We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Capetown Getaway”
Review of Alta Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alta Bay
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Capetown Getaway”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Just below Table Mountain, with beautiful city and bay view. Alta Bay is a gem of a hideaway; tranquil and safe setting, beautiful room and wonderfully friendly and helpful owner, Stephan, who also knows Table Mountain trails and local restaurants. Within short walking distance of Kloof Street restaurants and about a 20 minute walk to downtown. Inexpensive taxi rides needed to return in the evening, but the hospitality and setting are worth it. Has fridge and stove for prepping minor meals, or walk down the hill for breakfast.

Room Tip: Probably any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    47
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
68
202
40
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My wife and I spent the first half of our honeymoon in Cape Town and stayed in The Loft room at Alta Bay. It was exactly the type of place we were looking, being very private, relaxing and quiet. Stephan, his wife and staff were absolutely wonderful. They were kind, responsive and gave us great tips and information on things to do in the city. The Loft room is gorgeous and even more private than I thought it would be. It has tall windows and glass doors that look out onto a private deck area that gives the room a natural feel. The deck area is very relaxing, blocked from the neighbors view by a tall cement wall draped in vines and has a tall tree and plants all around. We enjoyed having breakfast out on the deck in the mornings. The location of Alta Bay is also a bonus. Sitting in the back of the city bowl, it’s very private and away from the clutter of the downtown area. Also being partially up the mountain, the drive to the house is interesting, with steep streets reminiscent of the streets in San Francisco. You can get great views of Table Mountain standing on the street in front of the house. The location provides for very easy access to the Table Mountain cable ride, and is only a short drive (or taxi ride) to the waterfront and downtown areas. Alta Bay exceeded our expectations. We will definitely be staying there next time we visit Cape Town.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hypokuus, Owner at Alta Bay, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Nick,

Thank you for your positive review. It was indeed a pleasure to have had you with us as guests. We were surprised to learn that you were on honeymoon in Cape Town. Had we known we would have given you our honeymoon treatment. We would therefore like to be afforded the opportunity to make up for this next time you are in Cape Town, so be sure to give us a call.

Kind Regards

Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Alta Bay in Sep for 4 nights for my 30th birthday. On arrival, Stephan gave us a detailed briefing about Cape Town and gave us maps with the different routes to walk up Table Mountain. After that, we didn't have to read through the tourist guide anymore. We know it all. Our room, the Bay Suite was comfortable, spacious and its private deck offered stunning sea and city views. After 10 days eating out, we wanted to stay inside and relax. We ordered Vietnamese meals via Mr. Delivery which were delicious. It was a nice break to relax for once and watch a DVD from their extensive collection. Since our flight was late the last day, Stephan offered us their spare bathroom to freshen up before leaving. I will definitely return one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rani W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed at alta bay during our family holiday in South Africa for over a week in october. The guest house itself is situated in the hills of Higgovale, near Oranjezicht and the rooms offer a great view on the city and on table mountain and lion's head. The access to Table Mountain is literally 5 minutes away by car, so that's convenient.

The rooms are nice and fresh. The heater was broken in one of the two rooms so for a night it was a bit chilly, but the host (Stéphane) quickly found a portable heater and the problem was solved.

The location is really one of the best parts. You're 10 minutes away from Camps Bay where you go to have a coctail on the beach, and relax.

We only had breakfast at the guest house once, because we found it more fun to go and explore one of the numerous breakfast cafe's in the neighborhood.
The best thing to do is to start in Cape Town, and go visit the surrounding areas like Knysna and such. Stephane provided us with info, maps and everything else needed for the road trip we took, he even booked a hotel room at Knysna & Oudtshoorn for us. Excellent service!

All in all, it's a great place to stay and definitely our go-to spot for when visiting South Africa. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I was welcomed by the Cogle family into their guest house and stayed in the loft which was one of the best rooms i have even stayed in . The price was good and the room was fresh,clean and spacious.
Stepan was so insightful and explained to me the easiest and best way to see cape town , I would have never managed to see all the nice places with out his help . Every morning i had a breakfast which was laid out for me looking over the city and the ocean . The food was great and the service was above expectations . My stay here was pleasant and worth every penny .
If i could recommend anyone who is coming to visit cape town and wants beautiful place to stay with excellent service Alta Bay is the place to be . Thank you so much to the Cogle family and their staff for making my trip memorable one .

Dillon

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dillon M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We live in Italy and went to Cape Town for a 10 days vacation at the end of August 2012 (my husband, I and our 2 years old child). After a very long (I am usually very strict with judgements) web search, we finally found the place we wanted: Alta Bay.
The big surprise was when we arrived there....nothing was different from our expectations. We rented the loft which was exactly what we saw in the website...even better. It is decorated with much taste and the kitchen is perfectly equipped with all you need. Internet was working perfectly. The guest house garden is really charming. The room service (daily) is perfect and very clean and the ladies are so nice. The owners, Stephan and his wife, were very discreet but at the same time always there if we needed their help and/or arrange anything. When we arrived he gave us a map and explaned all the places to see in Cape Town. The location of Alta Bay is one of the most upmarket areas in Cape Town, secure walking distances from a very good breakfast place, shops and downtown. Very easy access to freeways and all the other areas around Cape Town. A special thank you. Adriana

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adry744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Entering Alta Bay is like getting in an Oasis surrounded by lush greenery and tranquility. The place is in the perfect location near Table Mountain, the trail head to Signal Hill and not too far from restaurants. Since I did not have a car, I explored the neighborhood on foot.

I stayed in the Garden Room, a real treasure, for 2 nights. The place is very modern, tastefully decorated and cozy all at the same time. My room had a micro kitchen and all the necessary items to make hot tea and fresh coffee. Internet access worked like a charm. If I had had more time, I would have loved to just hang out on the deck, taking in the views of Table Mountain, the Lion head and enjoying the garden.

The owners are absolutely amazing at making sure that you have a wonderful time in Cape Town. When I failed to get a booking for a 1/2 day Tour to Cape Point they were able to do it on my behalf within minutes. If I return to Cape Town, I will certainly stay @ Alta Bay. If you are planning a trip to Cape Town, you should definitely consider staying @ with Alta Bay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank catrailrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,824 reviews
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
969 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 109 in Cape Town Central
349 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Bay

Property: Alta Bay
Address: 12 Invermark Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alta Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alta Bay, located in Higgovale, the most up-market suburb of the City Bowl, is set high on the slopes of Table Mountain, with beautiful views over Table Bay and the City, yet only 3 km away from most of Cape Town's attractions including the Waterfront, beaches and within walking distance (1 km) of Kloof Street with its many restaurants and coffee shops. Surrounded by a lush native garden, Alta Bay combines understated luxury and urban chic with a laid-back and retreat atmosphere. Alta Bay, previously a 5-star boutique hotel has 5 years ago (Oct 2011) been converted into a 4-star self-catering Guest House with 3 large luxury units. Each unit has a separate entrance, a fully equipped kitchen (or kitchenette), a private outside terrace and offers all the 5-star facilities. This Tuscan house is built on separate levels with a great sense of space and light throughout and is designed in a contemporary style with bespoke furniture handcrafted locally. The Loft (70 m²) and the Bay Suite (42 m²) offer spectacular views of the sea and city while the Garden Room (28 m²) has the benefit of the shaded lush garden. The Loft has a bedroom on the mezzanine floor, a bathroom with bath & shower and a sleeper couch which can accommodate a 3rd adult or 2 children. On arrival, there will be cereals, coffee, tea, bottled water and milk in your room. For guests who want to have breakfast outside, there is a large variety of restaurants and snack bars within walking distance (1 km). We suggest our guests to have their own transport during their stay in Cape Town. Alta Bay is located high on the slopes of Table Mountain. Having their own transport car will give them the flexibility to explore the region. Kloof Street with its' many restaurants is only 1 km away, which is an easy walk downhill. However, to come back is much harder. If driving left is a problem, taxis (including Uber) are easily available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Alta Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta Bay Cape Town, South Africa
Alta Bay Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing