We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views, gorgeous house, wonderful conversation”
Review of twentytwo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
twentytwo
Ranked #22 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Dom and Allan run a guesthouse that looks like it comes straight (or perhaps I should say "directly") out of the pages of a fashion magazine, with beautiful decor infused with their own personal style. The top bedroom (number two) has stunning views of the city and the cape, with Lion's Head just visible off to the side.
Most importantly, they are wonderful hosts, attentive to detail, charming conversationalists and excellent advisors on where to eat and enjoy yourself in Cape Town.
The city itself is spectacular. It deserves this guesthouse, of a caliber to match.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAGreene69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just arrived back from a two week trip to sensational Cape Town and had a truly amazing stay in
twentytwo.

We are a couple who enjoy travelling and going to places that we have not been to before, I can honestly say we want to go back to a place for the first time ever. Alan and Dominic made our holiday special. I have to admit I was worrying about staying in a small hotel as i am used to large hotels and so I went with my guard up. I need not have worried it was superb.
Both our hosts were on hand all the time we needed them but also allowed us to be alone when we wanted to. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They told us not use the sat nav and they were right we saw so much more.
The house is wonderfull and very trendy, the rooms are excellent and the breakfast was superb. I would not hedsitate to go back or recomend this hotel to anyone.
The location is perfect and within 10 minutes you can be on a beach or on top of a mountain this place is just mind blowing.
All the staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. A special mention to the maintanance man who was very good and Alan should give him a good tip !!!!!
Cant wait to go back and enjoy it again
Thanks to Alan and Dominic for making this our best holiday ever.
Cheers
Gary & Amy Rotherham

Room Tip: Room 4 has great views of the bay and very light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Twenty Two for the first 3 nights of our SA trip. We had the most incredible time and really didn't want to leave! Dom and Allan go over and above and excel in every aspect of customer service! Nothing was too much trouble and their advice and tips were invaluable! The hotel was beautifully designed and had all the little touches that made it so special! We had such a great time and can't wait to go back! It will definitely be our place of choice next time in Cape Town! Rachael and Charles

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachaelT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is one of the best guesthouses I have ever stayed in. Great location, wonderful hosts, beautiful rooms, emazing view over Cape Town and a wonderful and fresh breakfast in the morning. We truly enjoyed our 3-days stay in this superb guest house. The two hosts Dominic and Alan are wonderful and inspiring and will help to make your stay in Cape Town a very special one. They have great recommendations for exploring Cape Town and vicinity.We travel a lot, but this is clearly one of the most fantastic places we have ever stayed in and where we decided to write a recommenation in this forum. This is a must see in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Unfortunately due to flight delays with South African Airways my wife and I were only able to stay one of the two nights we had booked at Twentytwo and as such also missed the chance to sample their reportedly excellent breakfast.

Still, as frequent Cape Town visitors we really liked the location and feel of TwentyTwo. Located in City Bowl, Twentytwo offers guests easy walking access to a number of fine bars and restaurants in the Kloof Street area.

We had the upstairs suite which offered gorgeous views of downtown Cape Town and the harbor beyond. The room was clean and well apportioned with a spacious, clean and comfortable bathroom. Thankfully the room offered air conditioning because we had arrived smack dab in the middle of a heat wave with temps in the 90's F (upper 30's C).

The yard has a terrific swimming pool with a wood deck and plenty of chairs in which to relax. A self service bar offering wine and beer as well as complimentary bottled water is a great addition, saving the guest both time and effort to go shopping.

The owners, Domonic and Allan were attentive and friendly hosts who can offer the guest unfamiliar with Cape Town great support for dining, touring and entertainment advice.

We will definitely give Twentytwo another stop on our next visit...Great location and great hosts, maybe next time we'll arrive in time to partake in the breakfast, but a least for another chance to lounge around the wonderful pool.

Room Tip: The upstairs suite offers the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springbokny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed 6 Nights and had a great time. Both are such great, lovelly and always helpfull. The Style in the House is just fantastic! Location perfect, great views. These guys do everything to help with all there passion. You can feel it-they love their place and it is not just a Job it is passion! Thanks Allan for our talking with wine and Cigar! And thanks Dom for always helping with our plans. Sabine+Eugen

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sumsum1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I have just returned from a week with Domonic and Allan and had a wonderful time. Nothing is too much trouble for them to organise.

The location is in the shadow of Table Mountain and I never tired of looking at that view. It is totally awesum. As the weather changes the table cloth comes and goes as if by magic.

The accomodation is brilliant and very luxurious and I was fortunate to sample two of the rooms. Loved the elegant bathrooms and all rooms are equiped with radio and satellite television.

Lastly the breakfasts are outstanding and complete the brilliant hospitality they offer.

Book early not to be disappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#6 of 156 in Cape Town Central
290 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
672 reviews
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#11 of 156 in Cape Town Central
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Liberty Lodge
Liberty Lodge
#25 of 156 in Cape Town Central
393 reviews
City Bowl
Himmelblau Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Himmelblau Boutique Bed & Breakf...
#42 of 156 in Cape Town Central
61 reviews
City Bowl
Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse
Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse
#35 of 156 in Cape Town Central
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to twentytwo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about twentytwo

Address: 22 Montrose Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £108 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Twentytwo Hotel Cape Town Central
Twentytwo Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing