We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - Look No Further”
Review of twentytwo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
twentytwo
Ranked #19 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We started our honeymoon at twentytwo...It was a wonderful way to begin an amazing trip in Africa. Dominic and Alan were fantastic hosts and made wonderful recommendations for restaurants and things to do. They arranged a wine tour for us and our guide was one of the best we had all trip. The house and rooms were beautifully designed and comfortable. Our balcony had a gorgeous view of Cape Town and the sea. The breakfast and pool area were outstanding. We hope to return to Cape Town soon and we'll definitely be staying at twentytwo!! (...To Dominic and Alan, Sorry its taken so long to post something !! you guys were wonderful!) ....Rachel & Jim

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rach621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2009

This is a B & B that thinks it's a boutique hotel - and it succeeds! A chic and beautifully designed 4-bedroom guesthouse, expertly and efficiently run by Allan, Dominic and their team. The welcome and personal concierge service Allan and Dominic provided was fabulous - recommending and booking restaurant tables, taxis, transfers and so on. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were consistently excellent.

We topped and tailed our fortnight in South Africa at Twenty Two and on our return it was like coming home. We felt as if we'd known Allan and Dominic (and Monty, the cat, of course) for ages. We have no hesitation in recommending Twenty Two as a great place to stay in Cape Town and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2009

The guest house is situated in a really lovely part of town, a few streets above the Mount Nelson (which is Cape Town premier hotel.) Alan (who runs the guesthouse with Dominic) couldn't have been more helpful making suggestions of excellent places to eat and great things to do - look at 22's top 20 things to do. Alan booked all of our restaurants, arranged all our taxi's and any tours we wanted - we went to Robben Island, which isn't to be missed and was very moving. Rooms are all lovely with lots of attention to detail. A great stay with a very personal service!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurenorw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Stop your head spinning from reading review after review... your search is over you have found the best and only place to stay in CT!!

We spent our first and last night in SA here and have to say that whilst our time in Hermanus and Franschhoeck was great we made a serious mistake not spending more time at twentytwo.

I have so many compliments for the way twentytwo is run and organised that it is hard to know where to start.....

- From the pick up at the airport to the organising of our hire car.
- From the glass of wine and relaxing chat after our long flight to the hot lemsip drink for my cold.
- From the best breakfast to the fantastic restaurant recommendations.
- From the superb decor to the incredibly comfortable beds.
- From the friendliness to the efficiency of all the staff
I could go on but I think you get the idea...!

Allan and Dominic have managed to create the perfect balance of being professional but equally warm and welcoming. This ensures that your stay with them will be relaxing and worry free.

I can guarantee you will leave twentytwo feeling very smug with yourself that you made such a fabulous choice for your stay in Cape Town.

In summary:

Allan / Dom - we are saving the airmiles to come back and see you soon!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ange022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

When even the front door is beautiful, you know that twentytwo is going to be a place where nothing has been left to chance. That first impression is confirmed once you set foot inside, where the quality and attention to detail of the interior design is immediately apparent. While the ultra-modern aesthetic might not be to everyone’s taste, the owners, Dominic and Allan, have been careful to avoid over-designing things, retaining some of the property’s original character (including a mango tree in the garden that provided shade for our room’s balcony) and allowing many of its spaces to speak for themselves. Our room was simply but beautifully decorated, with a huge ensuite bathroom that was notable for the quality of the finishings. The view over Cape Town from our balcony was lovely. The service from Dominic and Allan was excellent, and they gave us lots of good advice during our stay. Unfortunately a pressing engagement prevented us making more of the delicious breakfast. Overall, this is a little gem of a guesthouse which, though slightly on the pricey side, was undoubtedly worth it as a treat at the end of our holiday.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

Excellent Accommodation. High Standards. Wonderful Hosts. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kiltedscot264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

My partner and I stayed at twentytwo over new year 2008/09, as part of a multi centre trip to South Africa. Whilst we were nervous about staying in small guest houses/b&bs at the risk of feeling claustriphobic, we were pleasntly surprised by the welcome we receied at twentytwo. Allan and Dominc are truly amazing hosts, and strike the perfect balance between being helpful and attentive and giving you the privacy to enjoy your holiday. The property itself has been refurbished to the highest possible standard, with exceptional attention to detail- the personalised and free bottles of mineral water on the bar are testament to this. The interior design and quality of accommodation are exceptional.

Your hosts will do all they can and go the extra mile to make sure your stay is as perfect as possible- by reccommending restaurants and even providing turn by turn driving directions to the most popular attractions.

The welcome, service levels and accommodation were of a standard that we have never received in even some of the finest hotels in the world, and we would have no hesitation in recommending the place to anyone. Just go- you won't regret it. We booked as a result of the excellent tripadvisor reviews- just go for it. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank keepcalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,423 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#3 of 110 in Cape Town Central
544 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#52 of 110 in Cape Town Central
372 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,575 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to twentytwo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about twentytwo

Address: 22 Montrose Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £114 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Twentytwo Hotel Cape Town Central
Twentytwo Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing