We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Truly a Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Village Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Village Lodge
Ranked #105 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Truly a Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2007

The Village Lodge and its staff surpassed all of our expectations on customer service. I feel like I’ve known Candice (Office Manager) for years because of our months of correspondence.

Although we had a slight hiccup upon arrival, as our booked property was not available, Candice did her best to get us to a property that was comparable. We had everything we needed on our last property and both stays were beautiful and lovely.

The neighborhood is so picturesque and the views from the rooftops are amazing. The breakfast was always fresh. We enjoyed sitting on the patio and enjoying the mornings sipping our coffee. Chris, Emeralda, Angelica, and Andries at the restaurant were all very attentive. Especially noteworthy is a night when we lost electricity in part of the house. Chris (Restaurant Manager) personally walked us to the townhouse and tried to fix the problem. There was no immediate remedy. He was able to offer us batteries for the alarm clocks as we had an early Safari adventure the next day, which we did not want to miss.

Mogamad the electrician did his best to improve/fix our satellite channels in both properties and Caroline and Belinda made sure our places were kept full of amenities and were clean and neat. We appreciated them greatly.

The staff’s attentiveness was a welcome change from the hustle and bustle here at home. Cape Town was a wonderful place to visit. Candice, Nasira, and Kim always greeted us with a smile and were only eager to help us with our travel plans and adventures. We booked a car with the Lodge, through someone that they work closely with. They did not ask us to get any extra insurance as the corporate chains at the aiport did. At the airport they wanted to hold $1,000 on our card!

Everything that they advised us to do, we greatly enjoyed and had a thrill doing them. Especially the shopping. There are great restaurants in the Village and some a short walk away. Walk during the day, but either drive or take a taxi at night.

Although the neighborhood is fairly safe, always keep your wits about at night. There are security personnel that would follow behind us as we walked to and from the residences. This was a welcome gesture.

We plan on returning soon, and we will not hesitate booking a property with the Village Lodge as we now know that excellence is not an expected service but guaranteed.

  • Liked — It was a great neighborhood with lots of resturants, bars, cafes, shopping nearby.
  • Disliked — Dark at night.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank shrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    23
    7
    13
    39
See reviews for
6
48
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2007

excellent hotel but I guess having read the reviews that this depends on the accomodation that you book. We Stayed in the "villa" where we had a large quiet room 3 mins from the hotel where we had a great breakfast. staff were very friendly and helpful throughout. the area seemed pretty safe and we walked all over cape town from here day and night. Overall I would recoomed especially if you can negotiate a good rate with hotel.

  • Liked — rooms, breakfast,location,pool
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brightonandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
167 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2007

Very cute, beautifully decorated hotel in great part of town. Staff and management were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were small but cozy. Breakfast buffets were huge and delicious, with good coffee. Great loungers on the roof and overall a very laid-back vibe to the place.

  • Liked — location, decor, staff, breakfast
  • Disliked — very small room
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gvaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2007

Booked this hotel for our first trip to Cape Town over last New Years. Needless to say this gay village was hopping. Great location close to gay bars and attractions. We had the cheapest room (which was very cheap in comparison to other researched places) and I guess I got what I paid for. The positives... location, we had great experiences with the staff who were very friendly, breakfast was great, and our room was nicely decorated. The negatives... our room was so small that we had to constantly rearrange furniture so we could move around our suitcases. Also... the biggest problem was that until approximately 4am we heard bass thumping through the walls. Kind of odd because it doesn't back-up against a bar or club. Friends told us that it is a very "noisy" part of town and they were right. Next time we'll stay closer to the beaches and take a cab to the bars.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank clintonuws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2007

I found this online on Mr and Mrs Smith who described the hotel very well, but even more comprehensive the hotel's website (with floor plans of each cottage). Overall the cottages are perfect: location, style, comfort and space.
We booked 80 Waterkant St. A one bedroom apartment on 2 floors with the 3rd floor being the roof deck. Bottom floor- king size bed, bathroom, and a bath in the room. Just outisde the room is a patio with plants and an outdoor shower (excellent power and so much fun with the sun shining on you and not a chance of anyone seeing you). First floor has a huge living room with tv/dvd/stereo and some interesting art, also a kitchen/dining table, guest bathroom and washing machine. Then up the spiral staircase to a large roof deck with a perfect view of table mountain and if you strain your neck a bit a view of the ocean.
The hotel itself has a restaurant (small but very good thai lunch special) and rooms that are cheaper than the cottages but smaller.
The cottages are set in deWaterkant a trendy village (gay friendly, even we enjoyed it on our heterosexual honeymoon) with restaurants and bars a plenty. The waterfront is an easy 10 minute walk (suggest getting a cab home at night). This is a find--book it!

  • Liked — Trendy
  • Disliked — No internet
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ianandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2007

We stayed at one of the self catering properties - 80 de Waterkant Street - and I can't recommend it enough. Our property was huge for a 1 bedroom flat with separate sleeping, lounging, cooking and eating spaces and an amazing roof terrace. The furnishings were stylish and everything worked just fine. We found everyone really helpful and Tobin was happy to recommend restaurants and bars for us. The local area is a pleasure to just meander around popping into a bar or two for an afternoon or evening drink. There's also some really good restaurants in the neighbourhood. We did pay on arrival but this isn't that unusual and certainly not the only time we were asked to do this in SA. I would definitely go back and stay here - you just feel a little less like a tourist and more independent - taking in the city at your own pace.

  • Liked — So much space
  • Disliked — Water provided in the fridge was perhaps a little pricey?
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonDebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2007

We stayed in a nice room (the most expensive one with roof terrace) in the lodge.
The overall experience was good, but we recognise some of the problems mentioned very well.
Staff is sometimes very nice and a bit "special", but not very professional. We had no very good experience with the owners, a bit neutral and not really interested. Breakfast was not nice and if you have to leave early, never on time. It lasts for 1 hour before they bring the "whole" buffet, and it is not very South African, more the rest from the restaurant.
The area is woderful !

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank joop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#46 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#52 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#70 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Purple House Bed & Breakfast
Purple House Bed & Breakfast
#35 of 162 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Waterkant Cottages
De Waterkant Cottages
#17 of 129 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cape Finest Guesthouse
Cape Finest Guesthouse
#36 of 162 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Property: The Village Lodge
Address: 49 Napier Street | de Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Village Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centred in the heart of De Waterkant Village The Village Lodge, The Townhouse suites, The Villa and De Waterkant Cottages have gained a strong reputation for providing high quality accommodation. All rooms are en-suite and are equipped with satellite TV, direct dial telephones, safes and wireless internet. The Villa, Townhouse suites and cottages offer guests their own private space with home comforts in unique individually styled properties. Reception, restaurant, pools, bars and designer home style shop. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Village Lodge Portfolio Hotel Cape Town Central
The Village Hotel Portfolio
Village Hotel Cape Town
The Village Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing