cottages are set in deWaterkant a trendy village (gay friendly, even we enjoyed it on our heterosexual honeymoon) with restaurants and bars a plenty. The waterfront is an easy 10 minute walk (suggest getting a cab home at night). This is a find--book it!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ianandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2007

We stayed at one of the self catering properties - 80 de Waterkant Street - and I can't recommend it enough. Our property was huge for a 1 bedroom flat with separate sleeping, lounging, cooking and eating spaces and an amazing roof terrace. The furnishings were stylish and everything worked just fine. We found everyone really helpful and Tobin was happy to recommend restaurants and bars for us. The local area is a pleasure to just meander around popping into a bar or two for an afternoon or evening drink. There's also some really good restaurants in the neighbourhood. We did pay on arrival but this isn't that unusual and certainly not the only time we were asked to do this in SA. I would definitely go back and stay here - you just feel a little less like a tourist and more independent - taking in the city at your own pace.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonDebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2007

We stayed in a nice room (the most expensive one with roof terrace) in the lodge.
The overall experience was good, but we recognise some of the problems mentioned very well.
Staff is sometimes very nice and a bit "special", but not very professional. We had no very good experience with the owners, a bit neutral and not really interested. Breakfast was not nice and if you have to leave early, never on time. It lasts for 1 hour before they bring the "whole" buffet, and it is not very South African, more the rest from the restaurant.
The area is woderful !

Stayed: November 2006
3  Thank joop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2007

Had had a recommendation to go to the Village Lodge ... Well we first checked out the attached Thai Restaurant SoHo - it was nota good experience at all. Some of the staff were unfriendly to the point of rudeness, we waited endlessly to get served (a table of four when the restaurant was half empty ...), horrible loud techno music, clashing interiors. Other guests were also complaining ... ... a waitress asked me whether I was hungry or in a hurry (??!) when I complained about the food not having arrived after 1 1/2 hours - then she brought 2 of the four meals and we waited another 20 minutes for the rest to arrive, including the rice which was lukewarm. The most bizarre aspect of the whole experience was when I asked to speak to the manager to find out what the problem was with the long delays ... to be told, that he had gone to buy rice!! When he returned, he was pleasant and concerned, but unfortunately the evening had been spoilt already. Not to be repeated ...

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WWBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2007

We booked the Village Lodge portfolio as we have 2 small childen and decided to go for self catering rather than a hotel/B&B so as not to impose them on other holidaymakers enjoying a more relaxing trip! We spent a lot of time and effort to choose a suitable property for the children and booked one of the more comfortable Village Lodge Properties with an outside area for the children. This was confirmed, both over the telephone and via e-mail with Rodney, at no time was I asked for any deposit. A week before arrival I phoned to confirm the booking and was told because I had not paid a deposit the cottage had been let to somebody else despite the fact the Village Lodge had a copy of my confirmation e-mail infront of them, this problem took most of the day to sort out as despite promises to call me back with a solution I never heard anything and Rodney was nowhere to be found. Finally, after numerous calls (always by me and not returned), I was offered another house which I was promised was child friendly with an outside area and as it was too late in the day to find alternative accommodation we agreed to take it - I wish we hadn't. Despite assuring us we had the whole house all we infact had was the downstairs of a tiny terraced house, there was only room for 2 of us to sit down, the bathrooms were so tiny it was virtually impossible to shower, the outside area we were promised turned out to be a roof terrace accessed by an outside fire-escape too dangerous for adults let alone the children (when we did finally brave it the furniture on the terrace was broken anyway). The attiutude of the staff was frustrating both from the time the problem arose and then once we arrived and found the house was totally unsuitable for a family. We wouldn't recommend the Village Lodge at all.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank UKNettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Upperbloem
Upperbloem
#56 of 112 in Cape Town Central
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Waterkant Village
De Waterkant Village
#103 of 112 in Cape Town Central
213 reviews
2 mi away
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
#107 of 112 in Cape Town Central
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The One 8 Hotel
The One 8 Hotel
#43 of 112 in Cape Town Central
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#44 of 112 in Cape Town Central
612 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Tulbagh Hotel
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#102 of 112 in Cape Town Central
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Address: 49 Napier Street | de Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £47 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centred in the heart of De Waterkant Village The Village Lodge, The Townhouse suites, The Villa and De Waterkant Cottages have gained a strong reputation for providing high quality accommodation. All rooms are en-suite and are equipped with satellite TV, direct dial telephones, safes and wireless internet. The Villa, Townhouse suites and cottages offer guests their own private space with home comforts in unique individually styled properties. Reception, restaurant, pools, bars and designer home style shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Lodge Portfolio Hotel Cape Town Central
The Village Hotel Portfolio
Village Hotel Cape Town
The Village Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing