We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC”
Review of twentytwo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
twentytwo
Ranked #16 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

If I had to subscribe 22 in one word it will be: FANTASTIC. Allen and Dominic ( the owners) were very helpful from the moment we walked in. Out room was great and from our terrace we had a magnificent view over Cape Town. The breakfast was very good with a wide choice of what every you want ( Ask Allen for the farmers breakfast, MMMM especially the little tomatoes) If it’s your first time to Cape town ask Dominic for some sightseeing suggestions and ask for the routes with tips and restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeroengranneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
301
35
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My second stay at twentytwo was just as exquisite as the first.
A combination of the warmest welcome provided by hosts Dom & Allan with stunning attention to detail in each individual room gives this gem a unique edge.
This time around, i discovered a new and very useful information pack in the room, giving details about the history of Cape Town and the history of twentytwo.
There are also tons of tips for places to go and restaurants to visit. Dom and Allan have worked hard to provide an exceptional experience for their guests and have built great relations with local businesses to allow ease of booking from taxi's to tickets.
I must mention the "honesty bar" where guests can help themselves to a drink at any time and just mark it down in a notepad for purchase at check out. This small token just adds to the comfort you feel when staying here.
The location is fab, the views of Table Mountain are beautiful and there is easy access to the Waterfront or Camps Bay and beyond in a short taxi ride.
The house is one of the most stylish I have ever seen but don't for a second think it is anything other than cosy, warm and comfortable too.
All are welcome- families, couples, friends- it is a great place to meet and chat to people from all over the world.
I would happily travel the nine hours from Dubai, where I live, to visit twentytwo again and again and see Dom and Allan, who have quickly become dear friends.
Cape Town is a fantastic city and twentytwo is the only place to stay!

Room Tip: Each room is beautifully different, both in style and views. Room #1 (where I stayed) has a breathta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Gee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Dom and Allan run a guesthouse that looks like it comes straight (or perhaps I should say "directly") out of the pages of a fashion magazine, with beautiful decor infused with their own personal style. The top bedroom (number two) has stunning views of the city and the cape, with Lion's Head just visible off to the side.
Most importantly, they are wonderful hosts, attentive to detail, charming conversationalists and excellent advisors on where to eat and enjoy yourself in Cape Town.
The city itself is spectacular. It deserves this guesthouse, of a caliber to match.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAGreene69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just arrived back from a two week trip to sensational Cape Town and had a truly amazing stay in
twentytwo.

We are a couple who enjoy travelling and going to places that we have not been to before, I can honestly say we want to go back to a place for the first time ever. Alan and Dominic made our holiday special. I have to admit I was worrying about staying in a small hotel as i am used to large hotels and so I went with my guard up. I need not have worried it was superb.
Both our hosts were on hand all the time we needed them but also allowed us to be alone when we wanted to. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They told us not use the sat nav and they were right we saw so much more.
The house is wonderfull and very trendy, the rooms are excellent and the breakfast was superb. I would not hedsitate to go back or recomend this hotel to anyone.
The location is perfect and within 10 minutes you can be on a beach or on top of a mountain this place is just mind blowing.
All the staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. A special mention to the maintanance man who was very good and Alan should give him a good tip !!!!!
Cant wait to go back and enjoy it again
Thanks to Alan and Dominic for making this our best holiday ever.
Cheers
Gary & Amy Rotherham

Room Tip: Room 4 has great views of the bay and very light
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Twenty Two for the first 3 nights of our SA trip. We had the most incredible time and really didn't want to leave! Dom and Allan go over and above and excel in every aspect of customer service! Nothing was too much trouble and their advice and tips were invaluable! The hotel was beautifully designed and had all the little touches that made it so special! We had such a great time and can't wait to go back! It will definitely be our place of choice next time in Cape Town! Rachael and Charles

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachaelT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is one of the best guesthouses I have ever stayed in. Great location, wonderful hosts, beautiful rooms, emazing view over Cape Town and a wonderful and fresh breakfast in the morning. We truly enjoyed our 3-days stay in this superb guest house. The two hosts Dominic and Alan are wonderful and inspiring and will help to make your stay in Cape Town a very special one. They have great recommendations for exploring Cape Town and vicinity.We travel a lot, but this is clearly one of the most fantastic places we have ever stayed in and where we decided to write a recommenation in this forum. This is a must see in Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Unfortunately due to flight delays with South African Airways my wife and I were only able to stay one of the two nights we had booked at Twentytwo and as such also missed the chance to sample their reportedly excellent breakfast.

Still, as frequent Cape Town visitors we really liked the location and feel of TwentyTwo. Located in City Bowl, Twentytwo offers guests easy walking access to a number of fine bars and restaurants in the Kloof Street area.

We had the upstairs suite which offered gorgeous views of downtown Cape Town and the harbor beyond. The room was clean and well apportioned with a spacious, clean and comfortable bathroom. Thankfully the room offered air conditioning because we had arrived smack dab in the middle of a heat wave with temps in the 90's F (upper 30's C).

The yard has a terrific swimming pool with a wood deck and plenty of chairs in which to relax. A self service bar offering wine and beer as well as complimentary bottled water is a great addition, saving the guest both time and effort to go shopping.

The owners, Domonic and Allan were attentive and friendly hosts who can offer the guest unfamiliar with Cape Town great support for dining, touring and entertainment advice.

We will definitely give Twentytwo another stop on our next visit...Great location and great hosts, maybe next time we'll arrive in time to partake in the breakfast, but a least for another chance to lounge around the wonderful pool.

Room Tip: The upstairs suite offers the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springbokny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,407 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,719 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,024 reviews
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#14 of 156 in Cape Town Central
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to twentytwo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about twentytwo

Property: twentytwo
Address: 22 Montrose Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Twentytwo Hotel Cape Town Central
Twentytwo Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing