We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Higgovale Hideaway”
Review of Alta Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alta Bay
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Purley on Thames, Berkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Higgovale Hideaway”
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Spent 5 wonderful days at Alta Bay and wish is could have been longer. There is so much to do and see in Cape Town and it was lovely to come back to this 'calm oasis' - and a nice cup of earl grey tea! The staff were all friendly, helpful and smiley - particularly Robyn, who spent a lot of time with us planning our itinerary and sight-seeing trips to make the most of our time in this captivating part of South Africa. The recommended restaurants were all very good - in particular Ginja for fabulous food and ambience and Salt at Bantry Bay for great food and spectacular scenery. Alta Bay is very stylish and comfortable and provided everything possible for a relaxing holiday. Many thanks to Madre, Robyn, Morris and all for excellent service. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackson48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    47
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
68
202
40
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

We had a great 4 night stay and this hotel, and would definately stay here again. The location is great, it is out of the downtown - but this is perfect as its quiet at night, lovely view, close to table mountain (so you can go at 8am before the queues start and then make it back for breakfast!). At night, you wouldnt want to drive downtown anyway - as you want to drink the fantastic cheap wine and I would be worried about safety and parking), and its a short and cheap (R50) cab ride. The hotel recommends a local taxi company that knows where the hotel is located, so we had no problem. The breakfast were great - best croissants I have had outside of Paris. Chocolate on the pillow at night - delicious! Openbar in the common area at night so you can socialise with other guests should you choose to. Service was great, the managers were very helpful making restaurant reservations etc.We arrived late at night and a plate with sandwichs and snacks was left out for us. Wonderful place - would stay here again should we be so lucky to return to cape town!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2009

I am reluctant to write this as I fully intend to go back, and don't want it to be booked out.....however it deserves to be told.
Alta Bay may be my favourite hotel, not just in Cape Town, simply ever. Not because it is the grandest, coolest, most cuttting edge glitzy urban bolthole, in fact because it is none of those things. It is probably the most relaxing hotel experience I have ever encountered and is a total exercise in how things should be done. The reasons for this bold statement are fairly manifold so some examples.
Service :
-On realising that our flight was landing earlier than normal check in time permitted, they volunteered an early check in, not asked for, just offered.
-On arrival, when I asked where I needed to check in, Morriss one of the managers brushed this off and suggested we take a shower and relax, unpack, then he could check us in later around the pool. Good attitude
-When booking our room, Madre, another of the managers asked if we needed a lunch reservation, and make a suggeston, which was wonderful, So we arrived, showered, swam, got changed and a taxi arrived to take us to a fantastic fish restaurant. Switch brain off, relax and enjoy.
- The following morning Robyn (yes another of the attentive managers) asked how it all went, suggested another restaurant for that evening to see the sunset and enjoy a cocktail and booked it for us, and the taxi, another gem. Thank you.
- Whilst waiting for your taxi enjoy some biltong and a glass of wine from the free bar on the roof terrace.
Decor
Stylish, understated, uncluttered w/o being minimalist. Think rennovated italian manor with contemporary feel. You don't need to dress up , down, just wear what you want. Books to read, pool (albeit small) to get away from the heat and a great area to sit outside.
Location
Close to town, the waterfront, the beaches, with views to Table bay from the roof terrace. Convenient to simply take the cheap and efficient taxis everywhere if you could not be bothered to drive and really wanted to do nothing
Cape Town is a haven for boutique hotels and several have similar offerings, but what really sets this apart for me is seamless, uncloying service. We powered down instantly and let ourselves be guided by their current, helpful and detailed knowledge of the area.
Any downsides?
We are splitting hairs with perfection but it's address seems to confuse cab drivers...so take a map and make sure you point to where it is before a mini tour of the orange district and higgovale
Our room Cliff offered a great view & privacy but (due to the steepness of its location/ terraced nature of the hotel) is below the garage.... So (dilligent) staff sweeping in the morning could disturb you as the walked overhead or on the steps adjacent (easily remedied if they wear soft shoes !)
No food in the evening unless pre arranged but you haven't come to one of the gastro centres of the world to stay in. SO go out and enjoy.
It is NOT ultra luxurious, (but quite so) uber glamorous,( just sufficiently) or dangerously contemporary, that is why it works and is so comfortable, relaxed and enjoyable.
Think that covers it

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Beautifully designed and comfortable small hotel with attentive and helpful staff. Very clever use of space. Clean contemporary style of decor. Chic well appointed bedrooms - one a small apartment with a kitchenette. Slightly out of town but a very peaceful and attractive neighbourhood and only minutes away from the city attractions, shops and restaurants by taxi. Good buffet breakfast and a much appreciated honesty bar. Friendly atmosphere. Quiet and private.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toryh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2009

We have spent 3 weeks travelling in beautiful South Africa, mainly staying in BB's. Unfortunately we believed what we saw on the pictures on Alta Bay's homepage. As we arrived we discovered that only 2 rooms have a private baclony with view, and ours was in a "bunker" in the back with a view of the roof of the main building. The bathroom was the smallest we have ever seen in a 5 star BB. The staff was friendly and helpful, the place is clean, the main house is beautifully decorated, but it is nowhere near a 5 star BB! Unfortunately we had already pre-paid half the room rate and Cape Town was busy at the time, or we would have left! It is not a very central location, you will be much better off spending another few rand on a taxi to Camps Bay where rates are lower on accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hypokuus, Owner at Alta Bay, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

We are very happy to announce that we took over Alta Bay in Feb 2011 (two years after your visit and your guest review).
Since we agreed partly with your sentiments, we have subsequently made some improvements to the property. We upgraded most of the rooms and in particular the room that you are referring to.
Apart from adding a terrace at the entrance of this room (now called the Bay Suite) where clients can lounge in the sun while enjoying the views, we also installed a plunge pool just below the terrace.
We invite you to have a look at the "new" pictures and we look forward to welcome you in the future.
Kind regards.

Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

This was our second visit to Cape Town in two years. On our first visit we stayed in a apartment in the V&A Waterfront area, which was nice, close by to the many amenities of the Waterfront, but rather soulless. The contrast couldn't have been more stark. The Alta Bay staff were wonderful, both friendly and attentive, yet not overbearing and the hotel is located in a very tranquil part of town. We hired a car for this trip which was perfect for the location, but Alta Bay is only a short cab ride to the town centre, the V&A waterfront or to Camps Bay in the other direction. We always used cabs in the evening to out for dinner. I would certainly recommend this 'hidden gem' to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighHeidjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2009

Having recently returned back to snowy UK from gorgeous Cape Town. We now sit back to contemplate what an amazing honeymoon my wife and I have had.
This was made especially indulgent and more than we could have ever wished by the attentive, hospitable and amazing Alta Bay.
We both fully recommend this amazing 5* quiet retreat and simply urge those staying at more renowned hotels to think outside the box and stay at the Alta Bay instead.
It is always nice to visit the big hotels for high tea, dinner, champagne or a drink and just amazing to come back to the exclusive Alta Bay hideaway.
You will not be dissapointed and we are now totally spoilt.

  • Liked — Its remote location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JDTSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
969 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 109 in Cape Town Central
349 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Bay

Property: Alta Bay
Address: 12 Invermark Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alta Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alta Bay, located in Higgovale, the most up-market suburb of the City Bowl, is set high on the slopes of Table Mountain, with beautiful views over Table Bay and the City, yet only 3 km away from most of Cape Town's attractions including the Waterfront, beaches and within walking distance (1 km) of Kloof Street with its many restaurants and coffee shops. Surrounded by a lush native garden, Alta Bay combines understated luxury and urban chic with a laid-back and retreat atmosphere. Alta Bay, previously a 5-star boutique hotel has 5 years ago (Oct 2011) been converted into a 4-star self-catering Guest House with 3 large luxury units. Each unit has a separate entrance, a fully equipped kitchen (or kitchenette), a private outside terrace and offers all the 5-star facilities. This Tuscan house is built on separate levels with a great sense of space and light throughout and is designed in a contemporary style with bespoke furniture handcrafted locally. The Loft (70 m²) and the Bay Suite (42 m²) offer spectacular views of the sea and city while the Garden Room (28 m²) has the benefit of the shaded lush garden. The Loft has a bedroom on the mezzanine floor, a bathroom with bath & shower and a sleeper couch which can accommodate a 3rd adult or 2 children. On arrival, there will be cereals, coffee, tea, bottled water and milk in your room. For guests who want to have breakfast outside, there is a large variety of restaurants and snack bars within walking distance (1 km). We suggest our guests to have their own transport during their stay in Cape Town. Alta Bay is located high on the slopes of Table Mountain. Having their own transport car will give them the flexibility to explore the region. Kloof Street with its' many restaurants is only 1 km away, which is an easy walk downhill. However, to come back is much harder. If driving left is a problem, taxis (including Uber) are easily available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Alta Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta Bay Cape Town, South Africa
Alta Bay Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing