We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility”
Review of Alta Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alta Bay
Ranked #20 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I don't know if words can really capture the beauty and peace of the Alta Bay guesthouse ( I feel as if I'm deeming it by even calling it a guest house).

This was our first trip to S.A. and Cape Town was our last stop before leaving the beautiful country. Thank goodness we chose the Alta Bay - it was the perfect location to unwind, reflect, and just relax.

The location of the Alta Bay, right below Table Mountain, is perfect because if you find the right spot on the hill you, not only can you see the mountain but you can catch a glimpse of the bay. We stayed in the Garden room, and had our own private little patio. The landscape is beautiful, the place is super quiet, extremely clean, and although there are other guest, you would never know it unless they venture out of their rooms to chat - which we all did at some point.

The staff - AMAZING!!!! Love Stefan and his family, and Laure. They were extremely helpful when it came to finding the best places to eat, party, hanging out and get around Cape Town. I don't know if these people ever slept because no matter what time of day it was, someone was always there to meet our needs. It was like staying with family and/or friends - Stefan and his crew made sure we were taken care of, as if we were his only guest, but he treated everyone with that type of care.

Being that we were two single females traveling alone in an unfamiliar country, safety and security was a plus for us. The Alta Bay is like a fortress - first off its behind a high concrete wall with a huge iron cast door as the only entry point (you need codes to get in and out). That fortress proved handy when I got into a verbal altercation with a lying cheating cab driver! The minute I stopped steaming and realized that I was in unfamiliar territory getting into arguments with the locals, I was thankful for the safety and security of the location.

Word of advice - keep the number to a reliable cab company on you, because although the cabs can pick you up from the location - no matter how many times we grabbed a cab from the town to get back up to the Alta Bay NONE KNEW HOW TO GET THERE!!!! So make sure you call a cab to get to and from the Alta Bay (ideally,the cab company you use to pick up from the Alta, should be the one you use to drop you off at the Alta).

The Set-Up:
because of how the property is situated. Once you get inside the door you have to walk down steps. Stairs/steps were only a problem on the day I was leaving, when I had to drag my luggage up the stairs - wait, I actually didn't do that, Stefan did! Correction - stairs are not an issue, lol! (THANK YOU STEFAN!!!).

Each of the rooms at the guest house are located on different levels of the property - which is what gives you that privacy. The Alta has some same amenities/services that you would find at a hotel (laundry service, pool, housekeeping, concierge, etc).

We loved our stay at the Alta Bay and I recommend it to anyone and everyone that plans to visit Cape Town. I plan on going back to S.A. in 2015 and I pray that the Alta will be around (with Stefan as it's owner) because that is where I will be staying when in the Cape.

Safe travels Trippies!!!

Room Tip: Use a cab service. Ask questions - the staff is very helpful. Call the Alta prior to arriving and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newbiqt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

We were so delighted to discover Alta Bay. Tucked into a perfect hillside spot with beautiful views of the city and the water. The property is very quiet, beautifully landscaped and shaded by trees. The rooms and layout are thoughtful and make good use of the space, connected by wood decks and staircases. The owners are very hospitable and welcoming, with plenty of tips for the city. He even helped us find a nearby place to stay when he was sold out on our last night. Kloof St was a nice walk down the hill (but you also have to get back up!), and gorgeous hikes on Table Mountain and Lion's Head were a stone's throw. I'd love to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My wife and I spent two weeks at Alta Bay in the middle of December and give it our highest recommendation.

The location is not only ideal for easy access to downtown Cape Town but also has very convenient access to Table Mountain and Camps Bay via a 5 minute car ride. We stayed in the fantastic loft suite that felt very secluded and had great shade from mature trees. It had all the amenities we needed for our long stay. The hosts were very responsive and had great activity and meal recommendations. Great restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C-S-Holiday-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at Alta Bay for 5 days in December 2013, it just made our trip to South-Africa even better. The interior is really stylish, comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. We didn't take the breakfast there but Stephan, Beulah and Laure recommended us perfect spots for breakfast just down the road and also a whole list of places to visit and not to visit. Definitely a place and a crew that contributes to our good memories!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Belgian owner Stephan and his South African wife transformed this boutique hotel into a 4 rooms B&B (actually they prefer not to cook breakfast, but you ll have a small kitchen in each room).
Great location up in Garden district. Super independent small units in a luxurious garden. a small pool, lots of private secluded terraces.
An oasis of affordable luxury, with great style, but don't expect hotel service in the middle of the night.
It is a very luxurious B&B, not a hotel anymore.
Great deal.

Room Tip: the "loft" is awsome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeromecamblain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Fantastic accomodation with a short 15 minute walk to the heart of Cape Town. Or a taxi if travelling at night costs only $3-$5 to most restaraunts. The location just below Table Mountain is perfect. We stayed in the loft and very much enjoyed this nicely updated room that's very spacious. I highly recommend this place and the staff are fantastic as well. Thank you Laure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARMY5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed three nights (not enough :(... ) at Alta bay and it certainly was an upgrade to our weekend.
The owner made sure we visit all the best attraction with great tips concerning locations, rates and schedules and what we should avoid.
The room itself was very comfortable, clean, well equipped and designed.
It's better to stay there if you have a car.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#40 of 110 in Cape Town Central
214 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,423 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#23 of 110 in Cape Town Central
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#19 of 110 in Cape Town Central
368 reviews
The One 8 Hotel
#49 of 110 in Cape Town Central
272 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Bay

Address: 12 Invermark Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £86 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alta Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alta Bay, located in Higgovale, the most up-market suburb of the City Bowl, is set high on the slopes of Table Mountain, with beautiful views over Table Bay and the City, yet only 3 km away from most of Cape Town's attractions including the Waterfront, beaches and within walking distance (1 km) of Kloof Street with its many restaurants and coffee shops. Surrounded by a lush native garden, Alta Bay combines understated luxury and urban chic with a laid-back and retreat atmosphere. Alta Bay, previously a 5-star boutique hotel has 5 years ago (Oct 2011) been converted into a 4-star self-catering Guest House with 3 large luxury units. Each unit has a separate entrance, a fully equipped kitchen (or kitchenette), a private outside terrace and offers all the 5-star facilities. This Tuscan house is built on separate levels with a great sense of space and light throughout and is designed in a contemporary style with bespoke furniture handcrafted locally. The Loft (70 m²) and the Bay Suite (42 m²) offer spectacular views of the sea and city while the Garden Room (28 m²) has the benefit of the shaded lush garden. The Loft has a bedroom on the mezzanine floor, a bathroom with bath & shower and a sleeper couch which can accommodate a 3rd adult or 2 children. On arrival, there will be cereals, coffee, tea, bottled water and milk in your room. For guests who want to have breakfast outside, there is a large variety of restaurants and snack bars within walking distance (1 km). We suggest our guests to have their own transport during their stay in Cape Town. Alta Bay is located high on the slopes of Table Mountain. Having their own transport car will give them the flexibility to explore the region. Kloof Street with its' many restaurants is only 1 km away, which is an easy walk downhill. However, to come back is much harder. If driving left is a problem, taxis (including Uber) are easily available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alta Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta Bay Cape Town, South Africa
Alta Bay Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing