We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You are the guest”
Review of twentytwo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
twentytwo
Ranked #15 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
142 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“You are the guest”
Reviewed 28 November 2008

Yes ! All what other travellers wrote is true. Difficult to add something, Cape Twentytwo anyhow exceeds all your expectations.
Super house, design and decoration, excellent service and advice from the hosts Allan and Dominic. They always have good suggestions when you wonder where to go for a visit, where to go for dinner, etc...
This guesthouse is much above any 500-room-5-star-hotel, just because you are truely the guest.
Do not hesitate, go to Cape Twentytwo !
Phil & JR

  • Liked — Design and service
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippononlosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
301
35
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2008

Well, in short I think all the reviews say the same....this place is well worth it. The owners are hip, helpful and very accomodating. We felt right at home. The only dissapointment was leaving. All the other B & B's we went to after just did not come close to comparing. IT's worth it, don't hesitate!!!

  • Liked — The view, the location and especially the hosts Allan and Dominic.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jennyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2008

We had read all the reviews on this website, and were looking forward to staying somewhere so highly regarded for the second leg of our honeymoon in South Africa. We weren't disappointed! We were taken care of from the moment we arrived at the airport; we were picked up by a very nice and polite cab driver (arranged by the B&B) in a very nice Mercedes and taken to TwentyTwo, which was against a backdrop of Table Mountain nearby. We were greeted by two smiley hosts, who helped us with our luggage and immediately showed us around and got us a great cuppa, with a gorgeous chocolate brownie (which would be one of many!). We stayed in room 2, which was almost like a little flat all on its own - with the bedroom upstairs and the spacious bathroom downstairs. The best thing about the room though was the view from the bedroom: a huge window showed us the city scape below, with the ocean in the distance and through a small side window, Table Mountain seemed almost close enough to touch. The room, as was the whole property, decorated with taste and attention to detail. If you like modern and eclectic, you'll like this. If it's the African safari look you're after, you won't get it here! It's definitely a city pad, but a real nice one!

We had a quick look in the other rooms, which all had balconies and beautiful views. So, if you want some outside space of your own, request one of those. (Although, I think two of the rooms share a large balcony.)

Our hosts, Allan and Dominic were down-to-earth and very helpful. They booked taxis, tables at restaurants, a hire car, a personal tour guide ('Hennie'), as well as giving advice as to where to eat & visit. Their concierge service is something you probably won't find at most other B&Bs and something we've not experienced at one before. The breakfasts were yummy and they were only too happy to rustle up whatever took your fancy really. The only thing I'd say that I missed slightly was in-room tea/coffee making facilities and a full-length mirror! Ladies will empathise here! Although I have to say tea was provided whenever you asked for it (with the obligitory choc brownie) and I don't suppose many people would care. There was a fully-stocked bar downstairs, which would satisfy most people.

This was a lovely stay with great guests - a slightly alternative stay in Cape Town at a home-from-home kind of a place. Why would you need to stay anywhere else?

  • Liked — Conciege service
  • Disliked — very hilly!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epsomguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2008

I chose 22 based on the fact that it had been on the prestigious Mr & Mrs Smith's and therefore knew it would be stylish and of a high caliber. Beautiful house, great linens, all the things I hoped for. However, no listing could possibly express the delightful hospitality that Allan and Dominic provide. From the directions to all the best sites, restaurant recommendations, taxi service, beach towels delicious breakfasts and the great banter over drinks in the evening - these guys know how its done and appear to love doing it every step of the way. Thank you for making our Cape Town experience so special.

  • Liked — The stylish decor and hospitality
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TeamTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2008

We recently stayed at the gorgeous twentytwo in Cape Town. I travel constantly for work and I have to say that this was the best B&B I've ever stayed in and it's all due to the warmth and hospitality of Allan and Dominic.

Yes the house is beautiful, from the exquisite rooms, to the lovely pool, garden, and delicious breakfasts...However it all pales besides the way Allan and Dominic take care of their guests. They were always on hand to offer advice and much needed suggestions. They had an uncanny way of knowing exactly what their guests were looking for at any particular moment.

I can't wait for my next Cape visit and if you're lucky enough to stay at twentytwo don't forget to play with Monty (if he lets you!) hang out with Thumeka and Refilwe (when they're not busy!) oh! and yes enjoy the most beautiful city in Africa.

  • Liked — the location, the design details, but mostly the people
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LHDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Twentytwo is utterly Fantastic!! Our four night stay can only be described as Perfection from start to finish. Allen and Dominic have somehow managed to prefect every element of hospitality to ensure a faultless experience. The beautifully decorated rooms, central location, fabulous outdoor space and delicious breakfast all make Twentytwo unmissable when visiting Cape Town.

You may say "why should I choose Twentytwo over another beautiful Cape Town guesthouse?" and the answer lies within the individual, taylor-made service it provides. The amazing hosts don't merely recommend places to visit or eat, they will go much further, providing individual maps of your destination, booking your table, organising transport, providing you with a 5 star, 24-hour concierge service.

I work in the travel industry and can not recommend Twentytwo highly enough!! It is a real African Gem....

  • Liked — Absolutely Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving...
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jwbuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2008

We stayed at Cape Twenty Two after reading fabulous reviews and it exceeded our expectations! We had never been to South Africa before and our hosts were so kind and helpful we felt right at home as soon as we arrived. The house is very nicely decorated and the breakfast quite delicious. Also, we stayed in room #4 and really enjoyed the views it gave us of the city and mountains. If we come back to South Africa, we will definitely stay at Twenty Two again.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — Small room but extremely comfortable
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CtownOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,390 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
989 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 155 in Cape Town Central
1,016 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 155 in Cape Town Central
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to twentytwo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about twentytwo

Property: twentytwo
Address: 22 Montrose Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Twentytwo Hotel Cape Town Central
Twentytwo Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing